We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chance to stay at Hichhikers famed spaceship!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heart of Gold Hostel
Ranked #13 of 360 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Ha ving been a longtime fan of the cult SciFi "Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy", I just had to book this hostel when I saw the name. The place is decorated with graphics related to the show. The hallways curve slightly and the lighting resembled what I would think was a space ship. The location is great, right in the center of Mitte and close to Museum Island. It was pnly a short walk fromn two stations. Breakfast was the best I had of all my hostal stays during my 6 weeks in Europe. The lounge area was nice and they had their own bar. WIFI was only in the lounge area which had plenty of seating, however it could have used more outlets for charging electronics. Bathrooms were basic and mostly clean. The linen was a little confusing and you have to bring it down when you check out. The front desk was helpful in giving maps and recommendations. I booked a walking tour through them that picked us up at the hostel---it was really good. I will be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarrsySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 743 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in a 6 bed dorm. Beds were very comfortable, had good showers, but be warned check the lock once or twice befor jumping in as after my first shower I got stuck in for like 10 minutes an though i was going to die lol. Hostel has great helpful staff and really nice bar socail an area. Pretty much all you could hope for in a cheap(for central Berlin) hostel. The hostel is central for things like the riechstage but alot of the good places more toward the ostbanhoft area so beprepared to take a tram/metro.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I've stayed at HoG a few times, and it just keeps getting worse. It used to be a mellow place where you could feel welcome. Now it's little more than drunks screaming and yelling in the hallways and dorms all night and every night. The staff don't seem to care- in fact the attitude suggests 'anything goes'.
The daytime manager (Peter?) was certainly courteous and helpful, but there was at least one female staff member who could barely conceal her contempt for the guests during the breakfast service. Very snippy and snooty.
The location is good- central and on a quiet street, but what good is that when half the guests are keeping you up all night with their partying?
I used to like HoG, but next time I'm in Berlin I'll look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very modern and comfortable. I stayed in a 8-bed room with a private bathroom on the 4th floor. The room even had a narrow balcony overlooking the downstairs deck! The bed was very comfortable and the locker was huge.
One of the best hostel breakfasts ever! I stayed for 4 nights so breakfast was complimentary.
Location is also very good, close to tram and metro stations. If you like walking you can also walk everywhere.
Edu, at the reception during the evening, was very friendly and always ready to help out!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gracemarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The informal and warm ,friendly ambience of the place took us back for the third time to the `Heart '. Stayed this time in the Mega dorm . Nice ,clean ,orderly,secure and facilities provided,voila ...one runs short of adjectives. Very cost effective and yet a discount offered to return visitors made it even more inviting,time and again .Would recommend anyday ...

Room Tip: Book early if possible and request for a room in the main building rather then in the annexe .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOKSHA2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I've stayed at this hostel twice. The first time was with a group of friends and the second was in a couple. Both times I enjoyed the hostel and have recommend it to others who have enjoyed there stay. The staff are excellent, so friendly and helpful. The area is great, really close to a train stop. The dorms are clean and have huge windows which open into a courtyard which is generally quiet. I would recommend this hostel highly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciarabailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hostel was outstanding, but dependant on what your are looking for in a hostel. For us it was great, we stayed in the mega dorm so was able to make friends easily (as there were only 2 of us), it was clean, great showers, hair dyers, towels, clean sheets AND breakfast all were provided for in the price! Great value for money! And left us with more money to spend! (Yey!) The staff were friendly and very helpful, they told us of all the great places to go, they even hosted bar crawls themselves. Drinks are really cheap at the hostel bar (compared to London anyway) and bearing in mind that London's double is Germany's single. It's centrally located, right near FriedrichstraBe tube station and everything is within walking distance. Couldn't have picked a better base really.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamieleeexley12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 360 in Berlin
1,286 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 360 in Berlin
948 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Sunflower Hostel
Sunflower Hostel
#22 of 360 in Berlin
426 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#25 of 360 in Berlin
1,467 reviews
Mitte
Wombat's Berlin
Wombat's Berlin
#8 of 360 in Berlin
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Gold Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Gold Hostel

Address: Johannisstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 360 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $21 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Heart of Gold Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heart of Gold Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Gold Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing