We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MZ heaven!”
Review of DDR Motorad Museum

DDR Motorad Museum
Ranked #194 of 818 things to do in Berlin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: GDR-made motorbikes, motorscooters and mopeds going back 40 years. Size of space approximately 1000 square meters, about 150 different models displayed in entertaining way. Open daily 10 am to 8 pm. Very close to Alexanderplatz. Museum is of interest to anyone who likes motorcycles, and also to anyone interested in history of divided Germany. Small admission charge. Books for sale.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“MZ heaven!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

OK, I will admit it, I have owned virtually every 2 stroke MZ motorcycle model that has been produced since 1970, so my enthusiasm may be a little biased. I found this fab little museum whilst standing at the top of the Fernsehturm just off Alexanderplatz. It had to be my very next visit. Several minutes later I was in and not disappointed. The museum had a fantastic collection of MZ, Simson and other East German motorcycles, plus as an extra bonus, plenty of Trabants in various guises. If you like vintage DDR machinery, this is the place to be. I could have spent hours there, but our time in Berlin was limited, so we moved on....sadly!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the time, effort or cost.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

As a bike enthusiast, seeing a couple of fantastic bikes mixed in with many average bikes, with little information and minimal room to properly appreciate the few that did catch my eye was very disappointing. Add to that a rude, unenthusiastic employee, who demanding we pay extra once he saw our camera.
It is disappointing because it could have been so informative and welcoming, but instead was a big letdown due to poor hospitality and layout.
Don't bother.
Cost 6.50 euro p.p plus 1 euro photography.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisamala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostende, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

With the Berlin welcome card, this little museum cost us 5 euro instead of the normal 6,5 but we had to pay extra for taking pictures. The bikes were too close together, without detailed information and too many very similar to eachother. We both love bikes and old bikes, but this smallish museum wasn't worth it at all.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“English bike enthuiast”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very interesting place, machines in the museum not seen in the west

Bikes and scooters well restored and well presented, worth paying 1 euro extra to take pictures.

Discount given to Easyjet Berlin travel card users.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianNostalgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant little museum”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Only found out about this museum when we visited the Steib motorcycle museum the previous day. It's easy to find and has the most amazing collection of Eastern European motorcyles and mopeds. Most of the information boards do have an short English translation of the important points (engine capacity etc) and there are information boards on the walls (also with English translations) of the histories of the major marques - MZ, Simpson, etc. The owner doesn't speak English but with our stilted German we managed to ascertain that it is a privately owned museum, the majority of the exhibits came from a private collection in Hanover in 2001and it took six and a half years to restore everything. If you visit before May next year be sure to buy a raffle ticket for 1 euro - the prize is an immaculate Simpson moped which was on display near the entrance when we were there (raffle drawn next June). The original guarantee booklet was also with the bike buit we weren't sure how much use that would be to the new owner ! Well worth a visit if you are at all interested in old bikes

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Win1fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DDR Motorad Museum also viewed

 

Been to DDR Motorad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing