We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little B&B tucked off a great Main Street” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linnen

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Linnen
Ranked #4 of 186 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little B&B tucked off a great Main Street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Linnen was a fantastic place to stay. Upon arrival we were offered another room than the one we booked due to another guest wanting to stay on. This was presented as a choice and not the only option and we were happy to oblige.
Even though the weather reached a cool -7 outdoors, Linnen was always warm and welcoming at the end of a days sightseeing. Tony was a really sweet host, happy to recommend local know leg and genuine interested in talking to you.
The hotel is very near subway/rail stations and there are great places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miche_Devey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
78
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the first floor three bedroom apartment for a city break in Berlin.

Location is great, apartment is quirky, spacious and will comfortably accommodate three couples (we were only two couples though...) - Great to chill out in the lounge after a day exploring Berlin.

The Cafe downstairs is great for Breakfast/Coffees.

Highly recommended at a very reasonable price.

PS - great little Italian restaurant about two shops down



Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rolf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Linnen is not a B&B since breakfast is extra at the separate, wonderful cafe downstairs. It's not a hotel since owners are only haphazardly present. Rooms are spare, basically a bed and a bathroom. Still, this quirky place works: neighborhood is a varied delight and near the U Bahn, cafe owners Nicoletta and Benedict couldn't be more hospitable (with good music some evenings), and the rooms' designer touches give a sense of playfulness. You'll be pretty much on your own as a guest but we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelguestNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We loved this place. Great for a couple escaping run-of-the-mill accommodation and a fantastic and somehow very German hotel. Unique, but unpretentious, fun but kinda hip too. And importantly not too wacky. Just a great little place run by lovely people. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Linnen hotel was awesome! We stayed in the Cuba apartment which is in the same building as the hotel, you just enter from a residential entrance. The apartment is just as amazing in real life as it looks in the photos.

You check in at the cafe and we were welcomed by the staff and introduced to Tony who checked us in. He is awesome! He had heaps of great advise and info, and was so relaxed and friendly, I felt like I had know him for years. He was one of the highlights of the stay, it was great chatting with him. If you need any info or suggestions, he is your man!!

The apartment is a really comfortable and stocked with most things that you might need. There is also the cafe downstairs which looked amazing. Unfortunately we didn't get to try it because we arrived late on Sunday afternoon and they were not open on Monday.

Over all it was an amazing introduction to Berlin. The area is beautiful, full of amazing restaurants and interesting streets. It is very close to a station and there are trams and buses right outside the door. I will defiantly be staying there next time I am in berlin. This time it will be a longer visit, I loved every minute.

Room Tip: The apartment is on the first level of the building, so if you have a lot of luggage you will have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thirtyfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Linnen after arriving from Croatia and the staff were very welcoming after our long trip, very helpful and friendly. We stayed in room 1 which a modern, minimal take on a four poster bed and the room was huge with a small balcony, a little corridor and a decent sized bathroom with 2 sinks. The room had a sort of restored vintage look that suited the hipster area, there was a strange feel to the room at night with the high ceilings and frosted glass doors but a good sleep non the less. The location couldn't be faulted but we didnt have chance to eat in the cafe.

The only negatives are really negative but a few odd jobs on locks and the lightig system wouldn't go a miss but at the same time they added to the restored element. All a great hotel and would definately reccomend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
248 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hazel rarely gets accommodation choices wrong. Even by her high standards she excelled last weekend. With 6 rooms and a 9/10 location their "more Home, less Hotel" strap-line could not be more relevant. Bodo and Antonio made our stay.
We arrived from Schonefeld close to midnight on Friday (tip: 6 of you in a taxi for €50 well worth it).
No problem. Bodo welcomed us like long lost friends.
Chemist? No problem. Metre perfect instructions.
Breakfast included? No - but the Woolworth sweet counter approach. Perfect. Rosemary smoked ham, a couple of cheeses and pumpkin seed rolls spot on - for me. Excellent coffee.
Rooms? large, spacious and as commented upon elsewhere - bathrooms of a quality us Brits would have to save up for, for a long time!
We were in room 1 - a fridge would have been nice. But a walk in shower to die for.
Rooms 2 and 3 (also on level one and occupied by Dangerous and Carell) both very different - but individually characterised, stunning en suites - and to note - very deep baths.
Want armchairs - room 3 ; 100 drawers for your bits and pieces? Book room 2.
Value. Excellent. But don't tell them!
Location? For us on a 3 day break - perfect (note - the flea market is nearer 500m than 50, but who cares!). The Overground-Underground U-Bahn stop of Eberswalder Strasse is 250m left out of the front door. Three stops Alexanderplatz and you are off.
The chaps have been operating "Linnen" for around a year. We love it.
Next time we return - is a no brainer. Same again please
Vielen, herzlichen Dank :)

Room Tip: its worth checking your room has a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MardleyMassif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#6 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#8 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Hommage a Magritte
Hommage a Magritte
#2 of 186 in Berlin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Charlottenburg
mittendrin
mittendrin
#1 of 186 in Berlin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnen

Property: Linnen
Address: Eberswalder Str. 35, 10437 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Linnen 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnen is a modern boutique-style "inn" with a lovely on-site café. In addition to 6 individually-styled rooms, we offer a separate three-room apartment in the same building. We also rent out three apartments in Mitte on a long term basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Linnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing