We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Ranked #41 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay....”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in mid December and chose it for it's location and price. The hotel was clean and modern, the room and bathroom spacious and a comfortable bed. The room had large sliding doors which we could open as often it can feel stuffy. I can't comment on breakfast as they're generally pretty standard and we prefer to experience the city. I can concur with the previous reviewer the hotel staff were unable to recommend alternatives! I suggest Berliner Kaffeerosterei for coffee and breakfast. Overall a very pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettymay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    364
    53
    9
    6
See reviews for
101
442
49
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in room 406 on the top floor from 27 to 30 December 2013. The room was big and the bathroom was very nice with a bathtub.
Many good restaurants nearby (although we had to find them ourselves, not getting any dining recommendations from the hotel reception).

We had a very uncomfortable experience when staying in our room one day in the afternoon: suddenly we hear a "click" and a person from the hotel staff has locked himself into our room without knocking on the door first! He disappeared immediately, when he saw us sitting on the bed, but I went after him, and he apologized, and I asked him to knock on the door next time before he enters. This was a very uncomfortable experience.
Furthermore, we could hear the TV from the room next door. Several times the internet did not work, saying that too many users were online. The reception did nothing about this, saying that we had to wait until later in order to log on.
The reception staff was unable to locate the fitness center, which the hotel had a special deal with, which was very unprofessional. Furthermore, when we asked for a recommendation for a place to eat brunch on a Sunday, the reception staff only referred to their own bistro, not wanting to give any other recommendations. All hotel staff was very young and not very professional.

We would not recommend this hotel considering the many other good hotels in Berlin.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vibekefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I had booked at the Winter Checkpoint Charlie and had paid weeks in advance, confirming the arrival time (around 10:30 pm), however, once we arrived we were told there was a problem with our booking and we had to go to a nearby hotel '5 minutes walk away' (actually 15, which could be very unpleasant if cold/raining or carrying heavy luggage).
Despite this disappointment (which according to other reviews is likely to happen), the Winters at The Wall was very modern, nice and clean and very well located and excellent for the price we paid (£85 for 2 nights, best value for money of all the European hotels I have ever stayed in).
Would recommend and come back myself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirenita1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in a very historical location. The Berlin Wall and Checkpoint Charlie were only few meters away as were Berlin's historical landmarks and Friedrichstraße shopping street and neighboring Christmas Market. The hotel was brand new, with comfortable rooms, quiet and modern decoration. It was the best priced hotel with such facilities in the neighborhood despite the breakfast being a little overpriced (14€). The staff were polite and quick to answer our demands. To mention few shortcomings; the room wasn't equipped with coffee maker and the pillows were a bit uncomfortable. Breakfast was delicious and featured a good variety of foodstuff. Certainly a recommendable hotel for people who come to explore Berlin and get a reasonably priced residence in the heart of the city

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mesrob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It met the 4 star standard. Comfortable room. The only problem was that on the first night we felt really cold. Heating did not work. The next day we were upgraded to a superior room as the heating could not be fixed. Location is good. If you like Thai food there is a nice Thai restaurant around the corner. Would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Well placed modern clean hotel with comfy beds and plenty of warmth, perfect after a cold day out. We really enjoyed our stay and although we didn't pre-book breakfast we gave it a try on the first morning and liked it so much we ate there every morning. At 14 euros each it wasn't exactly cheap but the quality and choice were excellent. Its a buffet style so you can choose from hot or cold food, lots of cereals, lovely bread, jams,pastries, cheeses and meats all really nicely presented and regulary topped up so always fresh. Any sort of teas, coffee or juices so no complants at all.The staff were really friendly and helpful and there was a nice bistro bar. Rooms were lovely and a modern warm bathroom with hairdryer and tolietries. All in all a great place to stay and we would use it again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamSue074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel appears to be brand new. The rooms are clean and modernly furnished. Check in was delayed for about an hour (16:00) as the room was not ready. It seems that their housekeeping is short-staffed, since they tried to get us out at 9:00 on our last day. (Check-out time is 11:00)
Other than that and the lack of coffeemaker, we had a good stay at Winters.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Left_at_Albuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,788 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
#78 of 634 in Berlin
1,834 reviews
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Hotel Berlin The Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel Berlin The Wall

Property: Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Address: Zimmerstr. 88, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Novum Winters Hotel The Wall)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Hotel Berlin The Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Select Hotel Berlin The Wall is located in Berlin's historic center between Friedrichstrasse and Wilhelmstrasse. In a quiet side street you will find our 4-star hotel with 170 rooms in a partially listed building. All the modern and spacious rooms have air conditioning, flat screen cable TV, minibar, laptop safe and free Wireless - LAN. The Bar "SECTOR" completes the offer culinary. Whether art and culture, shopping or entertainment highlights or the versatile range of Berlin nightlife: From Select Hotel Berlin The Wall you can reach every point of the city easily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Select Hotel Berlin The Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing