We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent boutique hotel adjacent to Berlin's Tiergarten” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Das Stue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Das Stue
Ranked #3 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel adjacent to Berlin's Tiergarten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at Das Stue in April 2014 in a junior suite room on the 5th floor.

We arrived late at night to Das Stue and pulled up to see an Audi RS6 Avant and S8 parked in front of the hotel. We later discovered these are house cars and available to guests who book certain classes of rooms or upon request! My wife and I immediately grabbed a couple of well prepared drinks in the lobby bar, thankfully the smokers are sequestered outside in a courtyard and none of the smell enters. The lobby bar food was ok, we had a Thai salad and club sandwich. Breakfast is offered in a variety of levels in Das Stue's casual restaurant, the pastries were delicious and on par with a Parisian bakery. Hot food such as eggs are made upon request and came up quickly. Service levels throughout the hotel were very high, on par with Four Seasons but more casual.

Our only gripe was inconsistent room cleaning, different towels were changed out at different times and the HVAC blows directly on the bed. In room technology is an iMac which serves as your TV and web browser (if needed, free wifi is accessible throughout the hotel). The hotel gym is located near the spa in a large hotel room, they have a few pieces of cardio equipment and a weight system. However the free weights maxed out at 10 kg/20 lbs, that's pretty light!

Das Stue is located in West Berlin, right off the Tiergarten. We had a rental car and like walking so getting out to restaurants wasn't an issue. However if you prefer accommodations closer to the 'action' look for a place in Mitte.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room and score a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyHei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the very positive review. We are happy to know that our service is comparable to Four Seasons, they are really a benchmark in the Industry and being indpendantly owned makes it even more personal.

I am sorry to read about the housekeeping issues, this has already been addressed and should not happen again.

Our location is really in between East and West and does make it ideal to explore all parts of the city. As Berlin gets very busy with tourists, we are really a nice little refuge, 10 minutes from the action!

We hope to welcome you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    182
    51
    12
    11
See reviews for
167
677
63
310
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

the staff, the style, the comfort of the room everything was perfect
we asked for a room with a view on the zoo animals which was great fun
it was possible to have breakfast in the sun in the Biergarten in the park around the corner from the hotel. We rented a guided tour of Berlin with the hotel staff which was very professional, we also rented bicycles which proved to be a very good idea to visit the city in more detail.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience and of course for having stayed with us. Indeed Das Stue is really ideally located to explore the city by bike as we are in between East and West. We also now have some new SMART bikes with electric motors which are also a fun way to cycle. We hope you can experiene them next time you visit with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have been lucky enough to stay in some pretty amazing hotels all over the world ..... and Das Stue is most definitely the coolest .... I'd even go as far as saying it's one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. It's cool, trendy, luxurious and will amaze you from start to finish. I was blown away when I walked through the front door and it continued throughout our whole stay. The decor feels so cool but rich and welcoming all over the hotel. Our room was amazing with floor to ceiling windows along one wall which overlooked the outside bar and parts of the zoo. The room was flawless from the touch panel controls to the apple computer and the free standing hugely deep bath. The location is fantastic too. Right on the edge of Berlin's 'Central Park', the hotel backs into the zoo, with the hotel bar even being right in the middle of an animal enclosure so you can watch the animals as you sip on your amazingly tasty cocktails. Pretty special. The food from the michelin starred spanish chef is pretty impressive too. The hotel staff where so friendly and helped us plan our sight seeing route and even gave us advise on some cool bars and restaurants to visit. The hotel has bikes which guests can take to sightsee or cycle around the park. My favourite thing about the hotel, I've left to last ..... the spa. Oh my .... simply amazing. The pool is fabulous, the use of the space is mind blowing. We had a couples treatment of body polish, wrap and then massage and didn't want to leave it was that good. It was a few hours of pure relaxation. Bliss. My fiancée said it was the best massage he's even had (and we lived in Asia where we had massage almost every week). You MUST visit the pool and spa if you are staying at Das Stue as it's the icing on a very impressive and flawless cake. I will most definitely go back to Berlin just for this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDoherty79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow! thank you so much for this most positive review. We are really happy to know that you were very impressed by our hotel, its facilities and of course our staff. All of us at Das Stue try hard and if we are able to be compared to Asian hotels which are known for their service does mean we are fullfilling our objective!

Thank for having stayed with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to Das Stue,

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
209 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I selected this hotel for my first visit in Berlin and what a great choice! This hotel is amazing and luxurious The architecture and décor stunning, rooms are spacious, super comfortable, with great views on the gardens and the Berlin zoo, the service impeccable and friendly, food very good, and the spa offers great services. A very stylish and modern space. And an oasis of peace. If you need help, Stephanie, the concierge, is one of the nicest, attentive and helpful persons you will ever meet. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read your review and to know that we have made a guest really happy! It is very motivating for all the team to know this.

Thank you for having stayed with us and for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Having recently stayed at Das Stue whilst in Berlin for business purposes, I was absolutely amazed by the entire experience that they offer. Everything from the hotel design, interior decorating, room decor and space, facilities and hospitality are flawless. I was incredibly impressed and my only disappointment was having to leave. I can confidently state this is a hotel you don't want to miss if you're planning a trip to Berlin.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for having stayed with us and for sharing your very positive experience. We do hope to welcome you back very soon.

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The building is carefully converted from embassy to hotel and kept in an austere scandinavian style, but with lots of human touches, like the leather animal chairs in the libraries. The rooms are stylishly furnished. Wifi is free, but with unimpressive data speed. However, all rooms have a cabled iMac serving as TV as well as computer, so if you need bandwidth, you needs will be met.
You can choose rooms facing the street or the zoo. Although you will encounter slight street noise, I would recommend this to light sleepers, as you will not hear the bar in summer nights.
The pool is good, and also sports a good sauna.
The staff is really helpful and courteous. We got a very high level of service throughout our stay.
The hotel houses a michelin-star restaurant but the more accessible "The Casual" restaurant offered a terrific dinner. The breakfast buffet was good, but at the price level I would expect real scrambled eggs instead of powder.
All in all, spoil yourself, you won´t regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your most positive review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you appreciated all our services and extra touches.

I can also assure you we do not use powerdered eggs! This would be unacceptable in any establishment let alone ours!

We do hope to welcome you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

A great modern boutique hotel. Service was especially friendly, Customer-Relations/Concierge was extremely helpful and knowledgeable of city's hot spots.
We booked a Deluxe double room and were upgraded to Junior Suite.
Rooms are very well designed, as are all of the hotel's public spaces. Hotel's Bar turned out to be a very cool place for a night out.
Location is not in particular central - but rather a peaceful 5-minute-taxi-distance from most of Berlin's more crowded areas. After staying at endless tripadvisor-top-rated hotels, I can defiantly say the Das Stue is truly one of the best!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

It is a great honour to be rated by you as one of the best hotels! The team works hard to ensure we remain in this position! Thank you for having stayed at Das Stue and for sharing your very positive experience.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#6 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#17 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Stue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Stue

Property: Das Stue
Address: Drakestr. 1, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Das Stue 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 Room Luxury boutique hotel located next to the famous Tiergarten park and Berlin Zoo.Das Stue is an independant run hotel designed by Patricia Urquiola. It has 2 restaurants, one being the Michelin starred Cinco restaurant by Paco Peréz.Other facilities include a spa by Susanne Kaufmann, swimming pool, bar and library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Das Stue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing