We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Juncker's Hotel Garni
Ranked #366 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
A TripAdvisor Member
“Clean and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2006

The neighbourhood did not look too promising on the bus from the Ostbahnhof. Definite reminders of less prosperous times when this was East Berlin. But the bus stops right in front of the hotel - easy for luggage.

The family who own this hotel also run it with pride. Not luxurious by any stretch, but extremely clean and in good repair, it makes for a very pleasant base from which to explore the large and rapidly changing city of Berlin. Everyone behind the desk was eager to help us even to doing an internet search and printing the results for us.

The foyer is small with a comfortable sitting area. There is tea and coffee available to guests 24/7. The breakfast rooms are cozy and attractive. The waitress searving breakfast was efficient and friendly. Beverages and muesli were self-seve; delicious bread and rolls with cheese and meats, a soft boiled egg if you wanted, were served to your table. Much nicer than many more luxurious places we've stayed at and all inclusive.

We saw two rooms. They all have single beds. In some, like the first one the beds are fixed so if if you want a double with the beds together, specifically ask at the time of reservation. Despite the presence of a hostel and several clubs adjacent to our hotel it was very quiet at night. (There are a lot of drinking establishments in Berlin but only a few are really busy at any given time, it seems). There was lots of hot water and an excellent shower. If the owners upgrade only the ubiquitous indoor/outdoor carpet in this hotel they could probably charge 50% more.

Berlin is fascinating. Many of the neighbourhoods which were in the east zone are reinventing themselves and undergoing rapid renovation. The neighbourhood around this hotel had some seedy looking spots with some unsavoury looking characters but there were mostly normal working people and recent immigrants. Check out the weekly outdoor markets - great food and good to meet people. Everyone seems to speak English! Berlin is fun, Berliners are tolerant and friendly; a bit different than the rest of Germany.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    50
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
23
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2005

Heard of Juncker's hotel by word of mouth, and having checked the reviews on trip advisor I booked immediately. I agree with all the other reviewers, it is an exceptional little hotel with a great location, and at a very reasonable price (65€ for a single room per night). All the staff are very friendly and helpful but the manager makes the hotel, he has tickets for the public transport system, no end of advice on how to get where you want to go, organises the place like an orchestra conductor and he even advises on the weather. Add to this the really generous breakfasts and overall you will do hard to beat this great little Berlin hotel.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DndG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2005

I spent a long weekend here, in a single room. The charge for three nights' B and B was €154. My room was pleasant, though it had a blind and no curtains, and was too bright in the mornings (I don't know if this is the case for all rooms). The hotel is very quiet, in Friedrichshain, part of the former East Berlin, where traffic is light. It has good transport links - close to tram, S- and U-Bahn, long-distance rail and bus. The service is impeccable, the place shines and the breakfast is wonderful. The proprietor speaks good English and is extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

Helpful?
5 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2005

We stayed in the hotel for five nights in February 2005. The location is perfect and the staff are exceptional. When we arrived the weather was very severe and we were drenched - their priority was to get us into a warm, comfortable room - "check in later" we were told. The room was spotless and warm, tea and coffee are available throughout the day, and the staff were extremely helpful when answering our questions on the locality. The breakfast is substantial and the service efficient. I could not fault this hotel, they work hard to ensure their guests are comfortable, and they succeed. On this trip we stayed in three hotels in three different cities, Junckers was by far the best.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seandubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2004

This hotel is not only well located and greatly priced. I've stayed in a triple room and it was not only spacious, as it was also very clean and smartly furnished. The owner does speak EXCELLENT english, and is extremely helpful in providing maps and tips for moving around Berlin. The hotel is situated in Grünberger Straße (in Friedrichshain district), just 50m away from the S-Bahn (Street Tram) in Warschauer Straße, which connects you to the whole city transport network. It is a student area, filled with bakeries and cafes, and also some nice bars (check the Grünberger Straße bit AFTER the Warschauer Straße crossing). If you catch the S-Bahn in the 'Warschauer Straße Bahnhof (Station)' direction, you'll be 200m away from the artistic 'Berlin Wall' section in Mühlenstraße.
If you catch it in the other way, get out in the next stop and you have the Frankfurter Tor subway station and the splendorous Karl-Marx-Allee - 6 stops to Alexanderplatz.

I also recommend the café Deniz Imbiss in Warschauer Straße - great food at ridiculous low prices!

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2004

I've stayed at Juncker's Hotel twice now--in March 2004 and December 2004--and am writing this review even though it will let out the secret of this outstanding hotel. The proprietor is jovial and welcoming (I've spoken with him only in German, but I assume he also speaks English), and the ensuite rooms, though on the small side, are bright, smartly furnished, comfortable, and immaculate. At an even lower cost are four "pension" rooms--two singles, a double, and a triple--that are just about as nice and share a pair of spotless showers and toilets. (In 2004 the single pension room, which I found very pleasant last March, is going for just 24 Euros!) The hotel's breaksfast room is cheery, but I haven't taken breakfast there because the neighborhood is full of bakeries that serve juice, coffee, and an array of German rolls and pastries. Finally, the location is outstanding: just a block from the Frankfurter Tor U-Bahn stop, which is just six quick stops from Alexanderplatz. You can get from Tegel Airport to the hotel--by the 128 bus to the Osloer Strasse U-Bahn stop, from there to Alexanderplatz, and then to the hotel--in under an hour. You simply won't find a nicer small hotel in Berlin at this price!

Helpful?
3 Thank JerryinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2004

Found the hotel advertised on the web and it sounded ok. It's just off the direct S-bahn route into the city centre from Schoenfeld airport, and is about 5 minutes walk from Warschaur St. station, but a tram or bus will take you almost to the door.
Although an oldish building the interior is in excellent condition. The rooms are very well equiped and imaculate. The breakfasts are first class and the service is great.
The staff were very helpful and provided maps and good advice on getting around the city. They also sold tickets that covered all the city transport system.
After the first day I began to think I had got the room rates wrong as they seemed too low for what was provided, but the charges were as advertised when I got the bill.
A gem of a hotel.

Helpful?
5 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Hotel 26
Hotel 26
#328 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Friedrichshain
nu hotel berlin
nu hotel berlin
#329 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Friedrichshain
Hotel Comenius
Hotel Comenius
#321 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
#258 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Friedrichshain
Hotel & Hostel Friedrichshain
Friedrichshain
Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juncker's Hotel Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juncker's Hotel Garni

Property: Juncker's Hotel Garni
Address: Grunberger Strasse 21, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Juncker's Hotel Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little hotel in Berlin Friedrichshain, closed to east side gallery and O2-Arena. We have 17 double rooms and 15 single rooms as well as 6 apartments. Next underground station: "Frankfurter Tor", S-Bahn stations "Warschauer Str." or "Ostbahnhof" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Juncker's Hotel Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junckers Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing