We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Watch out for Events”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Berlin
Ranked #117 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and on the whole it was very good. Breakfast seemed overpriced but I could easily go elsewhere.
The good is the quiet yet convenient location near Potsdamer Platz which was lively of an evening. The staff were very helpful, letting us leave our luggage for free after check out, the standard of everything in room (except the TV) is great.

Cons are paid WiFi, although there is a Starbucks near Potsdamer station with free WiFi. The station is a bit of a walk and events can be noisy, we could hear one late Saturday night but it didn't bother us enough to stop us sleeping.

Overall a very nice hotel,

Thank gwhite13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your visit and your kind review. With pleasure we have taken note, that you were satisfied with our facilities and services in general.

Regarding your criticisms, we like to let you know, that the improvement of the Wifi and TV offer is planned, as soon as the existing contracts expire. For breakfast we offer also alternative options. In addition to the breakfast buffet you can have a continental breakfast for EUR 9,60 and furthermore you can have coffee, tea, croissants and other snacks a la carte at our hotel bar from 08:00 a.m. in the morning. Please accept our apology for the shortcomings.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back in our hotel on any future visits in Berlin and send our best regards,

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Was there for a conference.

The hotel has a very nice feel about it. The staff are uniformly welcoming and competent, with a smile on their face at all times, except for one trip to the bar. My room was reasonably large with a nice bathroom, with all of the touches that make a stay good in the 21st Century, except that WIFI was chargeable which is nonsense in this day and age. My other criticism was the bed. It was just way too soft. The TV was somewhat out of the ark as well.

The conference facilities were just excellent, the conference service (which I was not involved in) seemed perfect, with staff on hand when needed and tea/coffee/water/food always there when needed.

I barely left the hotel except when it was dark. It seemed to be reasonably centrally positioned and was a 10 minute walk from lots of restaurants and things (SONY CENTRE area).

Just had breakfast and one one buffet dinner there. In all cases the food was really very good and well presented.

So, if WIFI was included, and the bed was even just moderately better, five "stars".

Room Tip: My room was about 4-500 internal yards from the major public areas. While this made it quiet it mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for visiting our hotel at a conference. We are very glad, to read that you have felt comfortable with us and enjoyed your stay. Especially pleased we were about your kind comments to our staff and service.

Your critical comments regarding the Wifi and TV’s are known. We hope to be able soon to improve these services, when the existing contracts expire. We regret, that the bed was too soft for you. If we are informed of such problems on the spot we immediately try to remedy the situation, for example by a move to another room or the insertion of boards in the bed. But gladly we inform you, that in addition the purchase of new mattrasses is already planned for this year. We apologize formally for the inconvenience caused.

Nevertheless, we hope, that we can welcome you again as a guest in our hotel, whenever your travels brings you to Berlin.

Kindest regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed here for a two day business event that I hosted and we were with a group of approx. 35. When you enter the hotel, there is an impressive lobby. Check-in was friendly and quick. I asked for an ironer and board which was delivered to the room as promised. The room was fine: good bed, a desk to work, a small table with two comfortable seats. Plenty of space and hangers for a longer stay. Pillows were too soft for my liking though, plus the bathroom amenities are a bit 'standard' for this type of hotel. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and the inbetween snacks were very good. The hotel has a nice bar. The conference rooms were good as well.

What wasn't to expectation:
- Although agreed up-front, there wasn't a sound system available upon entering the meeting room on the morning of the first day of our event and we needed to make our own arrangement quickly.
- On the second day, there was no beamer in one of the break-out meetings rooms.
- The bar closed at 01.00 hrs already while it is advertised it stays open as long as needed and apart from that we were in Berlin in a major hotel. Plus service wasn't particularly friendly.
When doing another event in Berlin I would certainly reconsider the choice of hotel based on these important service aspects as both formal and informal parts of an event are very important to a successful outcome and these flaws didn't help.

All in all it was a great event and stay. I stay a lot at Maritim Duesseldorf and we have had a couple of events there, and this was certainly another successful experience with Maritim apart from some of the issues mentioned.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear guest,

With much interest we have taken note of your detailed feedback regarding your business stay at our hotel and thank you very much for taking the time for it and also for your kind comments to our facilities and restaurant offers. We are delighted, that you were all in all satisfied with your event and stay.

The more we regret the service flaws you described. Without detailed information about the event or the company name we can unfortunately not comprehend, why the pre-ordered technique equipment was not provided. We apologise formally for the trouble caused. Of course this does not meet our usual service standard.

Further you were dissatisfied with our pillows, bath amenities and the closing time of the bar. For eventual upcoming stays in our hotel, we like to inform you that we have other types of pillows, such as hard pillows or allergy pillows, available for our guests on request in our Housekeeping Department. Also any bath amenities you wish can be ordered at the Reception or the Housekeeping. The closing time of our Le Bar depends on the guest volume. It is open from 08:00 a.m. until at least 01:00 a.m., but there are often days where it is open until 04:00-05:00 a.m., if there is the appropriate number of guests. We ask for your understanding.

Please accept our apology for the shortcomings. We hope, nevertheless, you will visit the Maritim Hotels again in the future and we will have a chance to revise your negative impressions.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is clean, the rooms are nice and the food at breakfast was decent for a hotel buffet.

The main problem was a party being held on Saturday 28 December. We were awoken from an afternoon nap by music. We are on the 4th floor and the ballroom was on the ground floor. When we inquired at the front desk if this is what the evening would be like, we were told the music that woke us was just the "test" volume. The party would be going until 2am and would be louder. I asked how they can justify keeping a whole wing of the hotel awake until 2am and they said there was nothing they could do about the music volume.

They did move us to another room for the night, which was a good solution. However, I question what the outcome would have been if the hotel was full. I also wonder if the organisation that rates hotels knew of this policy when they granted them 4 stars.

We requested an iron and ironing board and it did arrive after 3 calls to housekeeping, and 24 hours after our initial request. There was no soap in our room, so we stole it from the 2nd room they gave us for that one night. These are the sorts of issues and inconveniences you don't expect from a 4 star establishment. I would say this is an inflated rating.

Room Tip: Inquire about the parties being held during booking. They do have a wing of the hotel which isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allstaryvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for your visit and for sharing your experiences regarding your stay at our hotel. Very sadly we have taken note, that we could not meet your expectations and you were rightly annoyed due to unfortunate circumstances and shortcomings.

In fact, there was a concert held on the 28th December in our event area on the ground floor in which it came to an unusal noise pollution, which we have not anticipated this way. Please be assured, that this was an exception and does not meet the everyday situation of our hotel.

Furthermore we regret, that your request for an iron and ironing board has not been fulfilled immediately. We have discussed this matter with our Executive Housekeeper to avoid recurrences in the future.

Unfortunately we can not undo what happened but we do hope, that you accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused and maybe give us a second chance by visiting us again someday.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was a very nice, clean, and perfectly located hotel for a long weekend in Berlin. The rooms were spacious, quiet, and very comfortable. The staff was really helpful and we appreciated the on sight parking, though at 25 euro a night it was a bit expensive. Not terrible for a city though. We only wished to have had better wifi internet options. The other reviews mentioning the old tv's were correct, but we weren't in Berlin to watch tv so it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear guests,

With much pleasure, we have taken note of your kind feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are very thankful, especially for your understanding regarding the known deficits, which were mentioned also in other reviews here a few times before. Due to contracts our hands are still tied in terms of TV’s and wifi, but we will improve these offers as soon as possible for us. Our parking costs are in the middle price level compared to other car parks in Berlin.

In the hope, that you will visit us again, whenever your next travels brings you to Berlin, we send our best regards,

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel was clean, convenient, and reasonably priced. As others have mentioned, the breakfast buffet was particularly extensive, and the rooms are a good size. I thought the wardrobe was particularly well-configured and offered plenty of hangers. The staff is very nice and helpful and there is an indoor poor & sauna available.

Be prepared that a "queen" or "king" bed is actually just 2 twins pushed together. This is fine for a single traveller but couples may find it uncomfortable. The TV is very old and small. The wifi is unworkable - you have to buy service from t-mobile and the connection drops constantly. If you just need to briefly check email you'll be ok, but trying to do anything for work was impossible.

If you like museums, there are plenty in the area. However, there isn't much in the way of nightlife. We mainly ventured to other parts of town for dinner or drinks.

Room Tip: Elevators are on one side of the building, so a room on the opposite side includes quite a long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and taking the time for an evaluation here. We have read your comments very interested and are pleased, that you were satisfied basically.

We can understand your criticisms regarding the wifi and TV offer and assure you, that these points belong to our priorities. As mentioned here before, we are still under contract at the moment, but we hope to be able soon, to offer contemporary solutions.

Our beds are in fact mostly 2 twins, but we also have rooms with king size mattrasses. Please ask for it at an eventual next reservation.

If you prefer a more lively area for your next time in Berlin, we like to recommend our sister hotel Maritim proArte at Friedrichstraße, near the Brandenburg gate, with many shops, restaurants, theatres etc. in direct neighbourhood.

We hope, we can welcome you back as a guest occasionally in one of the Maritim Hotels in Berlin.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hotel foyer is absolutely wonderful and it doesn't stop there. The rooms were lovely and a very good size, the beds were comfortable and there was more than adequate storage.
A very short walk from the shopping area.
The breakfast was unbelievable - what a choice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for this fabulous feedback and are very delighted, that you have enjoyed your time in our hotel. In the hope, you will visit us again in the future, we send kindest regards,

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Maritim proArte Hotel
Maritim proArte Hotel
#184 of 635 in Berlin
1,047 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
#54 of 635 in Berlin
931 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 635 in Berlin
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Charlottenburg
fjord hotel berlin
fjord hotel berlin
#86 of 635 in Berlin
478 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 635 in Berlin
3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Berlin

Address: Stauffenbergstr. 26, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Berlin
#37 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#63 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#67 Family Hotel in Berlin
#82 Business Hotel in Berlin
#88 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $100 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maritim Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel Berlin is located in the heart of Germany's capital, between Ku'Damm and Brandenburg Gate. From here you can easily go for sightseeing or shopping. Many sights and shopping malls are within walking distance. The nearby Tiergarten offers best conditions for sportsmen. Whether for jogging, cycling or just walking - on approximately 2.1 hectares pure nature awaits you in the middle of the city. Only a few meters away is the Kulturforum with the world-famous Philharmonic Berlin, the New National Gallery, the Gemäldegalerie and the Kupferstichkabinett. Potsdamer Platz or about 8 minutes walk. Highlights include: Sony Center, Leogoland, Stage Musical Theater, Mall of Berlin, Potsdamer Platz Arcades, Espionage Museum, Museum of Film and Television, Martin Gropius Building and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maritim Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Maritim Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing