We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must See Site”

Gedenkstaette Berlin-Hohenschoenhausen
Book In Advance
More Info
$172.61*
and up
Private Tour: Potsdam Day Trip from Berlin
Ranked #10 of 814 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Must See Site”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

You may queue to get in but it is well worth it, I thought I knew a lot about WWII etc but this has more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ronnierfc1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,406
    387
    73
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best and most informative tour in Berlin”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Hohenschonhausen memorial – this place seems to off the the main tourists bits as it is not in the centre of Berlin but will only take about about 30 to get to. Its a prison the soviets used after the war and then by the GDR stassi. The tour I went on was very good and only cost about 5 euros. The tour lasts for about 1.5 hours so is very good value, the first part is a historical video. After that the tour guides divide you up into groups and take you around the place.

You will need to look up when the English tours are as you cant tour it independently. My guide (a dutch history teacher) was very informative about the history of the time, the events at the prison and used real stories of people who had been there to illustrate his points. I enjoyed the tour in part because it is a bit of history that isnt covered as much as history classes seem to get up to WWII and then no further. This was one of the best and most informative tours I have ever been so would recommend it to all, don’t be put off because it isn’t in the middle of Berlin, the transport network is so good it makes it easy to get to.

On a side note the building and tour is not wheelchair friendly as it has been kept in its original conditions for the most part. There are few sets of stairs down to a basement level and back up again, then you go up to a first floor and back down to ground level.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank noddy100uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The highlight of my first trip to Berlin - go!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I honestly think this *the* highlight of my first trip to Berlin. Before visiting, I had embarrassingly little knowledge of the events that took place in Germany after 1945. This place provided a vivid and compelling education.

To get there we took a tram from Alexanderplatz to Genslerstrasse. There are signs at the tram stop, but if you look it up online in advance you can see the route you take to the prison - it's only around 15 minutes on foot.

Admission was only €5 each - a bargain. We took the English tour (I believe there's only per day in English, at 2:30 - check the website in advance), but there appeared to be plenty of signs around the prison to provide information if you were going around without a tour guide. Our group was initially about 40 people, but thankfully they were prepared and split this in two, staggering the two groups.

Our tour guide, Jessica, was an extremely engaging and well-informed guide. Most of the places you visit don't give anything away on their own, many are very sparse, so the guide makes all the difference in revealing the horrors that took place and bridging the way to the past. As you're probably aware, the prison was used to hold those suspected of anti-Communist activity indefinitely ahead of their (inevitable) "confession", trial and sentencing. I don't want to give too much away, because hearing it in the prison and from the experts will be so much more interesting, but I will say that learning about this place was at once intensely disturbing and fascinating (especially the psychological techniques they employed to disorientate and induce confessions).

As others have noted, there are former prisoners who lead tours, and our guide shared the story of one of the other guides with us. She had also encountered former prison guards while leading tours, who had interesting insights, too... All of this makes the history feel startlingly recent.

I highly, highly recommend Hohenschonhausen.

There is also a cafe (and a bookshop). The cafe was good, and provided a handy place to wait for the tour on arrival and then to recuperate after the tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank themoonindaylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very interesting tour- worth a visit”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

If you're in Berlin for more than a few days then definitely make time to visit the Stasi prison at Hohenschoenhausen. It was a bit off the beaten track (had to get the U-bahn, a tram and a bus) but they offer an english speaking tour every day at 2.30pm for a few euros. I had read other reviews which said that it was great to have an ex-prisoner give your tour but unfortunately my guide was just a worker at the museum. He was very knowledgeable though and the video they show at the beginning is good to give you some general background on the Stasi, although his English was quite broken and difficult to understand at times. Children are welcome on the tour although I don't think it's a very child-friendly place; topic is slightly heavy! Great trip overall and definitely worth while.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sophb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
335 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A must-see - especially for German visitors”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This place really shows you, what critics and opposition members had to endure in GDR-times, also in the early years when Eastern Germany was ruled by Soviet Russia.
Guided tours are given by former inmates - and you are given a very authentic understanding of what life as a political prisoner was like. Still often denied by many former East Germans...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marathon2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gedenkstaette Berlin-Hohenschoenhausen also viewed

 

Been to Gedenkstaette Berlin-Hohenschoenhausen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing