We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lucky us” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shiso Burger

Shiso Burger
Ranked #70 of 8,231 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mitte
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“lucky us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had originally wanted to eat at Keyser Soze's (which we like, by the way), but they were fully booked, so we came across Shiso Burger. They too were busting at the seams, but the food smelled so good from the outside, we just joined the others who were patiently waiting to be served. Please believe me when I type that it was worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    199
    54
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Taste”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Finally there is a restaurant to realise that burgers are not all about quantity but about quality! Thanks for the great Cheeseburger that I had last night. The Twisted Potatoes are incredible. Must have!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was easely the best burger I had in a long time.
I eat non fast-food burgers a lot, and this one was outstanding.
Run by Vietnamese, they offer burgers with an asian twist. Ofcourse a veggie and a tuna burger were also on the menu. I ordered a chili lime burger with fresh cilantro. Asked how I like it cooked, bloody was the answer. The meat was very good.
A big plus were the sweet potato fries! A bit crunchier would have been nice, but thats the difficult thing about sweet potatos.
Seating was simple on pick-nick tables. They also have a small sitting area with lounge chairs.
The open kitchen offers you a glance at the work done on your food. I always appreciate that.
The Burger, fries and a beer set me back about 14 euros. Very resonable in my opinion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc-yann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
237 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Gourmet burgers in the Gallery district”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We tried this place out on a Monday night, and it was pretty busy. We managed to get a seat in the place, and turn over seems to be pretty high so you wouldn't really need to wait too long to get a place to sit. The burger was pretty good, it's more a smaller gourmet burger then a big artery clogging type that you would find at some of the other burger locations in Berlin. Everything was fresh and looked quite good. The bun was soft which can be a bit difficult if it starts to soak up all the liquids at the bottom of the wrapper. They server all the dishes in the traditional dim sum bamboo dishes. The fries were quite nice and a break from all the generic frozen deep fried varieties. They do pay attention to details here. As noted elsewhere the burgers are a bit small, but a good size, some people get two burgers and a side or vice versa. I left feeling full but not stuffed which was nice on just one chili lime burger. side of fries and a beer.

We did notice the lighting was somewhat harsh, which leads to people not sitting around so much and feel the need to leave after eating (which is both good and bad). We didn't sit and have another round of beers there but opted to go to another location for some drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great burgers, great style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Tried 3 of their burgers - lemon-chili, toad and bulgagi and all were great. My gf also tried the veggie and enjoyed it very much. The dishes might be a bit small, but reasonably priced and when accompanied by one of the best home fries dishes I ever had, it did the job. The atmosphere and concept bring in a twist that transform this place from a simple burger joint to a stylish street food place. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Chen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Shiso Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing