We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Berlin City West
Ranked #174 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Basic hotel”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

The hotel is a good basic hotel with walking distance to U bahn.The heating is a bit problem but overall comfortable.You have to change atleast 2 trains to reach this place,no direct train from berlin central station.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pra_vem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    302
    90
    15
    4
See reviews for
99
206
81
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

IBIS hotels gave my contact details to an online ("eConcierge") partner company. My time in Berlin was short so I bought a Berlin Welcome Card (the city-wide transport ticket for visitors), expecting it to be waiting for me at the hotel. After all, that's what a hotel concierge is for.

It wasn't. I had to buy a travel ticket in order to travel 6km to collect the ticket. The ticket office could have sold me the same ticket across the counter for a lower price. So what was the point of this concierge service?

I complained to the hotel that they were being misleading and dishonest by offering this service. But their answer was, and I quote, "please be assured that this service has nothing to do with our hotel." Uh? You sent the email inviting me: "To help you plan your trip, why not take advantage of the services and recommendations provided by your e-concierge!"

I wrote again and was met with total rejection of my concerns.

So there you have it. IBIS uses its name to sell services and get commission, and then walks away when a customer points out that it's a total waste of time and money.

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCityWest_11, Geschäftsführer at Ibis Berlin City West, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear ibis guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about the experiences during your stay at our hotel.
We regret that you stay did not met your expectations, due to the fact that you were not satisfied with the terms and conditions of the provided service by our local partner.
The terms and conditions of our external partner indicate, that the provided services – in your case the Berlin Welcome Card – has to be picked up at several selling points - per example main train station Berlin, airport Tegel Berlin etc.. We are sorry you were not aware of this information. We forwarded your comment to our local partner, so they are able to monitor your note.

Regards
Corinna Witt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I'm staying here since many years when in Berlin. Easy check-in. Very friendly, helpfull staff. Rooms are very basic, but functional and have a good size - not just cupboards. Great location - 2 minutes to Bus & U-Bahn.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Excellent place to stay with very friendly and helpful staff. Pleasant rooms with all home comforts.

Easy access to U-Bahn and Strasse Bahn and all toursit attractions.

Will visit again and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Close to subway station. Small but clean room, a bit utilitarian, but great value for the prize. It was wonderful to have an airconditioned room in the hot, humid weather. Free Wifi in the lobby only, otherwise a bit too expensive for internet in the room. Skipped breakfast, as this was very expensive as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
NH Berlin City West
#152 of 634 in Berlin
623 reviews
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
ibis budget Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Prenzlauer Berg
Ibis Berlin Mitte
Ibis Berlin Mitte
#148 of 634 in Berlin
1,574 reviews
Hotel Carolinenhof
#373 of 634 in Berlin
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Berlin City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Berlin City West

Property: Ibis Berlin City West
Address: Brandenburgische Str. 11, 10713 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Ibis Berlin Fehrbelliner Platz)
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#110 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Berlin City West 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the ibis Berlin City West, near the city center and with great transport links. The hotel is in the up-and-coming Wilmersdorf district, just 0.9 miles (1.5 km) from the Kurfürstendamm. With the U-Bahn on your doorstep, it is quick and easy to travel to your private and business destinations in Berlin, from the historical sights to the latest nightlife hotspot. The 136 air-conditioned and attractively designed rooms with WIFI ensure a relaxing visit to Germany's capital city. The beautiful sun terrace in the inner courtyard gives you the opportunity to sit outdoors on sunny days. Indulge in a hearty breakfast or simply enjoy relaxing in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Berlin City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Berlin City West Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin City West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing