We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXTREMELY IMPRESSIVE VICTORY COLUMN” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victory Column (Siegessaule)

Victory Column (Siegessaule)
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.62*
and up
Private Berlin City Highlights Tour by Night
Ranked #37 of 798 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The victory column was built in 1873 to celebrate Prussia's victory in the Franco-German War. It was moved to its present location in the Tiergarten in 1938. You can go to the top via 270 steps to see great views of Berlin.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
202 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“EXTREMELY IMPRESSIVE VICTORY COLUMN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

When you are in Berlin you seem to see this large attractive Victory Column from all over.

It's called Golden Lizzie because a Statue of Victoria is at the top done up in Gold. The figure alone is 24 feet high which shows you how impressive the column really is.

It weighs 35 tons.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,087
    1,029
    324
    24
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Worth every terrifying step. I'm not great with heights but my friend and I scurried up by the very narrow winding stair. Don't even look down climbing the steps. When we got to the very top despite our shaky knees it was absolutely stunning! What a view! we took video and lots of photos to prove we had been. A visit to the Victory Column is NOT to be missed on a trip to Berlin.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahEmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

I went up the tower with a couple of friends. We counted the steps, 281! The view is great up there, you will wonder how big the Tiergarten is. Don't try to cross the road around the tower, use one of the tunnels, if you like running you could maybe cross the road. On the first floor, you can already see a lot of Berlin but I recommend to take a look at the mosaics on the tower. Once you are up, enjoy Berlin from top! Don't forget to look up, the golden statue is imposing in the bright sun. There is not a lot of space, so with a group it might be narrow. If you have a photo camera, don't forget it! Entrance costs €2.5
Enjoy!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michiel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
214 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Must say after climbing the many steps to get up to the top was well worth it, the view of berlin was fantasti, it was also grsat to learn about the history of the victory Column as well will worth going to

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

It's really magnificient. Worth climbing 285 steps to the top where is excellent view all over Berlin. Also spend some time getting to know history of the Siegesssaule.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arbajram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victory Column (Siegessaule) also viewed

 

Been to Victory Column (Siegessaule)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing