We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cat's Pajamas
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$114
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$186
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$113
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
$114
$103
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$60
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$86
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$158
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$135
$131
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$98
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveler rating
289
104
20
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
104
20
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormfree lockersgreat kitchenprivate bathroomfree breakfastmixed dormsuper closemetro stationperson roomtoilet and showermain roadbars and restaurantsaround the cornerquiet at nightwould definitely stay here againclean roomsvisiting berlin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 418 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

What I loved about this place is the one thing that keeps me from booking normal hotels when travelling abroad- the social atmosphere. The main lobby was a great place to relax and meet other travelers. Had the rooms been a little more high end then I would have a hard time differentiating this from a normal hotel beyond it having dorm rooms. My private room was fairly barebones with a bed, small tv and private bathroom. Occasionally it would be loud enough downstairs for the noise to travel into my room.

I noticed when people were walking by outside the hostel, they would peer in trying to figure out if this Hostel was a lounge or bar.

The neighborhood itself has a lot to offer in quirky Kreuzberg fashion. I'd stay here again.. As I've said, this type of Hostel really raises the bar for all the hostels out there.

One side note, to travelers visiting this or any other hostel, when you're hanging out in a lounge, put down your laptops and ipads, look up and start a conversation with the person across or next to you. It will make things more your stay more enjoyable :)

Room Tip: Berlin is a party city so people come in pretty late, if it at all. If you don't want to hear footsteps or general drunkness, ask for a room on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 days in March and I have to say it is one of the best hostels I have stayed in. New, clean and friendly, we arrived early and were able to store our luggage until 3pm when we could check in. We booked a private room with an ensuite. It was perfect - clean, spacious and very comfy. The decoration is beautifully done and a few interesting touches throughout the hostel. The kitchen services looked fantastic - we were informed that there was boxes to place any food items in the fridge and great cooking facilities. Breakfast was continental, with meat, breads, cereal and coffee. The staff were extrememly friendly, very helpful and their English was perfect. The location of the hostel was great, close to 2 U-Bahn stations including Hermannplatz and there were direct links from Sconenfeld Airport. There were an abundance of shops around the hostel, where we bought fruit, bread and ham to make our own lunches.
Overall, we had a fantastic stay in Berlin, one of my favourite cities I've been too. The transport links are FANTASTIC, the people very friendly and can be done on a bit of a budget. The Cat's Pajamas was a perfect base to explore from and the free map at the reception desk is a must have. Will definately return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran_P344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Located within walking distance of central Kreuzberg and the Hermannplatz U-Bahn station (and with direct links from Schonenfeld Airport via the bus, though I didn't try this), The Cat's Pajamas is a fantastic hostel with a few quirky touches which fits in with the city. I stayed in a twin room, which was cheaper than dorm room in more central hostels. The bathrooms and showers were hotel standard and beautifully decorated, and there was even a special make-up room with amazing lighting which I appreciated.

Cat themed murals are dotted around the place, and the central lobby is filled with comfy chairs and sofas which are perfect for a bottle of beer and a chill. The staff were super friendly and helpful, which was appreciated.

As long as you don't mind grabbing the U-Bahn to get to the centre, this is a great option for any traveller on a budget.

The only niggle I had was the free breakfast, where there was no healthy option. Would have loved a piece of fruit or a glass of orange juice, but I found both of these for cheap at the Hermannplatz market only two seconds away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Me and two of my friends booked into a female 8 bed dorm for a weekend away in January after stumbling across the Cat's Pajamas on the internet and we were not disappointed. Newly opened, everything is in great condition, including the lobby and kitchen area, which are both beautifully decorated. It is absolutely fantastic value for money, the rate you pay also includes breakfast, which is your standard European bread, ham, cereal etc but much appreciated. The staff at the desk are super helpful, and the hostel is only minutes away from an Aldi type supermarket, as well as the tube station. If I went to Berlin again I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bncol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews