We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Ranked #12 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This was the best hostel I have stayed in! It's clean, comfortable, and well priced. The staff is super friendly and helpful. In fact the bartender Stephan marked up my map with his favorite areas to bar hop. The bar is a great spot to chat with other travelers. The cafe has a great selection of pastries and snacks with yummy pizza. Two thumbs up!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyBowlero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    452
    137
    42
    34
See reviews for
82
154
317
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The location is very convenient, with the main sights, bars and clubs at walking distance. The hostel itself has a bar which opens in the evening, it is definitely a good place to meet other travellers. The dorm was decent-sized and clean and with enough storage space. The staff was really friendly and helpful, overall I had a very positive experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was my 1st time staying in any sort of hostel and couldn't have had a better experience. The staff their was very friendly and welcoming. I arrived early before the checkin time. I was allowed to store my luggage in the storage room. So I could go explore the city that afternoon. The front staff was really great when you asked for directions and really knew what was going on locally (market/food/nightlife). The rooms themselves where fabulous. I stayed in a 6 bed mixed room each bed has a storage locker to store all your gear in with room to spare. Each room had its own shower and bathroom. So you didn't share the bathroom with 30 others. They gave me a voucher for a free dink at the bar. The location was in East Berlin walking distance to the trains and most of the museums and the brandenburg gate area. Overall had a great experience and would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brennan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My stay at generator was excellent. Incredibly friendly (and good-looking!) staff at both the reception and at the bar. The rooms were always extremely clean, but my only complaint is the under-the-bed storage units, which you had to pull out completely, which was quite loud and as the rooms were crowded I had to stand in the bathroom to do so, and then lift the top, rather than it just being a drawer which would make more sense to me. Anyhow, that is no reason not to stay here! The bar was a ton of fun that I almost never went elsewhere! And being in the center of Mitte is quite a perk as well :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Amazing staff like I said above, especially Friederich and David from reception and the Spanish guy from breakfast. They gave us very good advice of where to go what to do... The food was ok and the drinks a bit expensive of what expected for a hostel. We stayed in a four bed dorm, very nice and tidy with own toilet and shower, price was very good as well as the location right in the middle of Berlin with a tube station 1 minute away and train from the airport. Overall, we have had an amazing week, and highly recommend to everyone. The free walking tour from Brandenburg tor was also a great surprise and we recommend it too.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnekoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The price is really good, but the room is very basic. The bedding was okay and so was the shower. We went in July and it was very hot (30+), because the window can be opened just a little bit, it was almost impossible to sleep because of the high room temperature. Therefore, in the summer I would recommend another hostel or hotel, maybe with aircoditioning or suffcient ventilation. The staff is very friendly and the location is great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MvdM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hostel was really easy to find when we arrived in Berlin. On our arrival there seemed to be an issue with our check-in, however this was actually caused by Travel Republic, and the staff at the hostel were really helpful and made us feel at home while they sorted our room out (they gave us free beer!).

The room was a good size, with comfy beds. There was a pretty good bathroom which had a walk-in shower. The room was a nice place to relax after a lot of sight-seeing.

The hostel has a really relaxed and friendly environment with a huge mix of guests. The bar was a cool place to hang out, and they even had a happy hour from 5pm to 7pm everyday, not that the prices were even expensive as they were. Everything is decorated in a really cool style.

There was a cafe which was pretty decent; we started everyday in there getting our coffee and breakfast as it was cheap and good quality.

Would really recommend this place if you are visiting Berlin! We're already planning our next trip to Germany and this will be where we stay when we're in Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrjake_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#22 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#15 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte

Property: Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Address: Oranienburger Str. 65, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte 1*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator in the heart of the city, in the district of Mitte which is one of Berlin’s oldest districts. You couldn’t get a better location if you tried. Great for everything that is a must see in this great city as well as the nightlife. Oranienburger Strasse has become Mitte’s hub for nightlife, galleries, art, cafes and restaurants. The hostel sits in the centre of this grand street and is a terrific hangout for locals and travellers. Once you have seen and done it all head back to Generator, the perfect place of refuge, with great beds for sleepy heads, a bar and lounge that serves the best drinks and entertainment for miles around and of course you’ll be enjoying Berlin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons like a USB port and your own LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll definitely need more than a day to explore this city, it’s a culture vultures delight. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing