We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and friendly with spacious rooms (apartments)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lux 11

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lux 11
Ranked #249 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stylish and friendly with spacious rooms (apartments)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

I've stayed here twice and this hotel is exactly what it says to be: stylish, cool and the personnel are really welcoming and helpful.
But they have apartments, not hotel rooms in that sense that the rooms are big with a walk-in closet and a kitchenett. These apartments are clean, in a nice condition and the rain shower is beautiful. Breakfast is not the best I have experienced, but definitely ok.

Since I prefer staying in a hotel on my business trips (I prefer having room service, free wifi and other services at hand), I'll might not stay here again but the experience was absolutely really good. If you are looking for a stylish apartment hotel, then this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikFromSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    164
    89
    43
    28
See reviews for
46
179
43
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
munich
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Lux 11 is a very stylish and cool place! The staff is friendly. It's very central for clubbing (not noisy )and eating out. Stayed in a lot of hotels in Berlin the last years, this one impressed me. The price is quite high, I stayed in one of the suites.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

The room we had was like a one room apartment. It was airy and a corner room, which I love! The shower is in the same room, with a glass/mirror wall behind the sink. So when you're in the shower you can see the silhouette. The toilet and the kitchen is just inside the entrance. Where you can make coffee and toast, for as well cook meals.
Liked this hotel. It's also connected to Adidas, where you get a % in the store.

It's a place you should check in..

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
Thank AnnickenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

I don't know why I waited so long to put it out there to the world, but after returning to Berlin last week and staying at The Circus Hotel (FANTASTIC!), I knew I had to share my horrible experience at Lux 11 with the world. Thomas Tänzer is the owner/general manager. I was with clients and colleagues on a business trip. Lux 11 looks good on the surface. The rooms were fun in look and feel. The fun and comfort stopped when the hotel's internet service went down and stayed down for nearly 24 hours. Our client was not amused and had to seek an internet cafe at midnight while severely jet lagged in a foreign place to deal with e-mails back in the States. None of the rest of the team were amused either. Not good. In the morning, I let the front desk know that if the internet was not restored by the time we returned from our meetings around 5pm, we'd have to check out. They were in agreement. When in fact 5pm hit, there was no internet. Out we had to go, but not without a fight and room charges for late check-outs. The owner/gm wouldn't come out of his office to speak to me live. Instead he used his employees to do perform his dirty work. Now, please note that The Circus Hotel, way cheaper room rates, offers FREE Internet service and even loans out laptops for FREE. Back then, we moved to the Radisson next to the Dom, where all internet services worked beautifully. The next day Thomas Tänzer called me at my request to hopefully discuss the issue and obtain an apology or a make-good of some sort. All he did was yell at me, insult me and threaten me. I politely told him that I was hanging up on him and I hung up. He had the gumption to call back. I'd say he missed the class of Customer Service 101 & Never Read the Article How To Be A Gentleman. BAD BUSINESS. BAD FORM. BAD ENERGY. Avoid this place at all cost.

Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank lynnsf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

We were first unsure about the location but found out, that the location of the hotel is perfect for sightseeing (close to Museumsinsel) and night life as well. The staff was over-average friendly and they have great amenities like midnight snacks and even excellent wine, all included, you don't have to pay anything for it and at the same time having a terrific start in the evening or a conveniant chill-out after returning.
The hotel is really a design-hotel in a pretty old, but fully renovated building which was used by the soviet KGB during cold war times - spooky. Perfect melt of history and modern design.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin/New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

The service at Lux 11 is, quite simply, appalling. I stayed for a few days recently and was subjected to overcharges on my card after departure. A rude, unhelpful staff acted as though they were doing me a favor allowing me to stay there. My associate stopped by to pick me up and they refused to ring my room to let me know he was there. They instead sent him up to my room, unannounced, for a rather awkward, after-shower greeting.

Did I mention there were items missing after the room was cleaned?

After all this stress brought onto me by the staff, I thought, boy I could use a drink right now. I'll even shell out mini-bar prices......wait! No mini bar! Just a bottle of cheap €5 white wine, sitting warm on the counter, for the bargain price of €34. Oh yeah, no room service, in it's place, a flyer telling me to "take a taxi" to a restaurant that shares owners with the hotel. Unbelievable!

What a sham.

Stay away. Far away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank w0rldcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
next to hat
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

The property is located in walking distance (5 min) from the Alexander Platz, To the Alexander Platz I took the bus from the TXL airport, so the commute was very easy. The Alexander Platz and the Lux 11 (www.lux-eleven.com) are located in the district “Mitte” (City Center), so very convenient, if you want to do sight seeing or have a business meeting in the city center of Berlin.
The property was very nice with its puristic art style and modern design. The room was quite spacious for a city center property and had all the features you need including W-LAN in the room. The toilet was a separate room, but the large washing basin was included in the main bed room and included all kinds of amenities and the shower was also accessible from there. A huge rain forest shower head was hanging from the ceiling; Very stylish and at the same time a very comfortable showering experience.

The service was extremely helpful and friendly (Thanks Angela for all your help with directions and dinner suggestions!)

Over all it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1TravelDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Weinmeister
The Weinmeister
#231 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#73 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#89 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#52 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux 11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux 11

Property: Lux 11
Address: Rosa-Luxemburg-Strasse 9-13, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#148 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lux 11 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Berlin's pulsating and hip central district of Mitte, amidst creative and chic fashion shops, galleries, trendy media agencies and a myriad of culinary locations, the 72-apartment Lux 11 opened on July 1st 2005. The renowned London-based architect team, Silvestrin/Salmaso, has elegantly fused this stylishly modern structure with its historic setting. With interiors oriented towards hospitality, spaciousness and comfort, the Lux 11's open-plan guest rooms and public spaces provide natural scenery in tones of Chinese green for the gleaming bleached wood furniture and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Lux 11 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux 11 Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing