We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish our tour guide could have taken us round!”

Gedenkstaette Berlin-Hohenschoenhausen
Book In Advance
More Info
$172.25*
and up
Private Tour: Potsdam Day Trip from Berlin
Ranked #11 of 818 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Wish our tour guide could have taken us round!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited here as part of an organised tour, and although our guide was eminently qualified to take us round, he was not allowed to - we had to be handed over to an 'official ' guide, a young man, who kept us standing in the yard for ages before we went downstairs into the cells. His English was very hard to understand and he was very long-winded. Eventually, because I could hear so little of what he was saying, I left the group and wandered off on my own, having located an English-language paper guide.

The others in the group were also very unhappy with the quality of the tour and felt that a lot of time had been wasted - the general view was that he was simply reciting a list of facts without any real interest or insight. It was far more interesting to talk to our coach driver, whose brother had been imprisoned here for requesting an exit visa......... That's real history!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Northbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,424
    397
    74
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horror”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The English tour lasted about 2 hours. It started with a video of the history of the prison. We were then taken into the prison by our guide. She provided detailed information about life in prison and especially the mental torturing. It's a sad place, horrible things happened there. It won't make you feel happy, but it's part of berlin's quite recent history and worth the trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pindarotsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Chilling reminder of the terrible regime”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hohenschonhausen is a bit off the beaten track. We took Tram 6 from Oranienburgerstr to Genslerstr and then walked a few blocks to get to the old prison. There is an English-language tour at 2.30pm during the peak season and we were fortunate to have a guide who had a lot of personal insights into the regime, having been imprisoned himself (but not specifically here). The tour took 2 hours as we walked around the old prison cells and heard horrific stories about prisoners and their treatment and psychological torture. Not a visit for the faint-hearted (or for feeling happy), but a worthwhile visit for the historical content and importance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TashfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More harrowing and honest recent history”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Excellent historic record of the horrors imposed on the opponents of Hitler by the SS. Gruesome history of what can happen when democracy is put aside.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interactive, sad, focuses the mind”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Not a great deal one can say about this visually imposing memorial. Go and interact with it, take your time and whatever it means to you will be revealed. Next to Brandenburg Tor so easy to combine in a single visit. Next time we go we will avoid the school kids who were understandably excited to be on holiday and quite noisy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Teepee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gedenkstaette Berlin-Hohenschoenhausen also viewed

 

Been to Gedenkstaette Berlin-Hohenschoenhausen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing