We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Clean Hotel But FAR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alte Feuerwache
Ranked #521 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I stayed at this hotel over a new years. The hotel is clean, but pretty far from city center. Although it's not such an inconvenient location because Berlin has trams, buses, trains (really fast and efficient public transportation). The hotel didn't provide much other than a clean bed and some heat from the cold weather. It provided breakfast for an extra fee, but we opted to eat elsewhere. I don't believe they had wi-fi. In the area of the hotel, there are some shops, supermarkets, etc. I would probably recommend a friend or family member who was visiting Berlin to check out a hotel closer to city center. Although, if they were securing a fabulously low rate for this hotel I would recommend it.

Overall, it's clean and a place to sleep. What more do you need? If you were looking to shack up in your room all day and night, I supposed you wouldn't be in Berlin but in a resort!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alte Feuerwache
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 69 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2010

I booked my trip a month ago and today, I emailed the hotel, as usual, to get the directions from the airport to hotel and for surprise, they are fully booked and transfered me to another hotel, where I should have a double room. I called the new hotel and instead of a double room, I have a single room. I am not very happy with that and for sure I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmrigueiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tal_shogol, Manager at Hotel Alte Feuerwache, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

I am really sorry for the inconvenience and I can understand your anger (I have also had to move hotels a few times in my life, due to similar circumstances). Unfortunately, a situation of overbooking can happen due to several reasons which cannot always be predicted by the hotels e.g. water damage in which a few rooms would than be blocked for use.

Furthermore, it is also not in the hotel's interest to become overbooked, since the hotel has then to carry extra costs, time waste and above all have unsatisfied guests.

I hope you will accept my apology.

I wish you all the best


Tal Shogol
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

At first instance, an acceptable hotel, in a not very busy part of the town.
Not very close to the centre.
Not very clean in the chambers, stayed for 5 nights

Unfortunately i got conned by the hotel staff, I paid in cash but due to "circumstances" they where not able to print a receipt.
Not to big of a problem you would think.
BUT,.....

4 weeks later my creditcard gets allso charged for the total amount , because supposedly i left without paying !!
Hotel management very uncooperative and unfriendly
Very bad experience.

In Berlin there are plenty hotels, cheaper, cleaner, and closer the the centre

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hardewerkerNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shogol, Empfangsleiter at Hotel Alte Feuerwache, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2010

with dismay that we read your opinion about our hotel. We are very sad that you have become so angry about our house. Please understand that we need to go at a financial loss caused to the bottom. The fact that these searches were unpleasant for you, we are very sorry. You´ve got your money back from us 100%, although the matter has not yet been fully clarified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

I spent 4 nights at the hotel and would certainly recommend it. The hotel isn't in a central location but with Berlin's excellent public transport it is easy to get to. Get Tram M5 from Alexanderplatz to Freienwalder Strasse (approximately a 20 minute journey) and then a 2 minute walk down the street and you wil be at the hotel. If you arrive at Berlin Schoenefeld airport, the airport express train is a 20 minute or so journey to Alexanderplatz.

Our double room, which was of a reasonable size,was clean and indeed was cleaned each day. It contained a desk and a TV but no mini bar. The ensuite was also of sufficient size and clean. It had a shower but no bath.

Our room faced out onto the main street and thus there was some street noise from cars and trams but nothing too excessive

Breakfast was in the form of a buffet with a selection of cereals, fruit, cold meat, cheese, yogurts, juice, bread and tea or coffee. Scrambled and boiled eggs were also available each day. There is a restaurant in the hotel but we didn't use it. The hotel has a bar which was reasonably priced compared to some places in Berlin.

The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We paid £48 per room per night including breakfast and this was very good value for Berlin. Obviously you have to pay for public transport between the hotel and the centre of the city. For this I would recommend a Berlin Welcome card which covers public transport. For a city the size of Berlin it is likely that you will need to make use of the public transport systems in order to see the sites. Thus we found the Berlin Card very useful and good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan_ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

Booked through europeandestinations.com. This was a very nice hotel with a good breakfast and clean rooms. It is right near a major street where you can reach the tram, but it is a 15-20 minute tram ride to the nearest metro, to then get to downtown Berlin. For those not wanting to stay in city center, this is a great alternative. It is in a nice quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JeffCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

This hotel is small, but very beautiufl. Rooms are a little small, but are quite clean and comfortable. Buffet breakfast is very good. In 2 minutes you are in the tram stop (every 10 minutes) and in 15 minutes you reach Alexanderplatz, where you can go walking to some attractions or take the subway (not more than 30 minutes) to others

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mafaldaMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We went for a very cheap break (flights only £40 return for 2) so was looking for a very cheap place to stay that wouldn't ruin our stay. This hotel did this and more. Only £26 per night for a double. Basic spec but very clean, and had TV, double glazed window with view of TV Tower, good heating, and very nice en suite. Didn't have breakfast, which was £8 extra, but ate at restaurant on last night and was much nicer than other local establishments. If you do stay here, don't eat nearby, eat at the hotel or go into town.

Hotel is quite far from town and aiport (Taxi from airport 33 euro) but is on main tram route, only about 15 min to town and quite regular, and runs up to 2am in week. If travelling cheap, get a 2 zone Berlin Welcome card (covers all travel and some museum discounts) get Airport Express train to Alexanderplatz, then get M5 tram from Alexanderplatz toward East Berlin and stop for hotel is FreienWalder Strasse.

Hotel is in quiet district, and according to map has park lakes very close (but didn't see). Staff helpfull. Reception manned until about 11pm but room key alows access.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank AlHodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Hotel B1
#426 of 635 in Berlin
95 reviews
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#374 of 635 in Berlin
300 reviews
Hotel Pankow
#491 of 635 in Berlin
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lichtenberg
Hotel-Pension Victoria
Hotel-Pension Victoria
#355 of 635 in Berlin
83 reviews
Park Hotel Blub Berlin
#340 of 635 in Berlin
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alte Feuerwache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Feuerwache

Address: Waldowstr. 1, 13053 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Lichtenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #521 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $54 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alte Feuerwache 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alte Feuerwache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alte Feuerwache Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing