We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Delightful Episode” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CORDOBAR deutsch-osterreichische Weinbar

CORDOBAR deutsch-osterreichische Weinbar
Ranked #657 of 7,999 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar, German, Austrian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mitte
Description: Austrian-German wine bar, featuring amazing wines from both countries as well as a phonebook sized rarities list. Excellent food to boot.
Afton, VA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delightful Episode”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Were staying nearby and decided to go after reading the review. We were not disappointed, despite the fact that the food menu is (previously unknown to me) tapas. Despite the fact that I am no great fan of tapas, I was absolutely impressed. Food is outstanding. Especially try the cod. Totally unique and to die for. We had 2 "Cold Snacks" and 4 "Hot Snacks," all of which qualify as fine dining. Wine selection is apparently extensive. We shared a bottle of a relatively cheap German red. Delightful. If you are anywhere near the neighborhood, go visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RSDCArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    38
    9
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“What a discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Escobar was a very nice discovery for us in Berlin. We had a great dinner in this lovely place. The staff is very knowledgeable about the wines and the selection is presented in lovely art book. The food is excellent and we will definitely come back on our next visit to Berlin!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keesvanweijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Very nice food, great bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great food, fantastic wines and excellent service. Cool and low key, but w great and friendly vibe. It's located in a backstreet, but in a very busy and funky location in Berlin Mitte.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fred e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Careful with the chillis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Had a lovely dinner at this hidden gem of a winebar/restaurant while on business in Berlin. Delicious dishes with a mixture of interesting influences, and great wines served with knowledge and authority. Watch out for the chillis though, as they are the hottest I've ever had! Service was friendly, atmosphere warm, and the place itself had a nice relaxed atmosphere, with a few items of unusual music related memorabilia to add some subtle character, and a courtyard outside for al fresco dining or drinks. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“tastfull suprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a discovery, this winebar-restaurant! just recently opened its doors when I visited it, but it is ready for a delicious future!
Together with some collegues we first gathered in the small garden, and soon we enjoyed tastfull starters and splendid wines.
As the evening continued, we had a lovely dinner accompanied with approprate wines. The menu contained some very suprising combinations!
As time was passing by, we dropped plans to go anywhere else, and stayed there all evening, emptying some extra bottles (which you can also order for delivery at home later on).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CORDOBAR deutsch-osterreichische Weinbar also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to CORDOBAR deutsch-osterreichische Weinbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing