We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee, food & service”

Westberlin bar&shop
Ranked #23 of 244 Coffee & Tea in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great coffee, food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Had a great flat white coffee, sandwich and slice of carrot cake here. Very surprising to find such a gem so close to major tourist points but as soon as we saw the cafe we knew it had all the signs of being a quality cafe, and we were proven right! Service was helpful and quick. We sat outside in a nice quiet courtyard which capped off a great lunch. Highly recommended if you love good coffee and quality food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    34
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great coffee right by Checkpoint Charlie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

In the myriad of overly priced cafes void of anything with any real flavour (and this includes the Starbucks) that surround Checkpoint Charlie is this little heaven for any caffeine lovers. Great modern atmosphere, with a relatively small but well chosen selction of sandwiches and a good variety of cakes, all topped off with easily the best coffee (opted for a flat white. They have the usual standard selection and even aeropress!) I've had in Berlin. I would definetly recommend a visit to anyone in the near by area who needs a pick-me-up inbetween seeing the local sights

Helpful?
2 Thank Declan R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband read about this place whilst planning our trip to berlin. He is an avid coffee drinker and loved the coffee here. I am not (!) but they had a great selection of teas so I was happy too. We ate breakfast there as well. You must try the rice pudding with blueberries. Superb! Really helpful staff. Good vibe. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenB6701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cool place, staff confused”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

As part of our tour to visit cafe's in Berlin 2 adults + 1 child we thought the this place looked cool with a few guys working on their macs in a corner and some ambient music on the stereo. However when it comes to service we were let down pretty awesomely. Perhaps a one off, but anyway. We ordered 2 hot beverages and had to wait for the 10 people behind us to get their drinks before we finally got 2 drinks of which 1 we didnt order. We settled for this as we didnt want to wait any more. The cake assortment was pretty slim, but tasted nice enough and looked as if it had been sourced with quality in mind. Located pretty close to Checkpoint Charlie, so if you are in the area well worth a visit, just keep in mind that you may have to wait a bit for your drink.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank molecule672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good sandwich and great coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Grabbed a quick bite to eat whilst waiting to check in to the hotel across the street. Nice tasty sandwich and a good espresso in this relaxed atmosphere. Lots of books and magazines to peruse whilst whiling away a bit of time. Also french doors open out onto a green space which could be a great space to relax when its a little bit warmer!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westberlin bar&shop also viewed

 

Been to Westberlin bar&shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing