We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seasoned well” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ackselhaus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ackselhaus
Ranked #37 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Seasoned well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed three nights, paying the full whack for the summerhouse at Blue Home, also part of Ackselhaus. It's a magpie of influences and very comfortable. There is no fuss here. Quiet and lovely street in Prenzlauer Berg. The area is despised by the hipsters of other areas. Part of the conundrum of Berlin. Soon the hipsters will cause the same the happen in the new cheaper areas they inhabit. Berlin is having a renaissance and this place is a nice place to experience a very light version of it. Best breakfast I have had in a long time, but then German hotels are the best for this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    40
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
136
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I've travelled a great deal and never had a breakfast as good as this hotel: as varied, high quality or luxurious. Or one that goes on so late: 11.30am on weekdays and 12.30 at weekends.
The hotel itself is magical and totally delightful. The communal gardens and conservatory are gorgeous. The staff are friendly and efficient. Prenzlauer Berg itself is wonderful: chic, idiosyncratic and artistic. A fantastic atmosphere. Exactly like the hotel itself. We were very, very happy here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidnightMoon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ackselhaus for three nights in August. I discovered this hotel after reading a few forums online and it was recommended by someone who said they wouldn't stay anywhere else in Berlin. I visited the website and decided this was exactly where I wanted to be. The Prenzlauer Berg neighborhood that it's located in is an absolute gem and my husband and I both agreed that it was the best area of all of Berlin. It was close to the train, tons of cute bars and restaurants, and the immediate neighborhood is just all-around fabulous. The staff was so helpful and really went above and beyond for us. For example, we had an early flight when we checked out and so we were unable to get to the breakfast room in time before it opened. The girl at the front desk arranged for the restaurant (which always provided an excellent and filling breakfast) to pack us a to-go box for us to take on our cab ride over. We stayed in the Maritime room, which was the only room available at the time of our booking, but it was probably the one I would have chosen anyway. It was incredibly comfortable (air conditioning included!) and the decorations were perfect - it felt like we were in a cottage in Nantucket. The outdoor area was a comfortable and relaxing place to spend time. It even included an outdoor bed! So cool. I cannot say enough about how wonderful it was to stay here. I definitely would recommend it - amazing, amazing hotel!!

Room Tip: Either building is fabulous is in its own right - you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spend a week-end in the Ackselhaus and would rate it among the most pleasant hotels we've ever stayed in. Don't miss it if you want to enjoy Berlin at its best!

The things that we enjoyed the most: the interior/exterior design; the trustful atmosphere; and the location.

Re: design
The hotel consists of two buildings in the close proximity. They were clearly designed by a very talented interior architect. The attention to detail is impressive and yet effortless, very much in tune with the artsy and alternative neighborhood. We asked for a quiet room with lots of daylight, an almost impossible combination for a downtown hotel. We got the room called Burton Holmes, that was exactly what we asked for, plus full of quirky and playful design details.

Re: trustful atmosphere
We liked that the hotel treats its guests with a lot of trust - the are no mini bars in the rooms, but in the lobby there is a place, where one can get any drinks or snacs off the shelf and simply sign up for it on a piece of paper. Another example was the parking. We arrived by car and parked it on the street in front of the hotel. The receptionist gave us a resident parking card that reduced the daily parking fee from about 30 Euro per day to 5 and did not charge it for the first night. The charming explanation was that it was too complicated to bother about ...

Re: location
A lot had been said in the other reviews. We would recommend the Italian resturant on the nearby corner (Sapori e...) . Their Linguine with truffles were superb! Also the Saturday open-air food market is great. One more thing - lots of car parking everywhere, in case you decide to come by car.

Things to improve (nothing is ever perfect...): reading lights. We would ask for better reading lights in the bed.

Room Tip: Burton Holmes is quiet and with lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirek_stachowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Super room...really big and fun decor,busts of Napoleon and Ceasar! I loved the tub next to the big, comfortable bed! There was also a shower if you didn't want to take a bath. Everything was super except no air conditioning and it was HOT. They put a fan in the room which helped and the garden downstairs was fantastic.. we could cool off under the awnings with a breeze and the small pool was charming. The hotel is close to some super restaurants and a weekend market! We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaye145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

What a nice place, who would not want to live here? The building, the entrance, the inner garden, the orangerie, the well kept ornamented ceilings, it is a feast for your eyes. Everything a business or spoiled leisure traveller needs, is available.

My friend and I shared an apartment, with one bed in the bedroom and one in the livingroom. This way we both had our own area, but at the same time enjoyed each others company.

Room Tip: When your room faces the inner garde of the blue house, at night you can enjoy the pleasant sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in the Blue House, the sister accomodation 2 doors down from the Ackselhaus. A short walk to the tram and then to the subway for easy commute to wherever we wanted to go. A local neighborhood with many restaurants, though not many German. Room with entry hall and large bedroom by European standards. It would have been better if 2 chairs were provided with the table. Breakfast buffet was extensive and i wish the weather was nicer so we could have sat outside for breakfast. Our 3 night stay would have ended on a high note, except for the "out of order" sign on the elevator the morning we were leaving. An advance warning of this scheduled maintenance would have been nice. Did I mention we were on the 5th floor. Thump, thump, thump down the stairs we came with our luggage.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#80 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Charlottenburg
Louisa's Place
Louisa's Place
#5 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#4 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#2 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#10 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#235 of 663 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ackselhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ackselhaus

Property: Ackselhaus
Address: Belforter Str. 21, 10405 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#34 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#51 Family Hotel in Berlin
#148 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ackselhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great boutique hotel with 37 rooms located in the atmospheric district Prenzlauer Berg, bustling with cafes, bars and restaurants. Only a stone's throw away from Berlin's trendiest attractions. All studios, apartments, and suites are equipped with wooden parquet floors, high ceilings and antique period pieces which go hand in hand with modern furnishings. The variety of decoration takes in modern, classical, oriental and chic. Every room is also utterly unique - no two are the same. Two lovely Mediterranean gardens invite you to chill out. Enjoy a great breakfast buffet in our "oceanic" restaurant "Club del Mar". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ackselhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ackselhaus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing