We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good potential, but needs a bit of work . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt
Ranked #31 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good potential, but needs a bit of work . . .”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a brand-new hotel -- just opened in May 2014. So the rooms are new, clean and modern. Common areas are also stylish. The location is good -- right next to the Hauptbahnhof, walking distance to many highlights including the Reichstag, Brandenburg Tor and Potsdamer Platz. However, the building itself is in the middle of a construction zone. The view from our room was onto the skeleton of a building under construction. We had a suite, so the room was very large and spacious. However, there were a couple key "misses" for a property aspiring to 5-star status. First, they advertise the rooms as including high speed internet. Only partially true. You get free high speed internet for one device only -- obviously a problem if you are traveling with one or more other people. Free internet for second devices is limited to excruciatingly low-speed (unusable, from my perspective). If you want high speed for a second device, there's an additional charge. Second, the room had A/C, but there were no vents in the sleeping area. So the living area was quite comfortable, but the sleeping area uncomfortably warm -- even with the A/C turned on high.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torsten S, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt, responded to this review, December 30, 2014
Dear "Patrick M",

Thank you very much for being our guest.

We really appreciate your feedback concerning the internet as well as th a/c. There is still room to grow and we accept the challenge. Only with the help of our guests we are able to push forward.

Hopefully, we will get the chance to welcome you once again.

Kind regards,

Torsten K. Schulze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,091
    1,011
    157
    38
    17
See reviews for
417
1,429
148
1,006
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I've been two night,

Pros:
- like designe although unusual for this brand, but bravo for modern touch!
- very nice staff at the reception, one receptionist from Steigenberger Los Angeles Platz very professional
- nice rest area with small gym
- efficient housekeeping

Cons:
- breakfast team needs urgent training, they never clean tables, coffee service was too long
- f&b offer rather not interesting

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank z44p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torsten S, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt, responded to this review, December 30, 2014
Dear "z44p",

Thanks a lot for choosing the Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt.

We are glad that we have inspired you with our new look and feel. Your feedback concerning our breakfast service as well as the f&b offer is highly appreciated. There have been trainings to keep up with the high quality standards. Furthermore, we have a new menu from Tuesday to Saturday evening introducing the avant-garde cuisine.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Best regards,

Torsten K. Schulze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alingsås, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel 3 nights, and we loved everything about it. Incredible staff; really friendly and helpful. A golden star to the lovely man at the bar who made us feel very welcome.
The hotel is new, modern and felt luxurious. Everything in our room worked as it should. Great bathroom with separated toilet and shower, free coffee with a nespresso-machine and an amazing bed. Very quiet. We used the gym every day and the lady that worked there gave us the best service.

The location is fantastic! Just take a few steps and you find yourself at the main station in Berlin, where you can take a train anywhere you want. 25 minutes by bus to the airport Tegel.
We loved our stay at Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt and are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torsten S, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt, responded to this review, December 31, 2014
Dear "Jessie O",

Thank you very much for your visit.

We appreciate your kind review. It is a great pleasure to host guests like you. Your compliments about our staff have been forwarded.

Hopefully, we will meet again when you return to Berlin.

Warm regards,

Torsten K. Schulze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

New Hotel, quite cold atmosphere, nice room but nothing worked properly: the TV, the telephone, the AC or the shower, all had problems and stopped working at one point or the other. And I stayed only 2 nights.
Nice service at the restaurant but mediocre food at extravagant prices .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torsten S, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt, responded to this review, December 30, 2014
Dear "Madonette",

Thank you very much for being our guest.

We are sorry that you did not get the chance to experience our high level of quality. During the first months we had to cope with some major challenges regarding the technical facilities. We are happy that we could solve them step by step.

That is why, we seriously hope that you will visit us a second time to receive a better impression.

We wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Torsten K. Schulze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights and have to say this is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The hotel is amazing, new, modern and very luxurious throughout.

The room I stayed in (241) was great, all the bells and whistles including a 42" LED TV, Nespresso machine and an incredible waterfall-style walk in shower. Bed was very comfortable and the nightly turn-down service was a nice touch. Free wifi in the hotel (although restricted to 256Kbps), for 8 Euro a day you get 2Mbps which is slightly better, but still pretty slow.

No problems with the staff, they were all very attentive and friendly, and no queues to check in/out.

Outside the hotel, it is just a few minutes walk to the central station, with a 30 minute direct train to Schonefeld airport, or a 25 minute direct bus to Tegel.

There are lots of shops and restaurants in the station but not really anywhere local to eat otherwise - we took a lovely walk along the river to some bars and restaurants further along.

For the price paid, this hotel is cheaper than the usual 4 star I stay in in Mitte, and is definitely the better of the two, fully deserving of its 5 star rating. Looking forward to my next visit later in the month!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EZYFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torsten S, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt, responded to this review, December 31, 2014
Dear "EZYFlyer",

Thank you very much for being our guest.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay to the fullest.

Hopefully, your second visit will not be the last one.

Kind regards,

Torsten K. Schulze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel last week a couple of nights and I sure had a great stay. The hotel is situated just a few steps from the main central station in a brand new building. From both the interior and exterior has the hotel a very modern look. At the ground floor just next to the lobby there was a cosy bar with friendly staff. My room had a comfortable bed and everything I needed including a nespresso machine. From the room I could see the central station but I didnt got disturbed of any noice. I had breakfast included in my room price and there is a big buffet to choose from. The hotel has maybe quite high room prices but I think I got good value for the money. I will return to this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stockholm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torsten S, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Dear "stockholm77",

Thank you very much for being our guest.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Best regards,

Torsten K. Schulze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed here for two nights as part of a conference that was being held at the hotel.

It is located right by the main station. I took a taxi here from Schoenfeld airport and this was €45 each way.

The reception staff were always fully occupied and there was a manned desk, but they were very polite.

I ate in the restaurant one night and the food was ok. Breakfast was nice and a large choice, however I am not convinced it was worht €25.

The hotel is quite stark in its decor. The hotel rooms are nicely decorated. The bathroom is modern and spacious. However I had booked a twin room, as a family member was going to join me, thankfully they did not as there is a glass panel that allows you to view into the bathroom.

The bed was very comfortable, however the downfall was the room was so warm. The lowest air conditioning setting offered no respite and I couldn't leave the window open due to noise from the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torsten S, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sophonthemove,

Thank you for having taken the time to review our Hotel.

As we are located next to the main station, we recommend taking the direct train (RB or S-train) from Schoenefeld Airport to the City Center. It takes about 30 minutes at costs below EUR 4 per person.

The interior design by Markus Diedenhofen an award winning architect of our Hotel combines new fashion elements with timeless and clear structures, inspired by Berlin architecture. As passionate hosts it is our aim that every single Guest feels welcome. Our restaurant and bar “inmitten” next to the lobby, builds a good contrast to the entrance area and lobby as it is cozy and warm.

Due to the constructive feedback of our guests we have upgraded our choice of breakfast, increased the staffing and solved the last challenges with our new Air Condition system.

Dear Sophonthemove, we truly appreciate your comments and hopefully will get the chance to welcome you back to the “Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt” in a not too far future. Till then we remain at your service.

Best Regards,

Torsten K Schulze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
2,200 reviews
Charlottenburg
Steigenberger Hotel Berlin
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt
Address: Ella-Trebe-Str. 5, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Federal Chancellery, the Reichstag building and the main station are just a few minutes away from the Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt - it is impossible to find a more central and convenient accommodation in Berlin. Coffe and tea making facilities, free internetconnection, inroom safety deposit boxes, and minibar are only a few amenities awaiting your arrival at your room or suite. The Hotellobby is the perfect place to assemble and start your excursions with its spacious lounge below the gallery. The hotel bar is a perfect location for completing the day's enjoyment. The Day Spa with astonishing views from the top floor of the Hotel offers sauna, steam bath, a private Day Spa, massage, beauty treatments and access to a modern and fully equipped gym. Running tracks close by are perfectly situated for jogging or walking. The conference section covers an area of more than 2,000 m² on two floors. The main hall with its two foyers - perfect for presentations and exhibitions capable to host up to 400 participants is based on the ground floor. While the conference area with its 10 further meeting rooms is to be found directly above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing