We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome showers, great beds, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Ranked #64 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
South Korea
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Awesome showers, great beds, good location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Upon arrival, the staff showed us where to park on the street (we left our car in the spot during our 3 days there and just fed the meter every morning). We were given vouchers for welcome drinks, then we went up to our room. We loved the room, compact but very modern. A few English channels on the TV, a comfortable bed, and a shower that was to die for. It also had an in-room single-serve coffeemaker, which was a nice amenity that we have seen only sporadically in Europe. Wifi worked well, with basic access (under 300MB) free.

The breakfast was decent, but overpriced at 17 Euro per person. We considered room service late one evening but it was very expensive. Luckily Berlin is a late-night city and we got a good meal at a local place.

The location is awesome. It's less than a 5 minute walk to Alexanderplatz, where you can catch public transportation. We walked almost everywhere, but did take the S-Bahn on our last night.

Every staffer we encountered was the very image of professionalism; whoever handles hiring and training at this hotel is doing something right. **It is also worth noting that we mistakenly went to the Indigo across town first, and the staff member who waited on us there was also very professional, and gave us directions to the other Indigo.

In short, we were very pleased and would jump at the chance to stay at another Indigo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cincy814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzureProperties, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Cincy814,

thank you very much for staying in our hotel and your good review.
It is very nice to know, that you enjoyed your stay that much and that our staff impressed you that much.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

With best regards,

Carsten Brabetz
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    628
    130
    24
    13
See reviews for
161
848
72
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

From the moment we entered the hotel we loved it straight away. We were greeted by friendly receptionist Melanie, which explained in the polite way, that the room is not ready yet (we arrived about 40 minutes earlier) but we can enjoy our complimentary drinks (we absolutely didn’t expect that) at the hotel’s bar. We decided not to include breakfast, so can’t say about the quality of food at the hotel’s restaurant, but the staff was friendly, interior was very trendy and what’s more important everything was spotlessly clean. Within 15 minutes Melanie came over for us to inform that the room is ready, gave us the keys and wished to have a nice stay.

We booked a Kind Deluxe room, which was sparkling clean and well decorated. Each and every detail in the room was perfectly thought out and tastefully chosen.
Our room was on the second (unfortunately) floor, facing the TV-tower, but there was no point in it, as the room was located below the building’s across the street level and we barely could enjoy the view. Just a little tip, try to ask for higher floor, otherwise it makes no sense to have a street view and a street noise in addition.
As it was mentioned in previous reviews rooms are small. Cannot say for all the rooms, but the Kind Deluxe room was ok.

The hotel located right next to Alexanderplatz, what gives great possibility to explore the city easily if not by foot, then by numerous S-bahns and U-bahns, which are running in the area. I can’t say Berlin is a “walkable” city, to reach some of the places you really need to catch either S or U-bahn and that’s what makes Alexanderplatz so precious – the public transport. connection is great over there. All over the area you can find a lot of fast-food kind of restaurants or coffee houses, where you can stop for a while, take a look at the map, make a plan and continue your journey.

We stayed during the New Year’s eve and when we came back from the show at Branderburger Tor to change and take our tickets to the club there was a young man Adrzej, who wished us a happy new year and answered for plenty of the questiones I had regarding the best way to the club, approximately prices for taxi etc., and it seemed that nothing was too much trouble for him.

As a person, who works in the hospitality myself, I have nothing to blame the staff. Everyone from the Front Office to the HK department was doing their job perfectly and accurately.
The only dislike – was the street noise, as the windows have bad soundproofing protection. But I believe with a sufficient amount of Gluehwein in the blood, it won’t bother you that much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzureProperties, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Vick R,

thank you very much for staying in our hotel and this fabulous review.
We are very pleased to know, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel Indigo and hope you had good start to year 2013.
I forwarded your comment to Melanie and Andrzej, to let them know, that you liked their service that much.

Regarding the street noise, you might contact me in advance for your next stay, so that I can show you one of our nice rooms to the courtyard.
You can send me an E-Mail to brabetz@hotelindigoberlin.com anytime.

With best regards,

Carsten Brabetz
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Spent 4 nights here as part of my honeymoon, had emailed beforehand and requested a high floor with a good view and we got exactly that, a room on the 9th floor overlooking Alexanderplatz. First impressions were excellent, great location near a U-bahn and a buzzing central area. The hotel lobby is very funky and modern and the bar looked very stylish. Check in was fast, efficient and friendly.

We had booked a deal that involved an upgrade to a superior room. The room was a good size for a long stay and the decor was fab. The bathroom, although small, was kitted out very nicely and was spotlessly clean, housekeeping was excellent. The shower was amazing. You could see into the room from the shower so very nice for couples though maybe not friends! The products in the bathroom were Aveda, gorgeous and more natural than ones normally provided in other hotels.

The first night we found it hard to sleep as we could hear bass from a club. There was noise from the metro too (which is right outside the hotel) but this wasnt bad at all with the windows closed. Being in a central location in a capital city we expected noise but the problem was the air con doesnt work and so we were sweating with the windows closed (hard to believe in January but it was surprisingly very mild). We enquired next morning if they had a quieter room but the guy at reception said they only had a small standard room left. We took a look at this but were shocked by how much smaller it was. Hardly any room to move around the bed and as we had a further 3 nights to stay we knew we would have no comfort so decided to stay where we were. The guy explained that if we turned the air con off that cool air would then come into the room. This did work and the next 3 nights were fine. Its just a pity we werent told this at check in or there wasnt a notice about it in the room. If a hotel advertises as having air con then it should, this is a serious flaw and the hotel should really look at explaining this system at check in as we felt we lost a nights sleep as a result.

I also need to note that this guy seemed annoyed with us and mentioned sthg about giving us a room we had paid for making it obvious our deal had included a free upgrade-not very nice and I wasnt impressed at all with the attitude of this receptionist. But I have to say all the other staff we encoutered were really nice and helpful. We had dinner the first night in the hotel restaurant and it was nice, it has a very limited menu though i.e. just steak. The service was friendly. Had drinks in the bar most nights and this was a lovely place to relax, not cheap but ok for a hotel bar. There was a nice, friendly barman (with glasses) who looked after us well, the cocktails were excellent and strong. A very nice touch was sausages provided in the lobby at night, great if you are hungry after clubbing.

Overall I would recommend this hotel as its very central, new, trendy, clean and good value. Just be careful what room you book, if you are sensitive to noise ask for a quiet room or if you dont mind some noise a view of the tv tower is lovely from a high floor room facing Alexanderplatz. Also be aware that the small standard rooms are really tiny if you are staying longer than a night or two and the air con is a strange system indeed.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Alexanderplatz have a great view of the tv tower but are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dubheire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Dubheire,

thank you very much for choosing Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz as part of your honeymoon and for writing a detailed review about your experience. First of all I am happy to read that you find the hotel funky and stylish and that you enjoyed details like the Aveda products the complimentary late night snack.

I totally understand that on a honeymoon you expect a 100% perfect stay and I am not pleased to read, that our receptionist did not go to the max to make you happy. Our air condition was switched to winter mode in January and we did not expect any guests having it too warm in the rooms. We Berliners are used to the sound of the city but nevertheless it would have been great to at least try everything to make you happy.

Dear Dubheire, once again thank you for your feedback and for recommending us. If you should consider celebrating your first wedding anniversary in Berlin, we would be more than happy to have you again. I will take care of you personally. You can contact me anytime on dirk.dreyer@hotelindigoberlin.com

Best regards

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel service was excellent, particularly the bar, breakfast, and front desk. The rooms though clean with all that we needed, were a little small to manoeuvre around. The location was excellent for our short weekend away, chosen to be between the city and an evening at the O2 arena.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Iain H,

thank you very much for choosing Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz and for taking the time to write a tripadvisor review. I will share your compliments for the service with the team.

Our standard rooms are rather small and are the perfect choice for a short business trip. For extended stays or couples we recommend our deluxe category. I am happy to assist you. You can contact me on dirk.dreyer@hotelindigoberlin.com

Kind regards

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for New Years Eve and had booked a king deluxe as it looked more roomy in the pictures. When we got our room I was sure they made a mistake, because the room looked exactly like pictures of the standard rooms. I was told, that there had been no mistake and that the room we were staying in was a deluxe king. The rooms are not like the pictures! Other than that it was nice and very stylish. I loved the Aveda products and the rainfall shower. The pillows and duvets were also excellent.
I had asked for a room on a high floor, but was given a room on the first floor with a lot of noise from the trams. Even though we enjoyed our time there, we will probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johanneditlevsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzureProperties, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear johanneditlevsen ,

thank you very much for staying in our hotel and your review on Tripadvisor.
It is nice to know that enjoyed your stay although you didn't feel that comfortable with your room size and the 1st floor.
If you are going to visit Berlin again, please contact me directly after making your reservation under: brabetz@hotelindigoberlin.com
I would like to show you one of our Deluxe Rooms to the courtyard, which are a bit more spacious and are more quiet as well.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Carsten Brabetz
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel Indigo at Alexanderplatz is central and close to U/S Bahn Station Alexanderplatz. The price is ok and the breakfast buffet is nice as well. But: the rooms are very small. Even the deluxe rooms do not even offer a place to put on a big suitcase. The design feels like it was cool ten years ago. Most colours are dark and mixed with purple. Materials of floor and walls are look kind of cheap. I think it is ok to stay for one or two nights, but if you have a lot of stuff and need some space you should look for a different place. There are many hotels nearby for the same price, but with more space ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Julotta,

thank you very much for choosing Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz and for writing a review on tripadvisor. I am happy to read that you like the location and the breakfast. It is a pity that you did not find our design attractive. We receive a lot of positive feedback on the design and the atmosphere of Hotel Indigo but there is no accounting for taste.

Kind regards

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I travel to the Berlin area often typically staying in Kopenick, however my family joined me on this trip so we decided to stay closer to the city center. The Hotel Indigo is a very nice boutique hotel. It is only a five minute walk to the Alexanderplatz train station which makes it a great hotel for a visit to Berlin. The staff was very helpful on checkin and checkout and were helpful in providing directions and suggestions for site seeing in Berlin. They have a nice restaurant, although the dinner menu is limited they serve a very complete breakfast. Very attentive service for both breakfast and dinner. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. If your intent is to spend lots of time in you room then you may find them a little small, however if your intent is to spend your time exploring Berlin and then having a great place to recharge for the next day, this is the place.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the junior suites - not hugh but a little more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkdreyer, Manager at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Christopher S,

thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz for your recent Berlin trip.
We love to have a relaxed sunday afternoon in Koepenick as well - but we even more love the vibrant atmosphere of Berlin - Mitte. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Indigo and we hope, we will see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Best regards

Dirk Dreyer
General Manager Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#57 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#32 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz

Property: Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Address: Bernhard-Weiss-Strasse 5, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Lifestyle Hotel Indigo Berlin Alexanderplatz is located in the city center of Berlin, only 300m away from the Alexanderplatz and surrounded by countless shopping attractions, culture and fashion highlights. Its location at the very heart of Berlin makes it a perfect spot to start your Berlin Experience. Waking up in the "neighborhood" design, all rooms artwork is inspired by the neighborhood of the Alexanderplatz and Eastern part of Berlin, bringing some of the creativity of the city onto the walls. All our 153 modern, comfortable and cozy rooms are equipped with flat screen LCD TV, SKY TV, safe, air condition, electric kettle with a free choice of coffee and tea facilities, minibar as well as a hand-picked choice of toiletries and an invigorating rainfall shower. Free Wi-Fi and free phone calls landline in 17 European countries, the USA and China are also included. An extensive and delicious breakfast buffet with a rich choice of homemade marmalade, fruit juices and coffee specialties awaits you in the morning in our restaurant. Enjoy an authentic delicious meal at our restaurant La Maison de L'entrecôte for lunch or dinner. Our head chef uses only the freshest ingredients. The entrecote in all its variety is the signature dish of our restaurant. In addition we offer a choice of international specialties. Relax after a long day of work or sightseeing in our fancy "White 5 Bar" by a classic exotic cocktail or a whiskey in our Bar Lounge. Further, the Hotel Indigo has 3 meeting rooms for a maximum of 80 people. All rooms are located on the ground floor are equipped with daylight, modern meeting technique, Wi-Fi, air condition and can be darkened. For sporty active people, the hotel offers 24h an own fitness room with cardio equipment free of charge for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing