We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Berlin City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Berlin City Center
Ranked #95 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Location: I would say it was near city center... about a 10 minute walk and a 5 minute walk to the underground.

Hotel: Very nice hotel. I would say it is a 4 star. Very clean and the staff was really helpful! Always two or three staff at the front desk to answer you. There is constructions sites around, but we couldn't hear the noises from our bedroom, so no worries there.
Good to know: In the lobby, you have a 60 minute free roaming to the internet every day.

Room: You have every thing you need: Big room, big bathroom and clean room!

I would definitely go back. If not in Berlin, I will do business again with Courtyard/Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne-sophieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    585
    150
    16
    9
See reviews for
188
389
93
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We arrived very late, this was not a problem. The rooms were pleasant, bed was comfy and the shower was a good spray. Nice bathroom and coffee making facilities. Staff were able to speak English (which as a tourist is extremely useful!). Hotel was happy to hold our luggage for us on our last day. There was a very small gym and sauna (which was not open whilst we were there), internet facilities (at a price).

Breakfast seemed quite expensive 15+ Euros I believe (but prob cheaper if pre-ordered) - decided to get a snack on the way to our destination. All the locals were pleasant (always worth a walk around the block!).

Easy walking distance to Check Point Charlie, and other sites of interest. U-Bahn very close by - familiarise yourself with the stops (you'll need it for sightseeing! - but it's easy enough).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhileasFoggSWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

In a city not known for friendly staff, the staff ( from front desk to wait-staff) at the Courtyard was exceptional. The facility appears brand new and the rooms and public area are very sleek. I would stay again just for the breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjygi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

STRENGHTS: Convenient location, reasonable weekend pricing vs.standard, possibility of parking car on the street opposites to hotel (cheaper in short-term than garage). Breakfast-quite fine
WEAKNESSES: Typical business hotel so it's not a perfect option for romantic weekend for couples.
OVERALL: Marriot offers plenty of various weekend packages for weekend stays very often to fill own hotels during weekends so check out prices to get reasonable offer

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Collector582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

The Marriott Courtyard is located in what was once the "dead zone" of the Berlin Wall...with the brick outline of the old wall very close to the hotel. The surrounding neighborhood is under construction....many of the nearby apartment buildings are the old dreary and scary Communist USSR style architecture of former East Berlin. Lots of history...take the time to walk around the surrounding neighborhood and soak it all in before they are torn down and gone forever. Check Point Charlie is very close. I walked to ALL the Berlin sights from the Hotel. Great location. Very quiet. The staff is very friendly and did everything they could to make my stay the best it could be.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank telleroftruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Had a lovely stay in this hotel in April 2010. Got a good deal in room upgrade and parking. A very big room, with excellent facilities. Staff were very friendly; the sent someone up to our room with a treat after we mentioned that we were celebrating our 42nd wedding anniversary.
Location is in the former nowhere land between East and West Berlin. U-bahn close by. It is also possible to walk to for instance Alexanderplatz or Kreuzberg, but be prepared for 30 minutes or more on foot.
Would certainly recommend this hotel and concider coming back some time. One of the best hotels I know in Germany, certainly in Berlin.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

This is a standard, well run, clean Courtyard hotel. Really no surprises. The area around the hotel is very quiet and you have to walk to the Nikolaikirche to get to an area where there are a lot of cafes and restaurants. If you take the S-bahn from the main train station (HBF) you have to switch U-2 at Alexanderplatz. If you have luggage it is easier to go out the station on the northwest side, cross the surface tram tracks, enter the plaza and go toward the right of the fountain towards the Saturn store. There is an elevator there that takes you down to the U-2 platform. Going through the station we had to take multiple stairs to get to the u-2.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vamanosNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#52 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Mitte
Motel One Berlin Spittelmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#74 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Mitte
Grimm's Hotel
Grimm's Hotel
#70 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Berlin City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Berlin City Center

Property: Courtyard Berlin City Center
Address: Axel Springer Strasse 55, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#89 Business Hotel in Berlin
#112 Family Hotel in Berlin
#117 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Berlin City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Berlin City Center is in walking distance to many famous Berlin attractions such as Friedrichstrasse, Alexanderplatz, Gendarmenmarkt, Checkpoint Charlie, Memorial of the Berlin Wall and popular Potsdamer Platz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Berlin City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Berlin City Hotel Berlin
Courtyard Berlin
Berlin Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing