We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heart of Gold Hostel
Ranked #14 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Good location, great price, amazing staffs.
I really enjoy my time here at the hostel. The dorm and the bathrooms were always clean. The staffs were incredibly helpful and friendly. There is a tram and metro station 1min walk away! I would gladly recommend this for everyone. (There was even a family staying there with children when I was there, and they seemed satisfied too!)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khiem N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 734 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

I booked online in advance, but it didn`t work. They had a bed for me in a 4-bed-dorm anyway. Bathroom beneath, 2 beer for 2 € during happy hour, very nice, helpful staff. Very close to the metro station... best place to get around, lot of cosy bars around...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Heart of Gold Hostel in Berlin, Germany. The 6 person room was very spacious with a large bathroom and shower with great pressure. The staff was very nice, welcoming, and helpful in offering suggestions and providing information regarding directions. My only complaints are that although the hostel offers wifi in the lobby, it is extremely slow because everyone is trying to get on it. Also, the first night, two guests entered our room at 1 am and were extremely noisy, turned on the lights, and took their sweet time setting up their bunks. I wish the hostel would have warned up that there were going to be others coming in and staying in the same room, just so that we would have been prepared instead of being startled awake in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waderowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights a couple of years back, off to see my best mate this week, and realised I'd forgotten to write a review for the place. Very central location, cheap as chips, clean safe and fantastically friendly,multi lingual staff. If you value a great night's slee, maybe worth trying to getin a smaller dorm.. I am sure mine had 20+ in it all arriving and leaving at silly o'lock. No bother to me though, really enjoyed and would use again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikejones1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The location is perfect, just 3 mins away from Fridrichstrasse and main shopping area. The staff was very nice. The dorm was clean, beds ok, and the bathroom looked nice at the first glance, but with the horrible smell from the sink and the drain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great place to meet people. Has a very hip, young and partying vibe. However, note that this is a bigger hostel and doesn't have that home-y feel if that's what you're looking for. Rooms are good and clean and so are the toilets. My worst complaint is that there really is virtually no wifi in this hostel. They say they do. Yes you can connect to the network but it's impossible to do any research or email or anything with their connection. Being on the road, wifi is one of the most important tools we need. I had to go carry my laptop off to cafés (I didn't use their computers at the lounge for €1per hour) and buy food and coffee I wouldn't have necessarily bought if the hostel's wifi just worked.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

the heart of gold hostel in berlin is one the coolest and cleanest hostel ive stayed at in europe!!! the staff are very helpful when any question is asked and can speak english very well. the rooms were very neat & tidy but most important the bathroom was clean and the shower actually had some pressure to it and we all enjoy a good shower!! the bar downstairs is very cool with cheap drinks and a good pool table to have some fun around and is a very good place to meet other fellow travellers and share some cool travelling stories. so all round this is a awesome hostel!!!

Room Tip: the 6 bed dorm was very good, alot of room for everyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starky90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 358 in Berlin
1,281 reviews
Friedrichshain
Sunflower Hostel
Sunflower Hostel
#27 of 358 in Berlin
393 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#6 of 358 in Berlin
937 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#26 of 358 in Berlin
1,462 reviews
Mitte
Wombat's Berlin
Wombat's Berlin
#8 of 358 in Berlin
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Gold Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Gold Hostel

Address: Johannisstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $19 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Heart of Gold Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heart of Gold Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Gold Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing