We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home - this is the best Hotel in Berlin!”
Review of Das Stue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Das Stue
Ranked #6 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Das Stue has the best location imagineable, great architecture and design, the friendliest and most attentive staff ever, and not only wonderful rooms, but immaculate service and... it is QUIET! I have never been able to sleep well in hotels... until now. The cocktails at the hotel bar, which welcomes a relaxed and chic crowd (not only hotel guest, but also locals) are wonderful, as is the food. The casual restaurant is very nice, situated in the breakfast area. Behind it is restaurant "5" (try the Wagyu - delicious!) with its wonderful, knowledgable and discreet staff. A wonderful address!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoegalparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very positive review and having stayed with us. We are happy to know that you appreciate the finer details that Das Stue has to offer. Being able to sleep well in a hotel is a very important factor and that we were able to satisfy you in this respect is well noted and makes us proud. Michael and his bar team also work hard to ensure we serve the best cocktails in Berlin and good food is also one of our strong points which Paco Perez and his team strive for.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,144 - 1,150 of 1,667 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

The best hotel me and my wife have stayed in to date, which is quite a statement for very picky guests.

The exceptional experience begins upon arrival when viewing the former embassy from the exterior. A beautiful almost regal stone building, with the glass ceiling to floor entrance giving it a modern lift. The attention to design and detail continues inside with a beautiful lobby, where you are met by the most friendly of staff who make check-in seamless and personally escort you to your room. Once there you are shown the facilities within the room which include an apple mac computer with free wifi and digital room temperature control settings. The room itself is very spacious, modern and clean (and kept that way throughout your stay by the the hotel maids) with large windows that open fully onto a view of the Tiergarten ( Berlin's Central Park).

Being lazy travellers and often not getting up in time for Breakfast, I cannot comment on it's quality but if the sumptuous dinner we had at the restaurant is anything to go by, I 'm sure it will be fantastic.

The local area is very quiet and calm which is just what we were looking for, but if you want to be amongst the crowds at Berlin's main attractions then the Hilton is probably a better bet. Das Suite is a two minute walk away from a beautiful lakeside beer garden which has two eateries which although serve good food are limited for choice. For more variety you will need to walk approximately 15-20 mins.

Would definitely recommend this hotel. Excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VarinderB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for having stayed with us and for the very positive feedback you have written. We are very pleased to know that you appreciated all areas of the hotel and hope that you will try our wonderful breakfast next time. As you have pointed out, perhaps we are not located next to the major tourist attractions, however we do posess the advantage of being really inbetween the former East and West Berlin! Also we are really only 10 minutes by foot from the famous Kudamm shopping street.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Whow. Whow. And whow.

It can´t be any better: Excellent and friendly staff, great location overlooking the Berlin Zoo, located in one the quietest areas of Berlin at the Tiergarten Park`s Embassy Row.

Did you know that "Stue" is Danish for "living room"? (The hotel is located in the former Danish Embassy) And you can tell as you will feel like home the second you walk in.
Usually,"Design" or "Boutique" Hotels are awkwardly over-designed and a design nightmare. But here, everything matches and just makes you feel great,. And by choosing my favorite furniture brand B&B Italia for the entire hotel added to that delight.

The breakfast (book a rate that includes BF) is one of the best I have seen: Try the Bison Burger (no kidding) - just out of this world.

If I may, let me use the claim of the Intercontinental hotel (located 500 meters away) and say: Stue, again and again.

Downside: Only a small terrace - but who cares, the hotel is surrounded by the Tiergarten.
And if you insist on having a subway station at your front door, stay somewhere else. Walking distance to the next bus stop is about 8 minutes.

Room Tip: the rooms in the newly attached wings have larger windows and are brigther. Ask for "zoo view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Wow! We are truly honoured that you consider us one of the best hotels in the world. As a team we really strive to achieve excellence. We also are happy to know that you appreciate the furniture design. Not only do we have BB Italia but of course Moroso, Kettal and Artec, all designed by Patricia Urquiola herself.

Our terrace maybe a little small as you mention but its certainly very special and exclusive with views to the zoo.

We do hope to be welcoming you back soon, thank you for having posted this review and of course of having chosen Das Stue

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Das Stue is one of the finest hotels we've ever stayed in! Everything is top notch; from the location (next to the Tiergarden and the zoo) to the decor, the comfortable rooms, and the friendliness of the staff. And the food at their restaurant is fantastic!

Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarleySanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest

We are very pleased to know that you consider us one of the finest and that all areas of Das Stue were able to meet our objective and convince you of this.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and thank you for having chosen us

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had never been to Berlin before so staying at the Das was a great find. Nothing is to much for the staff and contrary to what I read in some of the reviews , buffet breakfast was very affordable and delicious. The bar was the place to be on the weekend. The room was immaculate as was the service. Love the cascading chandelier and art throughout the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest

We are happy to hear that you found us as well and thank you for having shared your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The perfect hotel. New, friendly, close to the city sights but in a peaceful enclave and very high tech. The bar is the best feature- I could lounge in those comfy chairs and sip cocktails al day. Almost perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMohinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Guest

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and especially the bar. Thank you for having shared your experience and having chosen Das Stue. We hope to welcome you back very soon to enjoy more of our cocktails.

With kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Everything here was flawless. Rooms, service, spa, bar.
Professional and sleek. The hotel is rumored to have been the Danish Embassy. it is located on Embassy Row...next to Tiergarten Park. More for couples or professionals.
Skip the breakfast. It's pricey.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenRB526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, General Manager at Das Stue, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Guest

We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing this. I am sorry to hear though you find our breakfast expensive. The breakfast buffet does offer quite a large selection and is of a high quality which is reflected in the price. However we do offer a continental breakfast for guests who do not wish to indulge. I am sorry if this was not offered to you and do hope you will try this option next time.

Thank you for having choses to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Jean-Paul Dantil
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 633 in Berlin
527 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 633 in Berlin
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#14 of 633 in Berlin
3,592 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 633 in Berlin
1,555 reviews
Louisa's Place
#4 of 633 in Berlin
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Stue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Stue

Address: Drakestr. 1, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $227 - $773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Das Stue 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 Room Luxury boutique hotel located next to the famous Tiergarten park and Berlin Zoo.Das Stue is an independant run hotel designed by Patricia Urquiola. It has 2 restaurants, one being the Michelin starred Cinco restaurant by Paco Peréz.Other facilities include a spa by Susanne Kaufmann, swimming pool, bar and library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Das Stue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing