We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can find a better place for this money.”
Review of Hotel Abendstern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abendstern
Ranked #322 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The only convenient thing for this hotel is that is close to the fair ground and to the Zoo of Berlin. It is like a house. It does not look like a hotel. The room is ok, nothing interesting. The breakfast is ok. If you want to stay for two nights for a business trip it might be ok for you, but if you want to go with your family, husband or boyfriend I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANIALEXANDRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Abendstern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Good 3 star hotel,old hallways and the elevater stops in between the floors,but the room are nice,very simple but cozy...Breakfest ok,simple but you get the basics to start up your day...Location is very good for S bahn or even U bahn...Cheap food around...I would stay here again....The only complain-I was there few days ago and it was raining and cold and the heating in the room was not working...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjj02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Pleasant, calm and convinient location hotel in Charlottenburg area in 10 min of walk from Kurfurstendamm Shopping Street, closer to metro station where you can alway catch the train to go everywhere where you want in Berlin. In zone of this hotel you can find a lot of cafe, bars, any stores..Generally all the infrastructure needed for a comfortable stay.
We are took 5 rooms in this hotels. Rooms are simple and spacious, warm and clean. Looking right like you can see on hotel's photos. Everything is new inside. Especially i want to note great comfortable beds with very convinient pillow and soft blanket, got a delight. Just only one thing what we didn't like is very little light in all the rooms, absolutelly impossible to make up.
Breakfast is simple and typical, do not stay hungry=)
Service is helpful and pleasant. During time of our staying we saw 3 persons on reception and everybody were russian.
So if you come to see a city and don't sit in hotel, this place can me good starting point for discovering Berlin for reasonable money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great value, decent breakfast, clean and spacious room. The hotel staff do not speak much English, but they are very helpful and friendly. There is a train and subway station in front the hotel, its district is pretty much commercial with many shops, if you wanna go out to eat or party won’t find anything around in a walking distance, but as a said before the good public transportation is right in front of the hotel to take you anywhere in Berlin.
I really felt very welcomed during my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandre E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A very unimposing entrance. However free coffee in the lobby. Obviously a very old property with high ceilings. Dimly lit corridors. I had a great big room with a TV that was so far away I needed binoculars to see it. it had a kitchenette just off and a shower room. Not a particularly good shower room. No light over the mirror and only a dim light in the ceiling. But the room was clean and it was warm. I only slept in 1 of the 3 beds and double bed settee that were in the room. However the one I tried was very comfortable. Funny lift which doesn't stop on every floor, but it meant that we didn't have to hump our suitcases up too many stairs. The breakfast was o.k. , perfectly adequate. The staff were all very efficient and patient with us non German speakers. The whole decor was bland. However if this place were treated to a facelift it would be a superb building, and hotel. But with its proximity to the U ban and S ban it wouldn't be the price it is now. Would I go back? I was there to work on a trade fair at the Messe which is only a 7 Euro taxi away, so it's location was why I chose it. So for work yes I would. For leisure with my wife, probably not..

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank Les L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A long weekend in Berlin means you need a central location, and if you want to live in western Berlin near Kurfürstendamm the Abendstern is in the right spot. With U- and S-Bahn just outside the door getting anywhere is easy, and kiosks and food (try Didis Currywurst!) is always available. In daytime, the pedestrianised Wilmersdorfer Straße just around the corner offers shopping and a mall as well.

Checking in and out was no trouble, and the staff did their job. Be aware that the elevator stops between floors only and doesn't go all the way down, so be prepared to carry your luggage a bit.

The room itself was a rather small single, but with a high ceiling, which was good. A large cupboard was provided, and spacious for a single room. Not having a reachable table beside the bed was a bit annoying, and the carpet not too clean, but everything else was ok. Do be aware, however, that the doors are nothing near soundproof, so more than likely you'll wake up due to passing people in the hallway in the morning. Noise from water pipes also sounds like a mild thunderstorm at times. Do, by the way, make sure to order an ensuite room if you want it; some rooms apparently have shared facilities.

The breakfast lacked hot food except sausages, but was otherwise good and served until 11 in the weekends. Here you really noticed the hotel's Russian management (really common in Berlin with a large Russian minority), with the breakfast lady starting trying to get rid of people a bit before closing time – turning lights off and declaring the breakfast for over. Oh, well.

In all, the price and location is very good. The noise was a bit annoying, but otherwise things were as expected for this type of Berlin hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvmtvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a budget hotel, so go in with the right expectations. It covers all the basics (24-hour front desk, clean rooms, ensuite bathrooms, ok bed) and nothing more. Breakfast is adequate. Location is ideal, directly across the street from a S-bahn station with easy access into central Berlin.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golda135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
A I Hotel Koenigshof
A I Hotel Koenigshof
#442 of 635 in Berlin
87 reviews
Charlottenburg
Art-Hotel Charlottenburger Hof
Charlottenburg
Atrium Charlottenburg Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper
Charlottenburg
Hotel Adam
Hotel Adam
#379 of 635 in Berlin
158 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Art Nouveau
Hotel Art Nouveau
#310 of 635 in Berlin
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abendstern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abendstern

Address: Stuttgarter Platz 8, 10627 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $55 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abendstern 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Abendstern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abendstern Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing