We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and modern - small and expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Ranked #63 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed in the hotel during the Berlin marathon weekend. Thus, prices were high (too high for what it is actually).

Pros:
- Nice and modern rooms;
- Great rainfall shower (Grohe applications/fittings);
- Free internet;
- very nice staff.

Cons:
- Room was supposed to be a deluxe room, but was very small for a European hotel. Reminded me more of New York.
- Price far too high (due to Marathon).
- "Views" over Alexanderplatz aren't really over Alexanderplatz. There is a big ugly building in front of it - thus advertisement on the homepage is a bit of a misstatement.
- Room was extremely hot. This was due to them not having a normal aircon, but something ecological which cannot be changed into cooling mode, once the winter mode has been activated (and vice versa). Bad solution for a new hotel.

Overall: Well situated hotel that can be recommended if you get a good rate. The Marathon rate was certainly completeyl overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzureProperties, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Lars G,

thank you very much for staying with us and your nice review.

Nice to know that you like our design and that our staff impressed you.
The aircondition is especially between the change of seasons a bit tricky, but we are trying to find a solution for our guests for example some ventilators.
The mentioned Deluxe Rooms offer 25 m² and were due to the Berlin Marathon higher priced than usual.
If you book in advance you can book some special offers with lower rates.

We would love to welcome you back shortly.

With kind regards

Carsten Brabetz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here in September 2012 for a week. Originally, we'd booked an executive room, but got a complimentary upgrade to a suite with balcony on the 10th floor through Priority Club Rewards. Everything about the hotel seems brand new and the level of furnishing in the Suite is fantastic. There are a few oddities, such as the fact that the B&B rate only covers breakfast for 1 person, so we had to pay a surcharge to cover the two of us. Overall though, a good place to stay and a short subway ride from the City Centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here on business for 3 nights. As in many places in Berlin, the area itself wasn't so charming, but the location is very central and just a few minutes from Alexanderplatz. The room was on the small side, but beautifully appointed, with a very comfortable bed and quite quiet, too. The wifi in the room (6.50 euro/24 hours) actually works well-- a real plus.
Friendly, professional staff.
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonBeachGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzureProperties, eCommerce Supervisor at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear BostonBeachGuy,

thank you very much for your nice feedback.
We would love to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Kadric
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Brand new hotel with lovely staff. we were given a free upgrade on arrival, the room was lovely and spacious and the decor was very appealing. The hotel also gave a us a free welcome drink for use during our stay. The restaurant also looked very inviting, however the menu was quite small. There is a gym on site, which we used, it was small but has all the machines you would need for a quick workout. The hotel also has bikes that they rent out to guests, pricing is reasonable and getting around the city on bikes is great fun...and very easy! This stylish hotel, is definitely one I'll be recommending (and staying at) again! You can't go wrong with this place, it's close by the station and easy to get to and from.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viciousb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzureProperties, eCommerce Supervisor at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Viciousb,

thank you very much for your feedback and the recommendations. It is nice to see that you had a good stay in our hotel.
Hopefully we will see you soon back in Berlin.

Kind regards

Kevin Kadric
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I am not sure how these things are worked out, but to say that this is the 99th best hotel in Berlin is a complete injustice, it is for many reasons the best hotel I have stayed in.

Firstly the rate, booking in advance excellent rates available approx GBP 65 per night for cenrtal Berlin location is outstanding. Location cannot be bettered, Alexanderplatz is within easy walking distance of many major Berlin sites, trams outside front door, metro is 100mtrs away and Hop on Hop off buses 50 mtrs from hotel.

Reception/Check-in is super efficient and very friendly with all relevent info provided without any prompting. Rooms compact, stylish and very comfortable. Bathrooms ultra modern with Aveda products. Telephone calls to may European countries including UK from hotel phone are free!!! Have not come across this before and hope other hotels take it up.

Bar is very relaxing area serving great food. Special praise goes to Entrecote Restaurant....absolutely outstanding. It is salad, steak & french fries only but what they do they do with a great deal of style, I think my meal there was most enjoyable in years. The young staff were so genuinely friendly & enthusiastic, I cannot praise them enough. Had to check bill twice as I assumed I had been undercharged...but no it is just fantastic value.

This hotel is somewhere other hoteliers should visit to see how it should be done. A great hotel in a great city. Make it your 1st choice!!!!

Room Tip: City view rooms on higher floors are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghTraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzureProperties, eCommerce Supervisor at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear EdinburghTraveller61,

we also just can say "WOW"! Thank you for this great feedback. We are working on a better ranking position every day.

Thank you and kind regards

Kevin Kadric
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have stayed at Hotel Indigo from 2 - 9 Sept 2012. Hotel's location is fantastic just across Alexander Platz. Hotel has been refurbished as from May 2012. Very modern - rooms are a bit small but there are all the comforts required in the rooms.. A special mention to the soft comfy beds. Breakfast was a good buffet , although would have appreciated if there was also a selection of yoghurts crisp breads and cakes. Service in the breakfast room was sometimes a bit slow, especially clearing away the tables. Would not mind to return back.. Marie fro Malta

Room Tip: book a room overlooking Alexander Platz..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzureProperties, eCommerce Supervisor at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear MARIE B,

thank you very much for your feedback and your recommendations. We hope to see you soon back in the Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz.

Kind regards

Kevin Kadric
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hotel is immediately adjoined to Holiday Inn next door and only 2 minutes walk from Alexanderplatz.
We took the TXL bus from Tegel airport which took us to Alexanderplatz
and then walked to the hotel. As a group of 4 would suggest you buy a group day ticket from the machine (this can be used for up to 5 people) and gives unlimited travel on buses, S train and Underground.
You should be able to spot hotel sign (at top of hotel building) from the World Clock if you look in opposite direction from the over ground trains. We booked a 2 bedroom suite here, advised on arrival there is only one so glad we booked early.
Room is on top floor and has balcony with summer sunset views and side view of Alexanderplatz and great view of the Fernsehturm TV tower.
Room has a separate bedroom and another double bed in'main' room with 2 tv's and one central bathroom, which has decorated semi transparent shower (difficult to describe). Rooms were both very clean and smart, as hotel has only recently opened.
We received welcome drinks (Prosecco or Orange juice) on arrival along with a plate of fresh fruit in our room. Room also had tea and coffee making facilities and mini fridge.
We liked location as easy to get to all sights using train, bus and underground, also good number of places to eat and 2 large stores is you want to go shopping. Not far from Hakescher Markt and you can walk from along main route from Alexanderplatz to Brandenburg Gate (or vice versa) in approx 30 mins or take buses 100 or 200.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzureProperties, eCommerce Supervisor at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear PamW1,

thank you very much for your nice feedback. It is nice to see that you like our 2 bedroom suite. We hope too see you soon back in Berlin.

Kind regards

Kevin Kadric
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Alexanderplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,940 reviews
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#26 of 634 in Berlin
5,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz

Address: Bernhard-Weiss-Strasse 5, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $94 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Lifestyle Hotel Indigo Berlin Alexanderplatz is located in the city center of Berlin, only 300m away from the Alexanderplatz and surrounded by countless shopping attractions, culture and fashion highlights. Its location at the very heart of Berlin makes it a perfect spot to start your Berlin Experience. Waking up in the "neighborhood" design, all rooms artwork is inspired by the neighborhood of the Alexanderplatz and Eastern part of Berlin, bringing some of the creativity of the city onto the walls. All our 153 modern, comfortable and cozy rooms are equipped with flat screen LCD TV, SKY TV, safe, air condition, electric kettle with a free choice of coffee and tea facilities, minibar as well as a hand-picked choice of toiletries and an invigorating rainfall shower. Free Wi-Fi and free phone calls landline in 17 European countries, the USA and China are also included. An extensive and delicious breakfast buffet with a rich choice of homemade marmalade, fruit juices and coffee specialties awaits you in the morning in our restaurant. Enjoy an authentic delicious meal at our restaurant La Maison de L'entrecôte for lunch or dinner. Our head chef uses only the freshest ingredients. The entrecote in all its variety is the signature dish of our restaurant. In addition we offer a choice of international specialties. Relax after a long day of work or sightseeing in our fancy "White 5 Bar" by a classic exotic cocktail or a whiskey in our Bar Lounge. Further, the Hotel Indigo has 3 meeting rooms for a maximum of 80 people. All rooms are located on the ground floor are equipped with daylight, modern meeting technique, Wi-Fi, air condition and can be darkened. For sporty active people, the hotel offers 24h an own fitness room with cardio equipment free of charge for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing