We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
Ranked #161 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Good experience”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Just came back from a 5 night stay here and, overall, I enjoyed my it. The negatives were that there was no space to store clothes, just some hangers and there was no shower door, just a curtain, so if you weren't careful a lot of water would get out; the breakfast area is a little bit small if you go in the main hours;
On the positive, the hotel is very close to some main sites (Checkpoint Charlie is 5 minutes walk away; Brandenburger Tor and Reichstag are 15/20 minutes walk) so it's good if you like to walk, or if you rent/have a bike it's easy. If not, there's a metro station just a few minutes away; The staff was friendly and the breakfast was alright, not so much diversity, but it did the job; Also there was free-wifi in the rooms;
It was my first stay in this hotel chain and I enjoyed it, so will look for them in other destinations.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PT_DSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear PT_DSmith,

thank you for spending your time to give us feedback from your stay.
We appreciate your posive rating and looking forward to welcome you on your next stay in our Hotel.

Kind regards

Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    688
    262
    61
    32
See reviews for
450
425
76
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is a great hotel I just could not fault it at all. The staff were very friendly and really helpful and nothing was a chore to them . The rooms are spotless the bed linen and towels are immaculate. There were three of us so we used the sofa bed and altho a little small did not impact on our holiday. The breakfast was ample lots to choose from (I would have liked some marmite :) ) The area is central just off the main high street and just along from the zoo and train stations. It was so quiet in the rooms at night so we had a great sleep. I totally recommend this hotel and would certainly come back here again. Thank you to the wonderful staff who made our stay lovely.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are of excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Eilese F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Jo Eilese F,

thanks for taking the time to give us a feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre.
We are glad to hear that you have spent nice days in Berlin and were satisfied with the location of the hotel, the rooms and the friendliness of our staff.
On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Best wishes

Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here in April for a few days during a business trip. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and looked new. The internet in the room did not work during our stay. We had a conference call and needed internet access. The staff were friendly enough to find us a quiet area with a good connection. The breakfast was decent though when it got busy during peak times there were not enough staff around to clean up the tables fast enough. Very good location with access to public transport. Good value for money too. We’d come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steff928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Hhank you very much for choosing our hotel and your nice comment. Now our internet works definately better and WIFI is free of charge in all rooms.

We would be pleased to welcome you back at your next trip to Berlin.

Sincerely
Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is the first time I staied at this hotel and I liked it. The location is good as you are just 2 blocks from the tube and just in front of 2 supermarkets and restaurants. Rooms are clean with good selection of TV channels. Breakfast is good, but they could offer fruits variety maybe (I only found apple and orange), but overall really good. Other good thing around breakfast is that during weekends, the breakfast is extended until 11:30am, but you can expect the area to be really packed, with very limited services (table cleaning, etc.) during peak times. Check-in / out was very efficient. The lifts are small and always packed.

Room Tip: If you choose a higher fllor, be prepared to wait a while until you get an empty lift. Otherwise, us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice review and your recommendation.

I look forward to welcome you back at your next trip to Berlin.

Sincerely
Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel is situated at a very convenient location and has easy access to the airport, bus and train station. It is just 10-15 min walk from Potsdamer platz from where you can find a variety of hop-on off buses if you are a tourist. It is just 5 mins. walk from the underground train station and just 20 min away from the airport by cab. The standard room we got was spacious and the breakfast was of the usual IHG standards with lot of variety. The hotel was full and it was crowded at the peak breakfast timings, but they were quick to clean the tables and in replenishing the breakfast trays. Wifi had high speed and the staff was very helpful and arranged for a taxi to the airport (taxi to airport costs Euro 25).

We would advise anyone staying there not to use the hotel phone to make international calls. We were charged an exorbitant Euro 50 for a 5 minute call to Oman i.e Euro 10 per minute whereas it normally costs about Euro 2 per minute.

Overall it is a very good place to stay in Berlin.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NEIL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear NEIL R,

thanks for taking the time to give us a feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre.
We are glad to hear that you have spent nice days in Berlin and were satisfied with the location of the hotel, the rooms and the friendliness of our staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre.

Kind regards
Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel is not in the center of Berlin but the metro U is very close and is easy to reach it from both airports.The rooms are big and they have very comfortable beds.The brekfast was ok and the cleannese was perfect.
The only disapointing was the policy about the wi-fi as i lost the paper with the codes and they asked me to pay 5,00e to give me new ones.Is not the 5,00e but it was like punishement for loosing the litle paper 2,5cm x 2,5cm .

Room Tip: the one's inthe garden side are more quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michalisGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear michalisGreece,

thanks for taking the time to give us a feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre.
We are glad to hear that you have spent nice days in Berlin and were satisfied with the location of the hotel, the rooms and the friendliness of our staff.

On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Kind regards
Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington Uk
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel is a typical Holiday Inn Express. If you have stayed in these hotels before and been happy you will not be disappointed.
It is located in central Berlin 15 min walk from Potsdamer platz And 5 mins. walk from the underground train station.
If arriving by car, be careful of the underground parking entrance. It is very tight, just look at the scares on the wall.
The staff in the reception were all friendly, helpful and spoke good English.
The room was typical – It could have been in any town, however it was clean and of a good size.
There was a slight confusion regarding the pillows, one that was marked firm was definitely not. However this was not a problem for me and I am sure that a firm pillow would have been provided if I had asked.
As is often that case, there was no wall socket in easy reach of the bedside table (useful if you use your phone as an alarm)
The bathroom only contained a Shower (no Bath). Toilet & Sink again all clean and functioning well. As with all Holiday Inn Express hotels do not expect body lotion, tooth brushes etc.
The free continental breakfast was not spectacular but it was of good quality and there was enough in the buffet to set you up for the day
Would I stay again – Possibly. If I did not it would not be because of the hotel but just that I was looking for something different.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graycon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear graycon14,

First of all, our staff was very pleased with your praise. Thank you for it.
Our staff is always there for our guests to answer questions and to help them feel welcome.
I´m happy that you enjoy your stay and will comeback.

On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Mitte
Holiday Inn Express Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
#110 of 634 in Berlin
1,797 reviews
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Kreuzberg
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
Address: Stresemannstr. 49, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Family Hotel in Berlin
#141 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay smart! at the Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre perfectly located at the Tempodrom and just 10 minutes walking distance from the new center of Berlin, the famous Potsdamer Platz and the Sony Center. The beautiful and grand Friedrichstrasse, Unter den Linden, Check Point Charlie and the storied Brandenburg Gate can easily be reached. Also the legendary boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well known department store KaDeWe and the Alexanderplatz are easily accessible. Great connections to both fair grounds and the airports Tegel (TXL) and Schoenefeld (SXF).After a good sleep in one of our 256 modern rooms, all with air condition, high speed internet and coffee and tea maker, start with our complimentary buffet breakfast, possibly enjoying our summer terrace. At our Business Corner in the lobby we offer Free WIFI.If on business, make a bargain with our BUSINESS PACKAGE or for leisure, buy tickets for Madame Tussauds, Legoland, Berlin Sightseeing or Concerts (Holiday on Ice, Lionel Richie, Robin Gibb) directly at the reception.Kids Stay Free Policy at the Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre: Children under 18 years stay free in their parents' room using the sofa bed.Meet Smart! At Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre meetings and trainings for up to 45 people will be a great success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre Hotel Berlin
Holiday Inn Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing