We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Das Stue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Das Stue
Ranked #5 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Stylish Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The building is carefully converted from embassy to hotel and kept in an austere scandinavian style, but with lots of human touches, like the leather animal chairs in the libraries. The rooms are stylishly furnished. Wifi is free, but with unimpressive data speed. However, all rooms have a cabled iMac serving as TV as well as computer, so if you need bandwidth, you needs will be met.
You can choose rooms facing the street or the zoo. Although you will encounter slight street noise, I would recommend this to light sleepers, as you will not hear the bar in summer nights.
The pool is good, and also sports a good sauna.
The staff is really helpful and courteous. We got a very high level of service throughout our stay.
The hotel houses a michelin-star restaurant but the more accessible "The Casual" restaurant offered a terrific dinner. The breakfast buffet was good, but at the price level I would expect real scrambled eggs instead of powder.
All in all, spoil yourself, you won´t regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your most positive review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you appreciated all our services and extra touches.

I can also assure you we do not use powerdered eggs! This would be unacceptable in any establishment let alone ours!

We do hope to welcome you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    188
    51
    15
    11
See reviews for
175
690
66
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

A great modern boutique hotel. Service was especially friendly, Customer-Relations/Concierge was extremely helpful and knowledgeable of city's hot spots.
We booked a Deluxe double room and were upgraded to Junior Suite.
Rooms are very well designed, as are all of the hotel's public spaces. Hotel's Bar turned out to be a very cool place for a night out.
Location is not in particular central - but rather a peaceful 5-minute-taxi-distance from most of Berlin's more crowded areas. After staying at endless tripadvisor-top-rated hotels, I can defiantly say the Das Stue is truly one of the best!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

It is a great honour to be rated by you as one of the best hotels! The team works hard to ensure we remain in this position! Thank you for having stayed at Das Stue and for sharing your very positive experience.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
260 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Something that really bothers me are 5* hotels with poor window quality. In my case, with a window on the street, I could hear every delivery truck in the morning, the garbage pick up and so on.

To add insult to injury, the quilt/dvet on the bed was ridiculous warm, but the room temperature was to cold to sleep without.

Service at the Casual restaurant and atbreakfast was also not up to my expectation.

The design is really cool, but does not help to sleep ...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PelikanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for having stayed with us at Das Stue and for sharing your experience. I am really shocked to hear about your sleep experience and would really like to apologize for this. This is the first time we had had a comment like this as our windows are all double glazing and furthermore we are located on very quiet street by the park, so I am really hoping that this was an isolated event as our guest's comfort is our priority on all levels.

In any event we do have rooms located facing the zoo which are very quiet and have no risk of noise, save the ostiches living next door in the zoo!

We do hope to welcome you back and if so we can also offer you anti-allergic duvets which are lighter than our feather duvets. I will share your comment with the casual/breakfast team. It can quite busy at times and i apologize if the service was not up to par.

Once again thank you for sharing and we hope to welcome you back

Kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed after a business trip one day longer and decid3ed to have a look at this hotel. It was very nice. The furniture is very modern and I felt like at apple labs. I had a very nice and calm towards the zoo. This was even more appreciated, as coming from M>Moscow one lacks silence and nice air. Unfortunately I could not stay for dinner. as I left the bar was very full and in very good mood. As I love jogging in the morning - this place is perfect! Really right at the zoo, I went out running more than an hour. Breakfast was very nicely served and was very relaxing! I am coming back, next time with family or better for a 'no kid’s night out' :) Thank you!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albatross1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

We are very happy to hear that you felt so comfortable and relaxed at our hotel. It is indeed located in a very special area of Berlin.

We do hope that next time you try our michelin starred restaurant and come back with the children.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon and thank you for sharing your experience

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Being a frequent traveller, i went in many hotels in many countries but Das Stue has the charm, the quality, the personal touch of the best hotels in the world.
If you are looking for a week end with your partner, Berlin is a great place with a lot to see, learn and discover. Das Stue is an amazing boutique 5stars hotel to get your stay this romantic, classy touch you are looking for.
As we came back from our day in Berlin using the hotel's bike, My wife tried a SPA facial treatment that she qualified as " amazingly relaxing and one of the best treatment she had for a very long time". In the meantime, i enjoyed my time in the indoor swimming pool and sauna.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sboisset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for having stayed at Das Stue and for sharing your exerience. It is certainly a very romantic place as you have mentioned and there is certainly something for everyone. We do hope you have the opportunity to come back very soon.

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

An amazing hotel as a hotel owner rep I must say this has been one of best hotels I've stayed at very impressed with management they can do it with no management company they were amazing best GM hands on knows people and wants to do more thanks Majid Alissa

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Majidalissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for sharing such a positive review. Indeed we pride ourselves in being an independantly owned and managed hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Das Stue was a highlight of our Berlin trip! The hotel is stylish, well-located, immaculate, and uber-comfortable! Our room was spacious and came with an iMac (Apple tv, internet, etc.) Loved the wood floors instead of carpet! The hotel looks over the Tiergarten (great view) & is within a few minutes walk of restaurants and shops. The hotel staff could not have been kinder or more helpful! From Tess the concierge, to the general manager, the valet, the front desk staff - everyone was excellent! We did not eat at the restaurant but enjoyed a glass of wine or two in the bar each night. So nice! Honestly, I would go back to Berlin just to stay at this hotel again. It was wonderful! To Das Stue - thank you very much!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGC_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and thank you for sharing this on Tripadvisor. Our team is very passionate about what we do and clearly we have succeded in making your stay so special.

We do hope to welcome you back to Berlin and to our hotel very soon,

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#10 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#17 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Stue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Stue

Property: Das Stue
Address: Drakestr. 1, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Das Stue 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 Room Luxury boutique hotel located next to the famous Tiergarten park and Berlin Zoo.Das Stue is an independant run hotel designed by Patricia Urquiola. It has 2 restaurants, one being the Michelin starred Cinco restaurant by Paco Peréz.Other facilities include a spa by Susanne Kaufmann, swimming pool, bar and library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Das Stue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing