We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Schweinehaxe is superb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hofbrau Munchen Berlin

Hofbrau Munchen Berlin
Ranked #97 of 7,602 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mitte
Description: The Hofbräu in Berlin opened its doors on 4th November 2011 and has been synonymous with Bavarian spirit in the capital ever since. With nicely cooled original Hofbräu beer served in "Maßkrug" tankards and a comprehensive range of Bavarian specialities we cater to your appetite. Our staff, dressed in dirndl and lederhosen also ensure you forget that you're actually in Berlin. The atmospheric entertainment is provided by our numerous bands of the original Hofbräuhaus Show who play in every Hofbräuhaus around the world. Experience our live band at the following times: Mornings: Mon - Sat 12:00 - 15:00 and Sun 10:00 - 15:00 Afternoons: Sun - Thurs 18:00 - 23:00 and Fri - Sat 19:00 - 24:00 A must - not just for fans of Bavaria ! Whether it's a rustic meal, birthday, corporate event, Christmas party or 'just because'- with us, every event becomes an experience!Enjoy Bavarian specialities in a comfortable atmosphere or experience the real Oktoberfest ambience at one of our many events - the entire year round!
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Schweinehaxe is superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked a table at the homepage, which worked perfectly.

Really huge place, and crowdy even on a Sunday.

Very impressed with the food. Big portions, quick served, tasty and fresh. GOOD!
Schweinehaxe was gigantic (>1 kg) and I recommend it warmly.
Pricelevel is fair.

Impressed that they also offered spargelmeny. Spargel was perfectly cooked.

We came back also the next night - that says all.
Go there, enjoy, have fun, get an experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JonasKarlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,122
    1,169
    333
    91
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value, great pork and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very reasonably priced, great service and atmosphere - good for family as well as couples and party groups. The pork knuckle and the roast pork were excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrHEDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modi'in
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“what a great night out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

we asked a local in Berlin where we could have some German traditional food since there are so many tourist restaurants and she recommended we go to hofbrau - and it was fun! a giant place, live music, tons of people, good food, great beer - and lots of laughs! recommended!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank orlytModi_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Octoberfest in the Capital”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A few yards from Alexanderplatz on the main drag of Mitte (Karl LiebnitzStrasse sits the Berlin outppst of Munich's famous Hofbrauhaus replete with delicious schnitzel and a host of great beer in all sizes. Between the accordion players and the "happy" beer drinking diners, a fun time is sure to be had and the food measures up quite nicely as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter9234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great atmosphere for football funs but not really for good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The place is very big with 2 floors.In the first floor is the main restaurant and in the second there
are a lot of TV screens where you watch mainly sports (football matches) and also you can eat
and drink beers.It's near Alexanderplatz (north side of the square-about 200m far) and we went
there to see a big match with my friends.The atmosphere was great,we felt like being in the stadium,the beers were great,the funs were shouting and generally was a unique experience.I
estimate that about a thousand people were only in the second floor.The bretzels are special
and also the sausages,schnitzels are not so tasty and also the knuckles.Because they must
serve a lot of people in a short time the food is prepared.
Generally is a touristic big place where you can enjoy drinking with friends and watching matches and not for good eating and discussing because there is a lot of noise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank southchristos55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hofbrau Munchen Berlin also viewed

 

Been to Hofbrau Munchen Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing