We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful neighborhood gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ackselhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ackselhaus
Ranked #36 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful neighborhood gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

I will stay at Ackselhaus every trip to Berlin, it was home away from home and I didn't want to leave! The room was amazing - we stayed in apartment 14. The bathroom was huge with a wonderful clawfoot tub, double sink, and large walk in shower. The room was spacious, two desks and plenty of storage for our clothes.The room has a great stero with speakers in the main room and the bathroom, I also love that they had a Nespresso in the room! The staff was friendly and very accommodiating. If you need a taxi just call them and they will arrange in minutes!

The neighborhood is fantastic, many wonderful resturants and shops (I would highly recommend Zander for dinner). Close to the U bahn station and the tram down the street takes you to Alexanderplatz, easy station to get anywhere in the city! Every Saturday they have a local market, not to be missed!

Room Tip: We had apartment 14 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    40
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
142
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Highly recommended - I was very pleased with this hotel from the prompt correspondence and ease of planning our stay to all the wonderful details and amenities offered. I agree with the other reviews that this hotel is in a great location - walking distance to many tourist sites and just a 15 minute walk away from the subway system, and a block from a cab stand; it's in an eclectic/culturally diverse community with plentiful restaurant options and varying ethnic cuisine. The nightlife, well, we never really found that... There are many places to have wine in dim romantic settings or plush couches that give the presentation that you are sitting in someone's home but, if you enjoy bands/live music, that for some reason we never found.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbound1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

I could live here!!!! The rooms are massive (we were in Rom). Luxuries abound but not necessarily the material kind. The experience is so much more important than fluffy towels and moisturizer!! The staff are so friendly and helpful. Breakfast is gorgeous in the Cafe del Mar with fish tanks and gorgeous artwork. What's not to love! I will be back that's for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda_Geoff_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I read all the reviews here and was a bit skeptical about how everyone was raving of this place. I take that all back. Had a wonderful stay. What a great find and I wish I had discovered it earlier. I had room 503 and couldn't of been happier. I can imagine that were it warmer, the lack of air conditioning may have been an issue being on the top floor but otherwise, everything was great. I really like the mix of older architecture with modern design. Plenty of space and a very comfortable bed too. Finally, a rain shower head which I love in hotel bathrooms. Everything was top-notch clean, staff were courteous and helpful, the hotel was easy to find and was conveniently located. I highly recommend this place if you need a hotel in Berlin which is neither an Econo-box or a chain. Lots of nice little touches to make it a home-away-from-home if you are in town for a couple days.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joizee_HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Located in the Prenzlauer Berg section of Berlin this hotel was wonderful. Great service, excellent breakfast and the two bedroom apartment we had was perfect.

The hotel is only a two block walk from the U-Bahn. You can bicycle or walk to the Alexanderplatz. Additionally, it is easy to reach from Tegel (20 minutes or so). Simply put, this is my headquarters when I am in Berlin!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davej007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We loved everything about this gorgeous hotel and beautiful, romantic courtyard! We stayed in the Burton Holmes room-- loved the decor and luxurious bathtub (w/ optional colored underwater lights?) in the room. We were so amazed by the lush, uncrowded, courtyard, that my boyfriend took the opportunity to propose there, so we're thrilled to have an excuse to return!

Room Tip: Each room on website unique- I requested my fave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyAlmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Ackselhaus is a real treat, a unique place to stay where every detail has been carefully considered and comfort and relaxation is of the highest priority. We stayed in the Beach House room for 5 days, and did not want to leave. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, the sound system (in both bedroom and bathroom - for CDs, radio, or ipod) a real treat, the ambiance and decor imaginative, unique, and high class, the tub ABSOLUTELY indulgent, and the breakfast delicious. I can't wait to go back and stay in one of the other rooms because I have no doubt each is as carefully composed as ours was. Coming in the door at the end of the day felt like returning to a sanctuary and retreat all our own. There's an honor bar with snacks, drinks, etc., and a fridge and coffee and tea in the room.

The neighborhood of Prenzlauerberg was a fantastic base from which to see Berlin, with unique shops and cafes throughout the area. Berlin is a large city and no matter where you stay you will likely need to use public transit to see what you want to see. We bought a week transit pass and used it each day to explore neighborhoods in east and west Berlin. The tram is right next to the hotel and the U2 subway, one of the main lines, is a few blocks away, and there is never more than a few minutes' wait for public transit.

Very well worth the money, even with the horrible USD-Euro exchange rate. Nicer than most 5-star hotels I've stayed in because of the unique design and ambiance. It's a real gem.

Room Tip: Each one is unique, so find one that suits you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urbanspelunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#112 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#3 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#7 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Louisa's Place
Louisa's Place
#6 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#2 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ackselhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ackselhaus

Property: Ackselhaus
Address: Belforter Str. 21, 10405 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#51 Family Hotel in Berlin
#147 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ackselhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great boutique hotel with 37 rooms located in the atmospheric district Prenzlauer Berg, bustling with cafes, bars and restaurants. Only a stone's throw away from Berlin's trendiest attractions. All studios, apartments, and suites are equipped with wooden parquet floors, high ceilings and antique period pieces which go hand in hand with modern furnishings. The variety of decoration takes in modern, classical, oriental and chic. Every room is also utterly unique - no two are the same. Two lovely Mediterranean gardens invite you to chill out. Enjoy a great breakfast buffet in our "oceanic" restaurant "Club del Mar". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ackselhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ackselhaus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing