We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Ranked #107 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic modern hotel”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you are looking for a value-for-money hotel, that is clean, modern and with a little design flare, then this is the place for you! I stayed here with one of my kids as part of a holiday and was not disappointed. Although Alexanderplatz is a little seedy at times, this hotel is conveniently located close to the Ubahn, tram, Television tower and you could even walk to Museum Island. We were kindly upgraded to an executive twin room which had all the conveniences including a coffee machine and small bar fridge. The room was of average size for continental Europe but felt spacious. The bathroom was well appointed (but only had a shower). Would recommend the breakfast buffet and at only around 14 euro (my kid ate free) it was very good value for the two of us (and if you ask nicely, they will make you lattes or hot chocolates). The staff are also friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend for both leisure and business travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivz_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    605
    160
    32
    16
See reviews for
149
638
86
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bronschhofen
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed two nights and were entirely satisfied: Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, clean and modern room, good breakfast. The rates are reasonable. The only problem is the use of elevator in "rush hour". Two elevators for a 10-storey building are not enough. Sometimes you need a good amount of patience when going down to breakfast in the morning. For another stay in Berlin we would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 555 facing the courtyard. It was a very quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location, once familiar, is excellent, just a one minute walk from the main part of Alexanderplatz. The room I had was very pleasant and modern, and the hotel seemed well run and very civilised. My request for an ironing board was dealt with helpfully, and I was able to go out crease free! I was also extremely grateful (and maybe lucky) that my room was ready before the official check-in time and I was allowed in- I cannot fault the staff.

I am not somebody who looks for faults, but there were a few hairs and other minor things missed with cleaning, although not enough to bother me. I also found that my room overlooking the courtyard suffered from the noise outside one night, as I wanted to sleep with the window open, so perhaps ask for an outward facing room. Perhaps the hotel would benefit from clamping down on the minority who are inconsiderate with noise in the early hours, to keep the majority of those who want to sleep happy- but I do sympathise with the hotel and know that this is a common problem.

Overall, I think the hotel is very good value and I would certainly come back, but it is a small step away from being excellent in my opinion.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the courtyard. It was fine one night, but guests (I think from a neighbouring hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, ab
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We ended up in Berlin 4 days before our initial reservation and decided to see if they had room for us early. The women who checked us in was very helpful and informative and booked us in for a total of 7 nights which included an upgraded room for the entire week. The hotel was a very reasonable rate which included free WIFI. The room itself was spacious and very clean with a view of Alexanderplatz. The Bed was comfortable for a goodnights sleep and the A/C worked great. The door to the bathroom was a sliding glass door and not very private for noisier bathroom functions so if you are not comfortable with someone you are travelling with I can see this as potentially being an issue. The hotel is located very close to the U & S Bahn as well as several trams and buses that will take you throughout the city.
Our only issue was the location of this hotel as Alexanderplatz was filled with drunks as soon as the sun went down and there were very limited quality restaurants located in close proximity. We found ourselves heading out to the U-Bahn on a nightly basis to locate a nicer area for dinner.
There were much more restaurants/shopping located around Potsdamer Platz and on Kurfurstendamm, which is a nice to have after a long day of walking to have something closer by, however you will pay for it in hotel prices.
Overall: Worth the price for sure, if you are staying here make sure you purchase the unlimited A/B transit pass at the Airport so you can get around freely.
Make sure you see: Prater’s Restaurant & Biergarten – Also just ride the U-Bah/bus around and get off when you see something interesting.. We found some very cool neighborhoods and amazing restaurants!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cudabear88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is an excellent hotel in a wonderful location. The rooms were very nice, service was very good and the breakfasts very tasty. The only fault I could possibly find is that there wasn't sufficient wardrobe / shelf room, but probably people usually stay for 3 or 4 days and don't have so much stuff. We were there almost a week. Having free Wifi all the time was very good - something I consider to be very important in this day and age - slight downside here that I had to keep logging on all the time. Other than that no complaints. The reception staff were always more than willing to answer any of our queries and gave us very useful information.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaLevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Amazing 4 stars hotel in a nice location. The rooms are very clean and cosy. Breakfast is fine.
Very few minutes from AlexanderPlatz and Berlin TV Tower . Internet is moving a little bit slowly.
Staff very good , reception very professional approach.

Room Tip: please choose the superior rooms with the view to AlexanderPlatz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I spent four nights in early July 2013 at this holiday Inn. The room was nicely decorated and we loved its location, it's few mins walk to Alexanderplatz, very convenient in taking the U-Bhan or the S-Bhan. less than 10 mins walk to the Fernsehturm. Lots of good rest within 10 mins walk. Going to TXL or the Schonefeld airport are supper easy. The bus TXL drops you off within a 5 mins walk to the hotel and with the Fernsehturm as a landmark, you can never be lost when stumbling your way home to the holiday.
The front desk sells the Berlin welcome card, which is very handy and gives you good discounts. The staff are very helpful and they even left me when in slightly early when the room is confirmed to be ready. I will definitely stay here again if I come back to Berlin.

Room Tip: The room facing the front of the building had a view of the TV tower : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzureProperties, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Cynthia,

thank you very much for your lovely and detailed review.
We are looking forward to welcomeing you back soon.

Kind regards,
Katrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Holiday Inn Express Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Mitte
H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz

Property: Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Address: Theanolte-Baehnisch-Strasse 2, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Feel the Next Generation" Holiday Inn Berlin Centre - Alexanderplatz! Perfectly located, for both the business and leisure traveler, in the heart of Berlin's vibrant city center, only 300m away from the Alexanderplatz. Wooden flooring, scenic black and white wallpaper and stylish furniture are just a few details of the new contemporary image of the Holiday Inn. All 242 rooms are equipped with allergic friendly floor, flat screen LCD TV, SKY TV, safe, air condition, electric kettle with a free choice of coffee and tea facilities. Free Wi-Fi and free phone calls landline in 17 European countries, the USA and China are also included. A rich and extensive breakfast expects you in the morning in our restaurant. With warm and cold specialities, fruit juices as well as coffee specialities, you can start energized and healthy in the day. For lunch and dinner, you can enjoy our delicious steaks or regional specialities in our restaurant „La Maison de L’entrecote“. Our Bar offers classic or exotic cocktails as well as tasty whiskey; relax after a stressed day and enjoy the cosy atmosphere. Further, the Holiday Inn has 3 meeting rooms for a maximum of 80 people. All rooms are located on the ground floor are equipped with daylight, modern meeting technique, Wi-Fi, air condition and can be darkened. For active people, the hotel offers 24h an own fitness room with cardio equipment for free use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing