We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #109 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at InterCity hotel for our last night in the city. This hotel is very close to the main train station and very convenient . Bus TXL takes you to Tegel airport.

We were able to get a early check-in which is good. The room size is good 2 people in a room does not feel tight. Bed is comfortable. Flat screen TV. Bathroom is clean, functional, and good lighting. I like the fact it has counter space in the bathroom. Good water pressure and nice hot water. It also has tissue paper! I know, this is minor, but a lot of hotel that we stayed, only provides toilet paper and no tissue paper. Free Wi-Fi and we were able to use the internet to check emails without problems. Also, upon check in, they gave us 2 bus pass/card which allows unlimited public transportation.

The only complaint that I have is there is a fee to use computer at the lobby. We want to print our boarding pass, but since there is a fee to use computer in the lobby, we decided not to bother with it.

All in all, I enjoyed our short stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Air747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
There are newer reviews for IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

Don't stay here if you like Ac and wifi. The wifi is so slow it takes 45 min to watch a standard definition YouTube video. Think they throttle the website. The AC is throttle as well. If it's 20 degrees outside you get no AC inside despite what the temperature inside might br. My first though was to open the window, but it doesn't open wide enough for a breeze. So if you are like me and like it slightly colder than some people you won't like it here. Also you probably don't want to leave window open over night anyway due to the noise of the train station next door. Tried to see if staff could help us out, but they looked at us like we were stupid for not understanding how the AC works. Tried 3 different employees so it wasn't just one guy. We were also super polite. We're Canadian afterall.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed in December 2013 while visiting the Christmas markets. Hotel is opened in October 2013, few months before we arrived. We think it is a nice new hotel. You´ll get a free travel card to use during your stay which is very nice. Berlin main train station is next to the hotel so you can get easily where ever you wish and trains leave almost every 10 minute. Good currywurst place in the station and also many shops. Hotel staff were not that friendly but everything went good tough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _MiniMii_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The headline could mean that this hotel is only for transit as it is conveniently located relative to all communications, but I think it could just as well be convenient for travellers wanting to explore the city. However, the location more or less at the central train station in a rather sterile surrounding where other hotels and buildings are being constructed right now may not be so charming if one want to live in a more hospitable neighbourhood in Berlin. The regular checkpoints for a business hotel are all very good, easy and friendly check-in and -out, comfortable rooms (just adequate space), nice bathroom facilities, TV and minibar, free wifi (works well), good restaurant and bar etc. Breakfast is excellent and price not too steep. I got the impression that the hotel is a budget hotel in the Steigenberger chain, and if you want more luxury there is another Steigenberger hotel in front of the InterCity Hotel. My only little concern is that the (single) beds are a bit narrow,but that does not affect my total rating.

Room Tip: The corridors are long, so if you carry much luggage ask for a room not too far from the elevators.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Hauptbahnhof making it very convenient. Lots of shops and eateries at the station. It was easy to visit attractions in Berlin by taking the S/U-Bahns around from the Hauptbahnhof. The hotel also provides a free travelcard during your stay so all the rides in the S/U-Bahns and buses were free making it very worth it. The travelcard also allowed trips to zone C meaning that trips to Potsdam and buses/trams in Potsdam were covered as well. The rooms of the hotel were clean and comfortable. The size was reasonable. There was free wifi as well. This hotel is a good base for touring Berlin.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancelyaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel is very convenient for the Hauptbahnhof - the central station. You can get around easily from here. The hotel itself is rather basic with thin towels, soft beds and very soft pillows. In a twin room the 2 beds are very close together. The hotel very helpfully provides a free travel card for your time in Berlin which saves on the cost of public transport. The free wireless Internet at the hotel is extremely poor and the selection of English speaking TV channels is very limited. Overall a reasonable hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJABATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

First time in this hotel at a few minutes from central Berlin Station Hauptbahnhof. From airport Tegel take the bus TXL (ticket via ticket machine or via driver) direction Alexanderplatz. Bus stopsat Hauptbahnhof, then walk 200 meters to the west.
Large lobby, bar, fine breakfast, pleasant staff, free wifi and public transport through Berlin during your stay. Basic rooms, TV, basic restroom, but all fine and clean. recommended. Price performance ratio is OK.

Room Tip: Ask for smoke free, bed for two if you like.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
Hotel Ibis Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Moabit
Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof
Friedrichshain
IntercityHotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Address: Katharina-Paulus-Str. 5, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $95 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In October 2013, we have opened our biggest InterCityHotel right in the middle of the pulsating metropolis Berlin, set directly at the main station. Within spitting distance, you can find some excitement here in the beautiful city centre with its important sights like the Federal Chancellery, the Reichstag, the Brandenburg Gate, the shopping centre Friedrichstrasse or the legendary Ku'damm. From the centrally located InterCityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, you find the best connections to all forms of local public transport within walking distance. Therefore, you can reach all of the interesting parts and sights of the city in no time by using your FreeCityTicket, as a special service of the hotel for every guest, included in the price of the room. Regardless of whether you are in the city on business or for pleasure, you will immediately feel at home in one of our 412 delightfully furnished rooms with their modern colour concept. All the rooms are designed in warm brown and beige tones and topped off with stylish accents in terra cotta. Why not start the new day with a great range of delicious breakfast treats available from our sumptuous breakfast buffet. For the remaining meals you will certainly find something tasty in our restaurant or Bistro Lounge. It is our utmost pleasure to welcome all our guests in a warm and friendly manner, as with pleasure we strive to create a superb experience to all our clients visiting Berlin. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. (Parking fee from 01.01.2017: 25€) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing