We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfaction questionnaire”
Review of CALMA Berlin Mitte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CALMA Berlin Mitte
Ranked #5 of 194 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

All the Front Ofiice staff halped us in many ways, giving us practical information about Berlin.

Apart from this, due to an awful "smell" problem, the receptionist dealt with it very quickly and offered us to change our room. He was so professional and kind that we only have our best wishes for him. Should all the hotels to have staff like him !!!!!

Many thanks also to the professional staff in the breakfast area, enthusiastic and replacing everything needed all the time.

Excellent and equilibrated and good value-for-money of breakfast.

Room Tip: Both rooms to the interior and exterior ( we were a family in two rooms) are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuelBarroso2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 396 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Calma Berlin Mitte, I felt that we got what we paid for. The room was modern and clean. You did not get any extras, but we didn't really expect that either when booking a 3 star hotel. It was close to transport and lots of restaurants. I thought the wifi charge was a tad steep, but I spent the money anyway because I needed to touch base with home. The main downside was all the street noise, I was up every night because of all the people on the street and a construction site nearby. Obviously that is out of the hotel's control, but I would have preferred a room on the non-street-side where my friend had a room with total silence. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Verkaufsleiter at CALMA Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review and your stay at our Calma Berlin Mitte. Unfortunately you are right that we do have some construction working so that we please make a not for your next booking that you prefer the courtyard side. As well the WIFI will bee free of charge soon this year in our lobby area. We are looking forward to see you soon again! Best regards, Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Calma Hotel is very central. The room is basic and small with no tea, coffee, shampoo or anything else bud your bed, TV and towels. I found some eyelashes on the sink... Wifi cost 5euro for 24h... I is basic, central and good for just sleeping.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I were staying here for a few days. If your not picky and just need essentials this place will do it but it was very hot the days we were there and sleep was almost impossible. There was no AC in our room and no fan or anything either. The ceiling of the room we stayed in as well as the room itself were large but the bathroom, particularly the shower, was small. The service was sometimes friendly sometimes weird. But it wasn't bad at all and I actually did enjoy my stay. It's around a lot of cool restaurants and is very fairly priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jfromthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Verkaufsleiter at CALMA Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comment.
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again next time.
kind regars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Calma for two nights and enjoyed. Staff is very helpful and friendly and the place is very clean. The only downside was the lack of AC. It was a hot week in Berlin so the rooms were hot aswell. But I would still like to stay there again. The location is excellent!

1  Thank Andepandeerus
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jennifer H, Verkaufsleiter at CALMA Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback!! Hopefully we will see you again in Berlin! All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Quiet and completely renovated hotel in a great location for exploring the city. It's not the place for those seeking individually designed rooms or a very personal boutique hotel experience. That said, the rooms are both stylish, large and clean and the staff is both friendly and helpful. Since the price is low I'd recommend one of the larger room sizes. Check out their facebook page and homepage for different types of discounts.
We never tried the breakfast (12,50 eur/p) since there were so many nice cafés in the area, but it looked quite good.
Overall the hotel is great value for money

Room Tip: We tried both the basic and the lifestyle plus rooms. The larger ones come with a sofa more space. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samson0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Brand new boutique hotel (only six months old), located in a centre location in quiet countryard. All known and must visit places are just 1 or 2 stations in the underground or you cant just do it by walk and enjoy the scenery. All around there are many great restaurants, pubs where locals used to hangout, great coffee shops and galleries, the famous Friedrichstraße ,Hackesche Höfe & Hackescher Markt.
It's very close to the river so it's very nice to walk there at night, enjoying the view and Berlin atmosphere.
The Stuff is very kind, helping and guiding. Always welcoming you with friendly faces.

Things to conceder -
1. Wi-Fi is not free, cost 10 Euro's for 3 days per device
2. Breakfast is a bit expensive - 12.5 Euro's per person
3. The regular rooms are a bit small - prefer to take room with a view to the country yard and not the street
4. The overall acoustics is average, sometime you can hear people walking in the corridor or the the main floor door closing since the walls are thins

But in-spite all the above I'd defiantly come back in my next visit to Berlin.

Room Tip: Prefer to take room with a view to the countryard and not the street. Even better to order the mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hagai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Verkaufsleiter at CALMA Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you very much for the stay in Berlin and for this review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Concerning your aspects we always need those so that we can improve our services. Thank you for giving those to us. Hopefully we will see you soon again! Kind regards from the team of the Calma Berlin Mitte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#38 of 634 in Berlin
737 reviews
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hommage a Magritte
Hommage a Magritte
#2 of 194 in Berlin
373 reviews
Charlottenburg
Goodman's Living
Goodman's Living
#6 of 194 in Berlin
265 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pension Peters
Pension Peters
#7 of 194 in Berlin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CALMA Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CALMA Berlin Mitte

Address: Linienstr. 140, 10115 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range: $58 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CALMA Berlin Mitte 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The CALMA Berlin Mitte is located in a very quiet side street in the courtyard in the heart of Berlin near Hauptbahnhof and the popular shopping street Friedrichstrasse. The 46 rooms in different categories are made for a relaxing time in an exciting city. The modern colors with warm wood, grey and white reflects the calmness and exceptional atmosphere of the house. Our lobby as well as the breakfast area was redesigned in July 2017 and invites you to relax with free WLAN and a coffee flat rate from 12.00 am until 07.00 pm.! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your CALMA Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing