We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ackselhaus
Nearby Hotels
$223
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$183
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$130
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
$114
$103
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$59
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$366
$349
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$158
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$86
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$167
$131
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
243
43
8
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
43
8
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue homeprenzlauer bergpicasso roomhot spellantique furniturebuilding next doorcharming hotellarge bedroomgreat restaurants and barsnespresso machinehome away from homeelectric kettlesitting areagreat weekendbeautiful roomfully equipped kitchenhotel room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 300 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed for three nights in the Blue House and everything was top notch. The staff was friendly and always willing to help. The rooms were clean, spacious and eclectically decorated. The location is great with many shops, restaurants, transportation w/in easy walking distance. The garden in the middle is a cozy place to relax and breakfast, (included with the room is served in the cafe on the property itself) was well done with a variety of foods on the buffet to choose from. The only thing to watch for: we were given the impression that credit cards were not permitted and that we would have to pay cash for our room...this is not true, they do accept major credit cards. We would highly recommend this boutique hotel and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and totally enjoyed this hotel. It's very cosy and nicely maintained with a lovely garden in the centre for guests to relax after a long day out in Berlin. Rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious - we booked late and got one of the smallest but were very happy with it. Value was great and breakfast (included) was delicious and nicely laid out (though mainly continental with some warm boiled eggs). The service was great (although more like serviced appt. than hotel style) and there were thoughtful touches like a covered plate of small pastries in the garden in
the afternoons and little blankets. I spent a nice afternoon on the terrace daybed after a long day out. We will be back - hopefully for longer and maybe this time the African room...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieElizF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I had been to Ackselhaus before and I have always longed to come back. It cannot be defined as a Hotel, since the rooms are apartments in a block of building in Prenzlauer Berg, which is one of my favourite areas in Berlin.
You really feel at home and the furniture is creative and not standard. Every room is different.
The breakfast is one of the best and most pleasant I have ever had anywhere.
Rooms are clean and well equipped and most rooms have a small kitchen if you wish to dine in the apartment.
When you exit in the street you can hear your footsteps and Ackselhaus is just a few meters from a tramway to Alexanderplats, that is easy to reach on foot anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UDesideri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed there the last few days of our 16 day vacation and it was like a home away from home...a really fabulous, chic home.
Its like being in a photo shoot for Elle decor magazine! Amazing, comfortable luxury. Must go...we had the Afrika suite. Lovely and amazing giant tub with chromotherapy and a huge flat screen TV...try the bubble baths.
Great location too! lots of wonderful trendy bars and restaurants in walking distance.
Right on the tram line, so easy...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CDanielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. If you are staying in Berlin and want a modern, cloned, character-free hotel owned by a multinational soulless corporation, then this really isn’t the place for you. It’s an old building that has been refurbished (not converted) that still retains a lot of the characteristics built into it’s 100+ year existence so expect an old house – because it is.

The reception on arrival was quick, efficient and very cheerful and it was explained that the Reception was not manned 24 hours but we would still be able to obtain assistance if we needed it and a telephone number was provided to us. During the 3 nights we stayed here, we only saw a minimal number of staff.

We stayed in the main Ackselhaus building in the ‘Kairo’ room which we specifically requested by sending an email (in my poor-ish German) to the hotel about 7 weeks in advance and about a month after we had made the booking. An almost immediate return email (in immaculate English) confirmed that we could stay in the room of my wife’s choice. What a wonderful, wonderful room. The photographs on the website are really good but don’t give you the overall feel of the room as a whole. The room is better than they illustrate. Much better.

The bathroom is on the small side but the shower is quite large and the bathtub in the main part of the room is huge and plenty big enough for (ahem) two people. We loved the bath so much, we are looking to buy a similar one for our own house.

A really nice feature of the room is movement-sensor floor lighting. The bed area is raised on a low-level platform with integrated lighting fixed on the vertical edge. There is also a movement sensor that turn on the lighting when movement is detected and all the other lighting is off – so when going to the bathroom in the middle of the night, the low-level lighting precludes the need to scrabble around for a light in unfamiliar surroundings.

There is a small fridge located in the wardrobe, although it is not a stocked mini-bar. There is a mini bar available in the foyer that looks like it works on an honesty principle, although we didn’t make use of it. If you wanted to stock the fridge with your own drinks, then there is a medium-sized supermarket just two minutes from the hotel on the corner of Prenzlauer Allee.

Although it’s an old house there is access via lift at the rear of the house, tucked away in a corner of the delightful, secluded and relaxing courtyard that complements the house beautifully.
Breakfast is optional (at an extra cost of 15 Euros per person) and available in the Blue House about 20 feet from the entrance to the Ackselhaus entrance. We had breakfast on just one morning and it was extremely pleasant to sit out in a pavement café setting with a continental-style breakfast to start our day. There is also a restaurant between the Ackselhaus and the Blue House which was also very good and well worth a visit even if it is only for a quiet drink at the end of the day.

The location of the hotel is really handy if you want to base yourself in the Mitte / Prenzlauer Berg area of the city. We bought a 72 hour BVG pass which covers trains, trams, U-bahn, S-bahn and buses in the city and the hotel is a mere 3 stops (5 minutes or so) on the tram from the hotel to Alexander Platz from where you can explore the entire city as this is a busy public transport hub. The area around the hotel has plenty of restaurants and bars, so you don’t have to go that far if you don’t want to.

Shall we go back to this hotel if we ever return to Berlin? You betcha!!

Room Tip: Get your wife or partner to choose it !!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank York-O-Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews