We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bike around Berlin & Home to Hotel Johann - Perfect Combination”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Johann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Johann
Ranked #37 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bike around Berlin & Home to Hotel Johann - Perfect Combination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

Hotel Johann is a carefully crafted hotel, cool and classic at the same time. High vaulted ceilings give an air of spaciousness to the public areas and bedrooms. Breakfast is a handsomely presented buffet, strong on cheeses and breads.
The owners and staff are proud of their place, always a good sign. Kreutzberg is not exactly Berlin Central but hire a bike from the hotel and you'll be wheeling along Unter der Linden is under 10 minutes. The close-by canal banks come alive in early evenings as locals sit out in the setting sun. Grab yourself a wheat beer with banana juice at the nearby beer garden and do likewise.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    122
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
152
63
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

The hotel is situated on a quiet residential street, that is a short walk from the U Bahn, the walk to Checkpoint Charlie is also not much further.

The rooms were minimalist, very clean and very contemporary looking. Breakfast was continental with plenty of choice with a good selection.

The staff were helpful and friendly, they assisted whenever we needed them, especially when we arrived late at night to check in.

Our room was next to the lift which we never heard at all. It was a refreshing change not have to listen to other guests moving around.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strider687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights. This is a great hotel, modern stylish décor, spacious & very comfortable rooms. Staff were extremely helpful. Breakfast was plentiful, lots of different kinds of bread, rolls, cheeses, salmon, meats and boiled eggs. Fruit loaf and chocolate, Muesli & Yogurt. It was very filling and served in a stylish big breakfast room.

Found the area the Hotel is situated in nice and quiet, we commented on how safe it felt to walk about even late at night. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful. 10 mins walk south of the hotel is a street full of restaurants and bars. And only a 10 mins bus ride from hotel north to the main tourist area.

Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Liked — Stylish Decor & friendly staff.
  • Disliked — 2 single duvets on a double bed.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharpstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton/West Hollywood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

This is a great value stylish hotel with a relaxed friendly atmosphere. Although it is situated in a somewhat residential area it is only a short walk to the nearby U-Bahn station or bus stop. Kreuzberg and Mitte are within easy reach. The staff here are very helpful with travel advice. We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning and as our room was not ready the lovely receptionist made both my wife and I cappuccinos and looked after our luggage.. We were offered access to the lounge with free internet and also invited to join breakfast. After a couple of hours exploring the surrounding area, we returned to check in to a fantastic room. Very clean with an extremely comfortable bed (strange, I never thought I liked those foam mattresses..) and nice minimalistic modern furnishings. Beautiful brick arched ceilings and a heated floor in the bathroom. Very good & typically German breakfast spread, meat, cheese, cereals, breads, pickles, eggs etc.. The staff were always welcoming and friendly. After our departure, I realised I'd left something behind. The hotel promptly emailed me back and had it in the post to the next hotel on our European holiday free of charge. We stayed 2 nights as part of our honeymoon and will definitely be returning on our next visit to Berlin. Also, if you like sushi I definitely recommend that you go to Kuchi in nearby Mitte. You will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Breadbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2008

It's good to see a few minor complaints from some of the more recent reviewers. They are valid. Still and all, this hotel is a really nice place.

The buffet breakfast is fabulous but don't expect hot food (no omelettes, bacon or oatmeal) and no croissants but otherwise the buffet has a great variety of choices: hams, sausages, cheeses, yogurt, cold cereals, boiled eggs, fruit and vegetable salads, meat salads,lox and breads and rolls. The dining room is lovely with a nice garden to sit in or look out on.

The owners/staff are very friendly and helpful. They obviously enjoy running the hotel and are very efficient. The place has a nice, personal feel about it.

We stayed in room 404. This is one of the 2 rooms with a balcony. The balcony is large enough to sit on and there is a table and chairs.

The room was spacious and splotless and I loved the heated bathroom floors. The problem regarding the bathroom doors is something to consider depending on your habits. My husband likes to take late night showers/baths and the light coming through the doors can be a little annoying. Also, no tubs (and I do like to soak in a tub) but the shower was excellent with plenty of pressure and hot water. I can see what others mean about the bath facing the room and the possible lack of privacy but this didn't bother us (after more than 25 years of marriage, it better not).

The beds were not luxury beds and yet, they were very comfortable and we slept soundly. I liked the big square pillows. They were easy to plump up and shape into whatever was most comfortable. I asked for an extra blanket and pillow and that was quickly supplied.

The other issue regarding location is one that depends on your preferences. We like to walk and didn't therefore find the hotel too far from anything. I agree that it might make some people a little uneasy to walk back to the hotel at night. The street is safe but Berlin,( in general, not just on this street), is dimly lit at night (in fact, it seemed to me to be the most dimly lit of all the cities I've visited in Europe--perhaps a factor of the green status of this city)

  • Liked — friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms
  • Disliked — no bathtub
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RuthNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2008

The hotel is very clean, modern and stylish and staff were very friendly i.e. we were given a map of the city straight away (which was far better than those in the guide books) and pointed in the direction of some nice restaurants.

The hotel's appearance was very clean and the decor minimal but classy. Although our room was very nice it is not for the toilet shy i.e. the toilet was just short of open plan.

The location was not the most central but it's only a few U bahn stops from the city centre. My girlfriend did comment however she would not have liked to travel to and from the hotel in the evening had she been alone or in a group of women only.

Overall, we had a really enjoyable stay in a very nice hotel with more warmth than you would get in a chain and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — clean & stylish
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mccormm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2008

We stayed in the Johann for some days. To be honest, after reading the existing reviews, I was prepared for something more special than what we experienced.

Pros:
Modern and clean room, nice building, quiet area.
Floor-heated bathroom.
Friendly owners.

Cons:
Toilet glass door doesn't close firmly (it's a slide door that leaves 2-3cm gaps on each side, so the smell and ...noise may come out in the main room. Shower cable was broken, throwing water around.
There's not a personal safe in the room, only downstairs at the reception.
Breakfast was good but I think it's rather continental than real buffet breakfast (no toast bread, scrambled eggs, bacon, croissants).
The beds were definitely not so good as reviewed form others and the pillars were huge and square, but difficult to shape at a healthy sleeping position.

Finally, I think I expected a bit more for almost 100 euros/day.
I would prefer to pay a bit more and stay at a more central hotel next time.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldTracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten
Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten
#348 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Kreuzberg
Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
#216 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
#138 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Kreuzberg
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
#31 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#13 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Johann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johann

Property: Hotel Johann
Address: Johanniterstr. 8, 10961 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#40 Family Hotel in Berlin
#42 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#48 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Johann 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Johann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johann Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing