We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - but a bit far out”
Review of Hotel Johann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Johann
Ranked #33 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - but a bit far out”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very friendly hotel, nice rooms and good breakfast. Quiet and comfortable. But not very close to the centre of town and in a very residential area. Fairly expensive also, for what it is (we paid 00 Euro per night for a twin).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devlino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    130
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
159
67
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights recently. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly on arrival and during the stay. The rooms were great, modern minimalist type style which was fitting for the part of town the hotel is in. The breakfast was spot on also. The hotel is slightly out of the central Kreuzberg area so it can be a bit of a longer walk to some areas, albeit we were there in winter. Would absolutely recommend a stay here, especially for longer visits due to great value and large sized rooms. The larger rooms with wifi gives you the opportunity to relax and unwind after a long day sight seeing etc

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My son and I stayed for two weeks at the Johann Hotel in December 2009. We were very pleased not only by the hotel's location and wonderful breakfasts, but by the friendly and helpful staff. In fact, we were so impressed that when we returned to Berlin in December 2012, we once again stayed at the Johann Hotel. Our memories had not deceived us. The hotel and the staff were just great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Johann Hotel. The room was pretty small but it was clean and the bathroom was good. The staff were kind and very helpful. It's tucked away in a pretty quiet area of Berlin so we had to walk a fair bit to get around (we don't mind that though). Overall it was a good place and good value

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byrnerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Johann for a weekend in October. It's in a quiet area, though close to a U-bahn stop and some lovely restaurants (try Grimmstrasse around the corner). It's not been called the bargain travellers' choice for nothing. It was beautifully decorated, the breakfast was generous and in a nice sunny room, the beds were comfortable and the underfloor heating in the bathroom a real treat - all for only about €100 per night. It's not right in the centre, but only about 15 minutes by U-bahn to get to the middle of Berlin. Well worth it, we thought, for a quieter stay. Only downside, and a small one, was that our room was a bit too big and therefore became chilly at night when the heating was off. But when you're complaining that the hotel room is too big you really don't have much to worry about! HIghly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iluv2liv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent hotel, in a very easy going neighbourhood, with clean and quiet rooms and a wonderful bathroom. Excellent breakfast buffet!!! We also like the bar and the reception staff were very helpful. Definitely to be recommended for young couples...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doortje H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was again so surprised at how quiet this place was, we felt like the only guests there. We slept at night with the windows open to the courtyard. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of options. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Staff helped with everything, they rent out bicycles! Walking distance to lots of things! Our first trip to Berlin, couldn't have been better taken care of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
#199 of 634 in Berlin
145 reviews
Kreuzberg
Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten
Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten
#355 of 634 in Berlin
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
#155 of 634 in Berlin
257 reviews
Kreuzberg
Acama Kreuzberg Hotel+Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Johann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johann

Property: Hotel Johann
Address: Johanniterstr. 8, 10961 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#40 Family Hotel in Berlin
#42 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#48 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Johann 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Johann is situated in the lively Kreuzberg district of Berlin, just 700 m from Prinzenstraße Underground Station. It offers contemporary-style rooms and a daily breakfast buffet. Featuring light wooden furniture, the Hotel Johann’s rooms include a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi internet access and parquet floors. Guests also receive a free bottle of mineral water on arrival. The historic Jewish Museum and the Berlinische Galerie art museum are 1 km away from the Johann. Guests wishing to explore Berlin on two wheels can rent a bicycle at the 24-hour reception. The trendy bars and restaurants of Bergmannstraße can be reached in around 10 minutes on foot. Couples in particular like the location – they rated it 9 for a two-person trip. This property is also rated for the best value in Berlin! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Johann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johann Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing