We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you like teens running around all night this is for you”
Review of A&O Berlin Mitte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
A&O Berlin Mitte
Ranked #262 of 350 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“if you like teens running around all night this is for you”
Reviewed March 22, 2010

The room was clean. The service was pretty good. The hostel had bikes you can rent for free, snacks, and a bar, BUT this hostel has TONS on teens on road trips with teachers or parents, and it stays fairly loud. We had a private room which helped with the noise at night but it was still pretty ridiculous having them running around.

Breakfast was good and the bikes were very helpful within the city. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjack0887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    169
    214
    116
    161
See reviews for
101
140
74
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Do NOT go there. Clean, new and reasonably priced, but that is where it ends. A very impersonal place designed for mass money making with an absence of style and service.

Really cramped rooms, although the bathroom facilities were all there. Horrible staff, never smile and are unhappy about helping with anything. They all seem depressed about their jobs and clearly don't care about any aspect of their work.

If I were stranded in Berlin and A&O was the only option I would NOT go there. A Horribly depressing Hotel/Hostel. NOT Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MelbTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Turku, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Clean and nice, nothing special though. If you are looking for a basic clean hostel this is for you. Elevator doesn't go to the top floor, where we had our rooms. Also didn't like that they had separate breakfast for hostel-guests and hotel-guests. Underground station nearby.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minttuinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

The first impression is that the hostel has a bad location. However we look around 1 km and we found a Galerie Kaufhof, with his nice restaurant, and a lot of bars and restaurantes. I took only 15 minutes by subway to get the Bradenburg Tor.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We booked a twin room in internet for 2 nights at us$ 246 approx. Small room with 2 beds and a tiny tv hanging from the ceiling. Bathroom is ok & clean. However, plastic cup for brushing teeth is missing. In my opinion, price is not cheap for a place that offers nothing but to sleep. And night time is bit noisy. Lift operates with room card.

Minimal service and budget smiles. Night time staff is a lot more helpful than day time. The place is about 10 mins walk from Henrich H U bahn station (subway) , or 8 mins walk from Ostbahnhof (train).

When I checked in , there was a South American guy who told reception he lost his stuff (from his gesture). Reception told him to come back after 6pm and there would be spanish speaking staff. He looked helplessly at me .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2009

This hostel has a great location near bus and train lines and is in close proximity to shopping and the zoo. Tours begin nearby, so that adds to the convenience. It is, however, a very noisy place. It is located along a very busy street, so you are subjected all evening to the street noise. When we were there, we also had to endure 18 year olds running up and down the halls, talking loudly. Since this is a youth hostel, this can be expected, but it went on until after 2am. So, you can't escape the noise inside or outside the hostel. The beds were very hard and difficult to sleep on. The hostel provides breakfast, but it is not cheaper than getting your grub somewhere else, so I don't recommend it. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a cheap way to see Berlin, but I wouldn't recommend it if you want a quiet place to crash after a long day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vonwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Good hostel with great things to do, great location and clean too. Unfortunatly i had my phone stolen from my bag in the hostel room, but no-one in the hostel would help or even cared about it. I understand its no-ones fault but the thief, but a bit of help would have been nice.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisaTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
#87 of 634 in Berlin
595 reviews
Friedrichshain
Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof
Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof
#172 of 634 in Berlin
926 reviews
Moabit
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
#62 of 350 in Berlin
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
A&O Berlin Friedrichshain
A&O Berlin Friedrichshain
#239 of 350 in Berlin
269 reviews
Lichtenberg
A&O Berlin Kolumbus
A&O Berlin Kolumbus
#254 of 350 in Berlin
190 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Berlin Mitte

Property: A&O Berlin Mitte
Address: Koepenicker Str. 127-129, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 350 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Berlin Mitte 2*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O Berlin Mitte is the largest of our houses in Berlin with modern rooms in various categories. The A&O Berlin Mitte is located in the Berlin district of the same name and is just two underground stations from the Alexanderplatz station and 10 minutes by foot from the Ostbahnhof station. With its central location the hostel is easy to reach by car, train or public transport and is the ideal starting point for excursions into the metropolis Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your A&O Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And o Hostel & Hotel Mitte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing