We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family room for three, excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Ranked #124 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice family room for three, excellent value for money”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We travelled with our 1-year old daughter and enjoyed the spacious 30 sqm room that even had a partition cutain between the queen-size bed and the third bed, a full bed that could also be used as a sofa. The hotel was only recently built and therefore is very modern and tidy. The room layout is very well thought through (e.g. shower AND bath tub in the bathroom) and the room has a fridge, microwave, electric kettle to boil water. Breakfast is extra, but there is also an espresso machine and free muffins by the reception at breakfast time. The S-Bahn Station Anhalter Bahnhof is just across the street nad Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburger Tor or Checkpoint Charlie are within a ten-minute walking distance, making this hotel an ideal starting point for city excursions. Excellent room rates if you book online well in advance over the Accor website or other e-booking websites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    1,041
    293
    54
    22
See reviews for
1,035
396
86
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were quite satisfied with the hotel, its standards an cleanliness.

However, we desperately needed internet in our rooms, and the internet was available but extremely slow and inconsistent.

During our stay we seriously considered moving to another hotel because of this issue.

Regards,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank VINOD110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Suite Novotel worked perfect for our family of 4. We had a family room which had a double bed and 2 singles. One of the singles was a trundle bed that came out from under the double. This worked great for our 3 year old since it was close to the floor. The location is excellent. We were able to walk to Checkpoint Charlie and the Brandenburg gate. There's also plenty of public transportation in the area. We didn't eat at the hotel, but did buy a few drinks to take back to the room and the staff was very helpful.
If your kids get tired of siteseeing like ours did, go to the Lego Discovery Center at the Sony Center for a couple hours of fun! (maybe a 10 minute walk) We also had lunch and a movie there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JRae1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have been staying in a hotel room for 6 weeks as part of an art residency in the north of Germany. I decided to visit Berlin at the end of my trip and booked a room here being familiar with the company´s Sofitel brand. I wanted a simple suite with a small kitchen so that I could eat something besides restaurant food and have a little more than just one little room for a few days before heading on. But I get to the hotel and they tell me rather too cutely that they have good news and bad news for me. No, it´s all bad news. I don´t care where you put me, if I reserve a room, I want THAT Room. Traveling alone as a woman, I want to know when I get where I am going, I am where I told my husband I would be in case of something crazy. This is just a bad policy. I am hoping to be moved back to this hotel tomorrow, but I will never book another Accor hotel again. Perhaps I can update then as to the amenities and service, but at this point, it is colored by a very bad business policy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisetheartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Hotel has come to age and a renovation is hopefully in planning. The location "Potsdamer Platz" implies it is located at the Potsdamer Platz. Well, it is not. In Summer this may be a nice walk, on a cold winter day it is too far.....
The price is, as in Berlin not unusual, rather attractive. So be prepared to find lots of families, young people and even groups of children in the Hotel. At least on a weekend as we stayed there.
The shelves in the room, at least in the one we stayed, are now free of dust. However, one would expect to find them clean when entering the room. On the good side: Bathroom and toilet are perfect ! The room spacious and the bed of good quality and also this: Very clean ! If they manage to clean the shelves, they are up for a top rating ;-)
The restaurant in the next door "Ibis" impressed us: The design is nice and the service is very very friendly and made us visit it more than once. The people from Berlin are some of the most friendly and helpful persons !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

First off I have to say this hotel was not chosen by me, but my husband's company. The first impression was terrible, as I called in to extend our stay for another day beforehand, and not only this reservation wasn't done, there was also no apology or any kind of explanation for it, the staff member (a middle aged man) was quite brazen, but he told us that he'd be reserving the room for us right there. The rest of the staff, especially a younger male and a young female was friendly and helpful during our stay. Unfortunately when asked about the reservation which had been done at site 2 days before, it still wasn't showing up in the system, we're lucky it wasn't busy season, or we might have ended up on the street.

The rooms were moderately clean, the bed was small but comfortable, the pillows were awful. If you are used to a good pillow, bring your own. The whole decoration looked quite old fashioned and some parts of it showed a lot of wear, the rubber tabletop, a huge stain on the carpet (looked like vomit...) and the worst part was the odor that came from the sink in the bath/shower area, this was the unmistakable smell of something dead that filled the room every-time you turned on the tap. I mentioned it to the staff, but I doubt I was the first guest to notice it, it was quite strong. If it hadn't been for the stains and odor the room would have gotten a 4 star from me despite being old, it was quite cozy. For the prices they charge, they should be maintaining the rooms better, and sack the rude and downright incompetent staff-member. Conclusion, there are much better hotels at better prices.

Room Tip: If you like a nice clean room, don't bother with this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaCaesaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spacious and clean room. Great location in walking distance from Bundestag and Brandenburger Tor. Also just next to a S-station. Not very charming neighborhood but quiet and safe. Varied and fresh morning buffet with a good selection of bread, youghurt, juice and cheese.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Marie_boejstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#82 of 634 in Berlin
2,805 reviews
Kreuzberg
Ibis Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Charlottenburg
Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten
Kreuzberg
ibis budget Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz

Property: Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Address: Anhalter Strasse 2, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Berlin
#71 Family Hotel in Berlin
#113 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#119 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3-star Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz hotel, you can enjoy a relaxing stay in one of our spacious 30m² suites. Rooms feature a microwave, kettle and separate shower from the bathtub. Explore the city and its attractions and sights on foot or using the public transfer leaving from Potsdamer Platz or Anhalter Bahnhof. Enjoy a hearty breakfast buffet and round off your day with a drink at the hotel bar. Every Thursday, you can enjoy a free 10-minute massage at your Novotel hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Berlin Potsdamer Platz Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Suitehotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing