We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, free wifi, accessible, free breakfast,affordable rates”
Review of Hotel Abendstern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abendstern
Ranked #338 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Dont need anything else more than this.

Pros:
Single rooms are really single rooms- you'd be bumping into each other if theres two people in it.

Room is very clean, sheets are clean, toilet surfaces are clean.

Hotel is about 1 block from berlin-charlottenburg S train station and walking distance to a lot of local shops (malls, media markt. Etc).

Free wifi internet is provided with good reception up to 1.1 Mbps download speed (via speedtest.net). This is enough for surfing websites and online phone calls.

Cons:
No soundproofing- you can hear footsteps when people are climbing the stairs, walking and talking along the halls, your neighbor taking a shower.

One should invest in earplugs before staying here (im sure u wiuld have found it handy on a plane with cRying babies anywAy)

Tv didnt have working audio- im not sure if its by design, due to absence of soundproofing. I didnt care anyway since most of the programming is in german (even at 2 more-expensive hotels i just stayed at in dresden), as well as the internet can keep me entertained If i cant sleep.

In summary:
Very good hotel to stay at as long as you have earplugs.
Rates are cheap (avg 50 euro per night), rooms are clean with no evidence of insects and pests around.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ishtihb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 214 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

It did what it said on the tin, it was cheap and clean which was perfect when you weren't spending long in your room. I had no issues with the staff speaking English. Close to u-bahn and s-bahn. Wifi worked for Skype and emails so allowed me to keep in contact with home.

Would recommend it as a budget hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swampduck32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Having my preferred hotel sold out and after reading some rave reviews, i booked a triplet room for myself and two accompanying friends. Being on an 'active' euro-trip, we werent looking for a luxurious hotel, as we would have spent most of our time out exploring the city, BUT i never knew that i was signing up for THIS! Firstly, the rooms DO NOT look a bit like the photographs displayed up here. It seems that the furnishings were upgraded/ borrowed only for photography purposes. The reception staff (3/5 that we encountered) are cold, rude and claimed to hardly understand English... one of them even guided us incorrectly and thanks to her wrong directions, we had to walk over 10 miles on foot!
The lobbies and rooms have a cigarette stench that lingers on for ages. The tea/coffee facility in the room was a joke; no milk, no replacement. The housekeeping didnt even trash the USED paper cups. The Wi-fi was spotty and the 'vouchers' provided on 'request' expire after 48 hrs.
The breakfast however, seemed fresh and the variety offered was good.
Will not recommend!
PS. the neighborhood is not the best; many strip clubs and cheap table top dance pubs/clubs around! and its really far from the main tourist attractions i.e. the Berlin gate, Reichstag etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank se a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The hotel is located near de U-Bahn and S-Bahn, wich is great for get to downtown. We book this hotel because it was near the Olympic Stadium. The rooms were clean and spacios, but the view was not so great (our window was interior the building). The reception stuff doesn`t speak english and my german is not the best, but was ok. There is wi-fi in the rooms - you have to ask for a password at reception to connect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen_22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Hotel Abendstern is located across the S-Bahn station so there is a convient way to reach the city center right outside your door. The room was spacious and clean. Honestly, I haven't slept in softer beds in my life! The breakfast was the best thing of all. It had anything a person might want to eat in the morning. Also, there is free wi-fi in the rooms if you ask for a password from the receptionist and a free laptop in the netrance hall. The only drawback we found was that the stuff knew only german and russian but we managed to get the info we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is my second visit to Hotel Abendstern but the first with my partner. This hotel offers excellent accommodation at a very reasonable price. Charlottenburg is a bustling area of Berlin with restaurants and bars on the doorstep. The hotel is conveniently situated for all types of public transport and the old centre of the former West Berlin is within walking distance.
The hotel is clean, the staff friendly and helpful. The only small complaint is that there is no communal lounge or bar within the hotel.

Room Tip: We are smokers so we asked for a room with a balcony where we could smoke outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erfreutwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

A Hotel near the centre of Berlin., 10min walk from Kurfürstendam and right across S- und U-bahnhoff Charlottenburg. It t was well enough for me and allso near the Olympic Stadium, handy for visiting a concert.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
A I Hotel Koenigshof
A I Hotel Koenigshof
#472 of 634 in Berlin
90 reviews
Europa City Hotel
#432 of 634 in Berlin
239 reviews
Charlottenburg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper
Charlottenburg
Mercure Hotel Chateau
Mercure Hotel Chateau
#261 of 634 in Berlin
541 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#413 of 634 in Berlin
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abendstern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abendstern

Address: Stuttgarter Platz 8, 10627 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $51 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abendstern 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Abendstern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abendstern Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing