We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked non-smoking room: got put in a smoking room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
Ranked #165 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I booked two nights in a non-smoking room at this hotel and when I checked in I was put in a smoking room. Nobody mentioned this as I was checking and it was only as I got to my room and smelled how much the room stank of cigarette smoke that I realised what had happened. I returned to the front desk to ask to be moved to a non-smoking room and was informed that there were no non-smoking rooms available, although I had booked one.

The hotel was not particularly helpful with my complaint very they did agree to move me to a non-smoking room the following night. I contacted Holiday Inn Express to complain about the incident and I was informed that the manager of the hotel would contact me the next day to rectify the situation. Nobody contacted me. When I was checking out I was asked if my stay was to my satisfaction. I let the desk clerk know what had happened. He said he was sorry but he did not offer to do anything about it. Afterwards I followed up with Holiday Inn Express and the next day the manager of the hotel contacted me and refunded me my first night's stay (I'm sure my company will be very pleased!)

Beyond this incident, the hotel was basic but functional and the breakfast buffet was decent. However there are lots of very good hotels in this area and so I will not be staying at this hotel again on my next business trip to Berlin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spitze1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear spitze1982,
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay.
On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Kind regards
Sandra Gürsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here during the Berlin Marathon, as this was one of the least expensive options for marathon weekend! We were more than pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and comfortable. There was free wi-fi in the lobby, so you could sit at the bar and enjoy a drink while checking email from home. Breakfast was much better than expected with hot and cold options, more than we could ever want. We were very close to the metro as well as many restaurants and all major sites. I would definitely stay here again for a great value in Berlin! The only downside was that there is no wi-fi in the rooms, only a LAN cable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kels2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Kels2003,
I thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Berlin.
We are very pleased that you liked our hotel and were pleased with the location and our value for money and with our staff.
I would really appreciate it if you would choose us again on your next stay in Berlin

Kind regards
Sandra Gürsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel for 4 nights last summer,
this is a good and comfort hotel, with all the facilities you need.
the rooms are small but functional in a very good way.
we also took breakfast and it was good and satisfying.
the big advantage of the hotel is the location, 10 minutes walk from the Potsdamer Platz and 5 minutes walk from the near S-bahn train-station!
there is also a super-market near the hotel and a very nice Turkish restaurant across the street.
so bottom-line - we recommend it for anyone who wants a nice clean hotel that also under the holiday-inn brand name (that's also important that you know there is a 'parent' for it).
and also, it's location is amazing! so go travel Berlin :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ori Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Ori Z,
Thank you for taking time to create a review about our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to have feedback from our guest.
On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Kind regards
Sandra Gürsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

After staying in a number of hotels in Munich, Prague, Budapest and Berlin some of which were much more expensive, this hotel was a very pleasant surprise. I had expected a very compact room but instead the room was spacious and a pleasant place to relax and unwind at the end of a day. TV gave access to UK TV stations so it was possible to watch something other than news for a while.
Tea/Coffee making facilities. Very clean; although furnishing is inexpensive everything works as it should. Free access to Computers and internet. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast.
Close to Jewish Museum and Checkpoint Charlie. Bus trip to other sights.

Room Tip: I had requested a quiet room The room I was given was next to the lift and noise of the lift motor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Frances M,
First of all, our staff was very pleased with your praise. Thank you for it.
Our staff is always there for our guests to answer questions and to help them feel welcome.
I´m happy that you enjoy your stay and will comeback.
On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back!

Kind regards
Sandra Gürsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

good location near a subway station that is one stop to potsdammerplatz, two to brandenburg gate and easy walk to checkpoint charlie. generous free breakfast buffet, room was simple but clean. wi-fi could be expanded to the rooms though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Kate1507,
Thank you for taking time to create a review about our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to have feedback from our guest.
On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Kind regards
Sandra Gürsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, ok rooms and fine breakfast. The location perfect for us (the Berlin Marathon) Quite arear. The price was ok compared too other hotels (but prices are raised in the marathon weekend ;(
Fee wifi in the reception, but you have too pay at the room (cable)

Thank Buurskov
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Buurskov,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel.
I´m happy that you like our rooms, our breakfast, our free wifi and our central location.
On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Kind regards

Sandra Gürsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was staying one night for a business meeting and this hotel is quite knew and the location is 10 min walking distance to check piont charly. The reception staff is very friendy and helpful. The room was basic but clean, good firm bed and very quiet. The free breakfast is good with plenty to make a day going. Definitely a very good address for a short visit for private or business in Berlin and highly to recommend. Only small negative thing was, that Wifi was only in lobby, but ok it gave me a reason to watch a football game at night instead of getting bothered with emails.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Woso 1,

Thank you for taking time to create a review about our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to have feedback from our guest.
On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center

Kind regards

Sandra Gürsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Mitte
Holiday Inn Express Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
#110 of 635 in Berlin
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Kreuzberg
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
#113 of 635 in Berlin
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre

Address: Stresemannstr. 49, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Family Hotel in Berlin
#141 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $87 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay smart! at the Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre perfectly located at the Tempodrom and just 10 minutes walking distance from the new center of Berlin, the famous Potsdamer Platz and the Sony Center. The beautiful and grand Friedrichstrasse, Unter den Linden, Check Point Charlie and the storied Brandenburg Gate can easily be reached. Also the legendary boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well known department store KaDeWe and the Alexanderplatz are easily accessible. Great connections to both fair grounds and the airports Tegel (TXL) and Schoenefeld (SXF).After a good sleep in one of our 256 modern rooms, all with air condition, high speed internet and coffee and tea maker, start with our complimentary buffet breakfast, possibly enjoying our summer terrace. At our Business Corner in the lobby we offer Free WIFI.If on business, make a bargain with our BUSINESS PACKAGE or for leisure, buy tickets for Madame Tussauds, Legoland, Berlin Sightseeing or Concerts (Holiday on Ice, Lionel Richie, Robin Gibb) directly at the reception.Kids Stay Free Policy at the Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre: Children under 18 years stay free in their parents' room using the sofa bed.Meet Smart! At Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre meetings and trainings for up to 45 people will be a great success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre Hotel Berlin
Holiday Inn Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing