We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy, cheap, clean, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of A&O Berlin Mitte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A&O Berlin Mitte
Ranked #261 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Sundbyberg, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Noisy, cheap, clean, good location”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Cheap and central accomodation in what looks like a former hospital. Thoroughly renovated though. The neighborhood is a mix of new office complexes, nicely renovated old buildings and complete ruins. Can seem a bit rough. Grafitti, squatters and some rough looking people in the vicinity.

Lots of groups of young people at the hostel, who might be a bit disturbing, but not too bad. Must be heaven if you are 15-25 years old.

Clean and spacious rooms. Breakfast a bit boring. Friendly staff. Service minded.

There is a nice courtyard where you can get a beer and a snack.

Good value!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krister B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    164
    206
    108
    154
See reviews for
95
133
73
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is the second time I stay at an A&O and I have to be honest, I don know why I did it!
A&O really buys into the "less is more" phylosophie, so you'll have the absolute minimum for your money. Particularly bad are the beds and the lockers (too small, do not fit a travelers backpack).

There are so many nice Hostels in Berlin and in any other european city... I stayed in one that had a sauna and swimming pool! Not to mention a kitchen, or at least a microwave... (basic stuff).

I think it's safe to stay I'll never stay at an A&O again, unless it is the ONLY option available!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ended up staying here after our previous hostel had overbooked. The hostel rooms have everything you need with twin private bathroom. The bathroom is so small you can hardly move but generally a good stay for the 1 night that we had there. Reception are friendly and helpful and to central mitte by foot took around 15 minutes. Most people staying seemed to be student groups which is good value for them on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcuk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was staying in double room with my friend, here are positive and negative sides of our stay there.

Positive:
- cheap;
- not far from city centre, to get there you can take a taxi too, will cost around 7 euro.
- clean beddings.
- breakfast is ok for 2 stars, had worse in 3 stars. Dinner is cheap to order.
- provide shampoo, gel for shower, hairdryer, towels.
- "cleaning every day" - removed garbage, change of towels.
- enough places around to eat and bars to spend time in.
- washing mashine room;
- ATM and post box right at the entrance.

Negative:
- rooms are extremly small;
- bathroom is very small too;
- ventilation didn't work properly, had to close and open window all the time.
- wals are not clean and hairs of previous guests still could be found in the shower.
- thin walls.

Neutral:
- was trying to find computer with SD-card port, but their computers don't have it.

Funny:
- close the curtain, as there are a lot of joung boys in special age watching the windows of the neighbors in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaChiChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed with a school group of 14 year olds. And I'll clarify we are a couple in our early 40s used to much nicer accommodations. The room was okay - fine if you're just looking for a place to sleep. It was very clean. But the bathroom was incredibly small. The bed was hard and the pillow had to be folded over. I slept VERY well but I guess that's a personal thing. The quilt seemed very light. Our room was stuffy but very noisy with the window open. The biggest problem isn't the hotel itself but with the LARGE number of groups who stay here - many of whom are not the best behaved. It is VERY noisy - and it doesn't get much quieter at night. Meal times were not a pleasant experience. The room where you get your food is small and crowded with kids. Sometimes I got a vegetarian option, sometimes not. And where you eat is even more crowded and noisy. I can definitely say we will NOT return here. While the hotel might be okay for school groups, I would not feel at all comfortable staying here as a couple or as a family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libbywithnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here in April on a university trip from the UK.

Nice place, clean and centralised for Berlin travel and sites.

Staff were friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable

I will be back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Shared with a 4 friends - and still had 3 beds spare in the room - those extra pillows were much valued and needed. Had to put the bedding on the bed - the usual with hostels but it was cheap and central and did what it said on the tin.
A bit noisy occasionally. Lift in there - it's slow and you might have to wait but it's defiantly appreciated. Breakfast wasn't anything to shout about.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 218KathrynD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Lichtenberg
A&O Berlin Kolumbus
A&O Berlin Kolumbus
#564 of 634 in Berlin
185 reviews
Kreuzberg
No photo provided
Friedrichshain
Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof
Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof
#171 of 634 in Berlin
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
#87 of 634 in Berlin
537 reviews
Mitte
NH Berlin Kreuzberg
NH Berlin Kreuzberg
#189 of 634 in Berlin
311 reviews
Moabit
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
#64 of 344 in Berlin
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Berlin Mitte

Property: A&O Berlin Mitte
Address: Koepenicker Strasse 127-129, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Berlin Mitte 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your A&O Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And o Hostel & Hotel Mitte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing