We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Ranked #60 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed 4 nights from the 26th June. Fab new hotel, lovely 2 bedroom suite on the 10th floor with a terrace which you couldn't get out on to. Free wi-fi, great Aveda products with a wonderful rain shower. Reception staff were very friendly, shame that this was not matched by the sometimes curt and disinterested women working at breakfast time. That would be my only negative of this place. Great location for seeing Berlin, 2 minutes walk from the station that you can get the train to/from the airport. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    609
    128
    24
    13
See reviews for
160
829
70
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

New hotel but also in a new street which isn't on everyone's maps yet. Location good, particularly for buses/trams/metro and to/from airport. Supermarket nearby in mall to spare us tourists from overpriced bottled water/snacks. Rooms fine, staff helpful, I had a good rate for my 5day trip to Berlin. All went well. Didn't avail myself of breakfast so cannot comment. Free but limited wifi, good selection of TV channels in lots of languages. Clean and comfortable. If you want more from a hotel then go more upmarket and pay more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OakleyFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

A fine compromise between some ultra-hip boutique hotel and a soulless "business chain". The rooms are great - we were on the 10th floor and had a great balcony (though no furniture out there - perhaps that has changed, the hotel had only been open a couple of weeks). Staff are relaxed and friendly, and the location is just perfect. OK if you don't like ex-GDR concrete you might feel a bit out of it - but I do, and anyway you are a stone's throw from everything in Berlin.

Minor quibbles I hope the management will address

- quantity of bathroom supplies not really adequate for two people, and weren't replenished as well as would have expected.
- little bit tricky to find, taxi driver got lost, could do with a better explanation on the website. My room-mate was coming from S-Bahn and also found it tricky to find on foot.

But overall: great pricing, comfortable rooms, fantastic showers and nice people in a perfect location for someone on a short break.

Room Tip: 10th floor rooms have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catmacaulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, e-Commerce Supervisor at Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you! There will be furniture on the balcony in the future. As you already said we just opened the hotel and not all the furniture have been delivered, yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I very much like the Indigo chain and think that the concept works well. Stayed at this new Indigo mid June for 3 nights on their "Getting to know you rate". The hotel only opened in May and is still going through some opening issues but overall our stay was excellent. I will be hyper critical here but please bear in mind this is on the basis that it has just opened.

The hotel is located around 3 minutes’ walk from Alexanderplatz next door to the Holiday Inn and is in a good location for public transport. You are unlikely to find a taxi waiting so you need to get reception to call one for you. This is not a problem at all in Berlin.

We checked in around midnight - advised in advance - and this was no problem and efficiently handled. The room booked was a balcony room on the 10th floor - corner room and had a good view - It’s not that picturesque - Alexanderplatz and the surrounding area is not anyway unless you like Communist 1960s architecture but it does have a particular charm. The room was excellent and the balcony had a couple of chairs and a table for a glass of wine - if warm enough.

The room was equipped with a very comfortable bed, a sofa and good TV area, a large rain shower - no bath. Free internet and good lighting. There was a desk area and a corner by the bed which should have contained a table but only the glass was there. A finishing touch not complete I guess.

There were a large number of builders and technicians going up and down in the lift which was a bit time consuming but I am sure that this was due to the fact that this was the opening period.

Breakfast was great on the first two days but a little chaotic on the 3rd as on this day the hotel appeared to be full. It appeared that staff could not just keep up with demand on day 3.

The bar is pleasant and the service excellent. I have to say at the end of each evening we always stopped in for a glass of wine. All good.

Room cleaning left a little to be desired. Room cleaniing was late on 2 of the 3 days and for some reason they did not leave any shower gel or shampoo. Perhaps this was a supply problem.

For Berlin, there is not much in the surrounding area but a 3 minute walk takes care of that.

Definitely recommend the hotel and will only get better as time passes.

Room Tip: 10th Floor. A bit more but think that they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinchesterCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
208 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Due to cancellations of another hotel, the Indigo was overrun by hords of loud youngsters and the breakfast area was a bit lilke the final days in May 1945... Total chaos and a free for all.
Let's forget that.
Brand new hotel, nice rooms, should be good breakfast.
Free internet, I believe.
Parking in a round the corner in an old, good East Berlin style parking. Must be seen.
Hotel is near(ish) to Alexanderplatz which is still being rebuilt. All a bit choatic and stoill lots of old buildings around. This can be called charming, certainly this aspect of Berlin is disaapearing quickly.
All in all, a good hotel and the Indigo concept is refreshing to see in the IHG group.
Oh yes, loved the steak for dinner downstairs!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjspjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed at the Indigo on Alexanderplatz during one of my many business trips to Berlin. Beautiful new hotel with an excellent location. Lovely spacious rooms. The staff were superb, very helpful and extremely friendly. Highly recommend this hotel, whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Hotel Indigo, Alexanderplatz, is a newly refurbished hotel. I believe the hotel opened at the begining of May 2012. Needless to say, it was a beautiful hotel to stay in, only 4 weeks after it opened. Our room was spacious and had a view of Alexanderplatz, of course not all rooms can have a great view but I suspect all the hotel rooms were as tastefully decorated and as comfortable as my own.
Other than being a very nice, calming and relaxing place to stay, the staff here were, without any doubt, the friendliest and most professional people I have come across is quite a while. It made all the difference to our stay. It also made a huge difference to stay in a hotel that had enough staff on duty to do a fantastic job, this was very refreshing.
The bar is a great place to relax and have a drink after a heavy day of sightseeing, it has a really nice ambience. The food was great too. The restaurant called L'entrecote, not surprisingly sells a good steak as well as some excellent house red to chase it down with. It is fair to say that, although the restaurant is not trying to compete head on with specialist restaurants, it provides a good all-round menu to satisfy the needs of the guest, with its signature dish being steak. I can say we did enjoy the steak very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skilled_Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#5 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#52 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#30 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz

Property: Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Address: Bernhard-Weiss-Strasse 5, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Lifestyle Hotel Indigo Berlin Alexanderplatz is located at the Alexanderplatz surrounded by countless shopping attractions, culture and fashion highlights. Its location at the very heart of Berlin makes it a perfect spot to start your Berlin Experience. Waking up in the "neighborhood" design, all rooms artwork is inspired by the neighborhood of the Alexanderplatz and Eastern part of Berlin, bringing some of the creativity of the city onto the walls. All our 153 modern, comfortable and cozy rooms are equipped with flat screen LCD TV, SKY TV, safe, air condition, electric kettle with a free choice of coffee and tea facilities, minibar as well as a hand-picked choice of toiletries and an invigorating rainfall shower. Free Wi-Fi and free phone calls landline in 17 European countries, the USA and China are also included. An extensive and delicious breakfast buffet with a rich choice of homemade marmalade, fruit juices and coffee specialties awaits you in the morning in our restaurant. Enjoy an authentic delicious meal at our restaurant La Maison de L'entrecôte for lunch or dinner. Our head chef uses only the freshest ingredients. The entrecote in all its variety is the signature dish of our restaurant. In addition we offer a choice of international specialties. Relax after a long day of work or sightseeing in our fancy "White 5 Bar" by a classic exotic cocktail or a whiskey in our Bar Lounge. Further, the Hotel Indigo has 3 meeting rooms for a maximum of 80 people. All rooms are located on the ground floor are equipped with daylight, modern meeting technique, Wi-Fi, air condition and can be darkened. For sporty active people, the hotel offers 24h an own fitness room with cardio equipment free of charge for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing