We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
Ranked #160 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I were in town to run the Berlin Half Marathon. This hotel was listed by the event coordinators, and we received a discounted rate. Our room was big and the bathroom was great. Breakfast was included, and far exceeded my expectations. There was a large variety, and we had plenty to eat prior to our race. The hotel is within walking distance to Potsdamer Platz. There are other hotels in the area as well. My only complaint was the lack of ventilation in the room. The room got very stuffy at night. We vented the window, but it was too noisy outside. The manager said they had not turned on the air conditioning yet, but it was 70F outside during the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSmith31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear CSmith31,

thanks for taking the time to give us a feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre.
We are glad to hear that you have spent nice days in Berlin and were satisfied with the location of the hotel, the rooms and the friendliness of our staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre.

Kind regards
Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    680
    260
    57
    31
See reviews for
442
420
74
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

excellent location for a short trip in berlin and an excellent value for money. the breakfast is ok but crowded . in general i could stay again for a city trip. bus , metro , train , everything is very close. dont hesitate its ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nayia516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear nayia516,

Thank you for taking time to create a review about our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to have feedback from our guest.
On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Kind regards

Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culiacan, Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed here with my family for 3 nights and was very disappointed. While the location of the hotel is decent, the hotel itself is terrible. It overlooks a very dismal neighborhood and leaves a lot to desire. My first impression of this hotel started before I even arrived. I had terrible customer service over the phone when trying to get information on the cost of a 3rd person in a room which was set up for 3 to begin with. I was told by 1 front desk agent that only 2 people were allowed to stay in the room. On a different occasion, i was told it would be 45 Euro a night extra and then a third time when I called to confirm the 3rd guest, I was again told no. Finally when I asked to speak with the Guest Relations manager, the front desk agent quickly changed the reservation to 3 guests. When A queen bed and a pull out sofa is adequate for 3 people and yet they charged 49 Euro a night extra for the 3rd person. That being said, the room was not prepared for 3 guests when we arrived so we had to wait for bedding and extra towels to be brought late in the evening. As a platinum member of IHG being charged 49 Euro when using rewards points to pay for the room is also outrageous. What is the point of getting a "free night" when you pay half the price of the hotel room to have a 3rd guest?

The room itself is very small... quite a disappointment for a "club level" room. It was like walking into a closet. I get that this is a European hotel, but there could be a little effort made to make the club rooms more suitable. The overall cleanliness of the hotel room was not good. The water faucet leaked and hadn't had a good scrubbing in a long time it appeared. The queen bed had all kinds of stains on the blue fabric and was quite disconcerting. The bedding itself is horrible. Do not expect a good night sleep with the pillows provided. There is no wifi in the hotel rooms which is very inconvenient for those travelers who need to do business or keep in touch with family abroad.

The only wifi available was in the hotel lobby... which when you have every guest needing wifi... the lobby then becomes overcrowded and a mess. There is only a small section of lounge area and the breakfast seating was not lit up after hours. So if you want to sit at the tables and use wifi, be prepared to do so in the dark.

As for the service of the hotel, I cannot complain too much. I believe the hotel is understaffed and the staff employed are over worked. This is a very busy hotel and there were only 1 or 2 front desk agents working at any given time...they were also running the bar, servicing rooms and who knows what else. The poor guy who we talked to get get our extra bedding had to come to the room himself and make the extra bed. Where is the house keeping staff when you need them?

The location of the hotel is great... It is only a short walk to any of the major sites to see in Berlin. That is pretty much the only thing this hotel has going for it.

I would not stay here again, which is sad, because usually I quite enjoy the IHG brand. This hotel does not live up to the standards or quality of the other IHG properties that I have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepid_Traveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Intrepid_Traveller42,

Thank you for chosing our hotel and taking the time to write this review.

I am very sorry for the confusion in advanced of your stay and that the Holiday Inn Express standards could not meet your expectations. (Since April we have free WIFI in all rooms.)

Do not hesitate to contact me direct for you next reservation in Berlin. I would be happy if you could give us a second chance.

Sincerely

Anne Böttcher
Operations Manager
Anne.Boettcher@whgeu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Have just come back from 2 nights here.
Location was superb, being a less than 5 min walk from 2 tube stations to take you in all directions. The main sights are two stops away.

Breakfast was continental and great with not much queuing even at peak times.

Overall a top choice for a short family break.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Eleanor T,

thank you for spending your time to give us feedback from your stay.
We appreciate your posive rating and looking forward to welcome you on your next stay in our Hotel.
On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Best wishes

Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on more than one occasion always on business. The last time was back a few weeks ago for the Berlin Film Festival. The rooms are a good standard, clean and perfectly adequate for a few nights. I was there for a week which is a bit long. Basic facilities mean that long stays can be a bit of a chore. The staff are all excellent, friendly and helpful and are this hotels best asset by a long way. Since my last visit the hotel has stopped doing any food other than breakfast. The choice was never amazing but sometimes even a pizza without having to go out is welcome. The biggest drawback this hotel has is the wifi coverage. You can only access the free wifi in the bar and reception area. As with most hotels the paid for option in the room, wired only, is an absolute rip off. However, reasonable location, reasonable room rate, reasonable eateries nearby are enough to say I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Videoman4K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Videoman4K,

thanks for taking the time to give us a feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre.
We are glad to hear that you have spent nice days in Berlin and were satisfied with the location of the hotel, the rooms and the friendliness of our staff.

We are pleased to inform you that we also free of charge in all rooms in the hotel have now wifi.

We hope to welcome you back soon at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre.

Kind regards

Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel with our 2 children. The location was great, a 2 minute walk from the S Bahn station, which will bring you all of the sights. It is also within walking distance of the Jewish Museum and Checkpoint Charlie. The rooms were clean and comfortable and there was plenty of choice at the breakfast. The staff were very friendly, always happy to help with any questions or queries. Overall it was excellent value for money. We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulmcmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Paulmcmen,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel.
I´m happy that you like our rooms, our breakfast, our free wifi and our central location.

On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Best wishes

Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in April 2014. The rooms are as you would expect, clean, tidy and functional. The staff on the desk are very helpful and speak good English. The breakfast is the usual continental fear, bread,cheeses and meats, they also had good old cornflakes. The milk however is not cold and could not be to every ones liking.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear David G,
thanks for taking the time to give us a feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre.
We are glad to hear that you have spent nice days in Berlin and were satisfied with the location of the hotel, the rooms and the friendliness of our staff.
On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Mitte
Holiday Inn Express Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
#114 of 634 in Berlin
1,781 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Kreuzberg
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
Address: Stresemannstr. 49, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Family Hotel in Berlin
#141 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay smart! at the Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre perfectly located at the Tempodrom and just 10 minutes walking distance from the new center of Berlin, the famous Potsdamer Platz and the Sony Center. The beautiful and grand Friedrichstrasse, Unter den Linden, Check Point Charlie and the storied Brandenburg Gate can easily be reached. Also the legendary boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well known department store KaDeWe and the Alexanderplatz are easily accessible. Great connections to both fair grounds and the airports Tegel (TXL) and Schoenefeld (SXF).After a good sleep in one of our 256 modern rooms, all with air condition, high speed internet and coffee and tea maker, start with our complimentary buffet breakfast, possibly enjoying our summer terrace. At our Business Corner in the lobby we offer Free WIFI.If on business, make a bargain with our BUSINESS PACKAGE or for leisure, buy tickets for Madame Tussauds, Legoland, Berlin Sightseeing or Concerts (Holiday on Ice, Lionel Richie, Robin Gibb) directly at the reception.Kids Stay Free Policy at the Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre: Children under 18 years stay free in their parents' room using the sofa bed.Meet Smart! At Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre meetings and trainings for up to 45 people will be a great success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre Hotel Berlin
Holiday Inn Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing