We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have eaten here again if it wasn't fully booked.”

Hofbrau Munchen Berlin
Ranked #139 of 8,513 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Description: The Hofbräu in Berlin opened its doors on 4th November 2011 and has been synonymous with Bavarian spirit in the capital ever since. With nicely cooled original Hofbräu beer served in "Maßkrug" tankards and a comprehensive range of Bavarian specialities we cater to your appetite. Our staff, dressed in dirndl and lederhosen also ensure you forget that you're actually in Berlin. The atmospheric entertainment is provided by our numerous bands of the original Hofbräuhaus Show who play in every Hofbräuhaus around the world. Experience our live band at the following times: Mornings: Mon - Sat 12:00 - 15:00 and Sun 10:00 - 15:00 Afternoons: Sun - Thurs 18:00 - 23:00 and Fri - Sat 19:00 - 24:00 A must - not just for fans of Bavaria ! Whether it's a rustic meal, birthday, corporate event, Christmas party or 'just because'- with us, every event becomes an experience!Enjoy Bavarian specialities in a comfortable atmosphere or experience the real Oktoberfest ambience at one of our many events - the entire year round!
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Would have eaten here again if it wasn't fully booked.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Me and my group were recommended this restaurant by the barman in our hotel lobby bar, and were not disappointed. When we arrived we asked if there was a table available as we had no reservations and were seated straight away. The atmosphere is intoxicating. The restaurant is set out in what i can only describe as a traditional german oktoberfest tent. There was a folk band playing in the centre of the room, and the restaurant was LOUD but in a lively way.
The menu is filled with German and bavarian specialties such as pork knuckle and schnitzel but there was steak available too. The only complaint I have is the lack of vegetarian options (one of our group is a veggie). We ordered our drinks and they came really fast. As a non german speaker I'll advise you check what you are ordering. My partner ordered me a wheat beer (which was yummy) but ended up getting me a litre of it!
The food came quite quickly and was delicious. I had a steak with potatoes and gravy, which was all the best I could have imagined. The veggie ended up having a cheese platter and a pretzel which was a bit lacking.
Overall I, as an omnivore, was really happy with this restaurant, and the warm apple strudel was gorgeous too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiki_panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,582
    1,622
    525
    140
    133
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“VERY. GERMAN. INDEED.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Loud oompah music, massive food portions (mainly meat with more meat....don't Germans eat fish ?????), great friendly service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAR1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited this restaurant twice in our short stay because we really enjoyed the great Bavarian atmosphere here. The food was nice and reasonably priced and a great choice of beer. There was live music and a relaxed service. Great for a weekend night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beer is great, but expensive and not so friendly”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

You cant take the beer outside, they gave my bill without asking... I would prefer to drink and eat in a small place next time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeonardoMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Bavaria in Berlin”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

went there twice during our recent trip to Berlin as we loved it so much the 1st time. Great choice of meat dishes at a reasonable price. The 1st time we went for the sharing platter which gave us a chance to try a bit of most of the pork dishes on the menu. The second time we visited we were more selective. The portions are generous and the beers are varied . There is a great atmosphere with live music playing as you sit on wooden benches at long tables served by staff in traditional tracten and watch other staff commit amazing feats of strength by carrying trays the size of an average door to hungry customers. The staff seem to be constantly busy but never look tired or surly when you ask for another beer.
Would recommend this place for adults rather than families and to sit inside unless you want cigarette smoke with all your food.
The only thing that's stopping me from giving this review full marks is the bloke at the toilets expecting to be paid €1 for using the toilets. My husband did not have any money on him as he went to the gents and was given a sarcastic rude remark by the gentleman sitting by the toilet for not tipping him. If you are a paying customer in a restaurant you should not be expected to tip for the privilege of having a pee!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apollo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hofbrau Munchen Berlin also viewed

 

Been to Hofbrau Munchen Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing