We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Angleterre
Ranked #159 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights with my husband. Great location, close enough to walk to many attractions but at the quieter end of Friedriechstasse and well away from the massive roadworks, so had a great sleep every night in the massive bed. Underground station right on the doorstep for going further afield, runs all night at weekends. The breakfast buffet had a great selection and the cleaners did a great job, even the day we had a long lie and put the do not disturb sign up, as soon as we went out in the afternoon they made up the room. A great choice if you want to be central but quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CacaMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just finished a 3 night stay at the Angleterre Berlin and was very impressed! The rooms were huge, including the bed! Free Minibar was fantastic. Very fast wifi. Good location for walking to the main tourist sites and/or catching the trains. Not a huge amount of restaurants nearby but it is only a 15 minute walk to Gendarmenmarkt where there are plenty. Ate at the restaurant twice for breakfast and dinner. HUGE portions of food on the dinner menu! Staff were okay. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenMc92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Great value hotel, booked through travel republic. Hotel is in a great central location, right next to kochstrabe station on the U6.
The room was very clean, spacious & modern. We had a mini bar in the room that was restocked daily included in the room price. Breakfast was great, served till 11am.
Would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaygirl7779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Angleterre during a weekend break in Berlin. A very pleasant hotel in a great location. The room was of a good quality and we enjoyed the breakfast selection. The staff were helpful and we had no issues with our stay. In general great value and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barcles30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel had a helpful staff that spoke English. We got passwords for the wifi for all our devices by asking and it worked well.

Our room was spacious and very nice. Pillows and blankets were fluffy and there were lots of them. Good TV for those moments when you've walked too much and just want to relax in the room. Cleaning done every day and there was nothing bad to say about it.

Located right next to Checkpoint Charlie. Nearest subway station 50 meters away. Easy to get around. Many cafes around and interesting buildings to see. Not the place to be if you want to be in the pulsing party scene, but a very good place to be if you want to have a nice rest and easily get to places.

On one night there was a wedding party and it went on through the night. The noise came to our room pretty loud but we weren't that much disturbed since we . If we were trying to sleep, it probably would've been a problem.

Bathroom had a bath and a shower on top of it. Clean and nice.

I can heartily recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: There is a party space for rent in the lowest floor, so maybe get a room in an upper floor to be sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Symbiatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nts here on an Easyjet holiday. The hotel is in an ideal location near to a U bahn and Checkpoint Charlie. The reception staff were most helpful and spoke perfect English. We had a room on the 5th floor which was extremely spacious. We were asked if we wanted a shower or bathtub and opted for the shower. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and a good size, well equipped with a hairdryer and tissues. The room had its own safe, huge TV with very limited channels in English and a well stocked mini bar (FOC). The breakfasts were plentiful with a choice of cereals, meats, breads, scrambled egg, bacon and sausage. Fruit juices, tea and coffee were plentiful. What more could you want? Would we stay here again - most definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tufty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights here as part of an easy jet package. The hotel is clean and very comfortable.we loved the free mini bar and breakfast was excellent. We travelled from Schonenfeld on the train to Friedrichstrasse station and then walked to the hotel as the underground is having major works -this took about 20 minutes. Going back the hotel arranged a taxi which cost about 30 euro and took only 25/30 minutes.
There don't seem to be many restaurants close to the hotel but the Gendarmenmark is close by with a good selection of restaurants and bars including Bavarian, Steak house and Italian. We passed a couple of Thai ans Sushi restaurants on the way there so lots of choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJHNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
#35 of 633 in Berlin
2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Relexa Hotel Stuttgarter Hof
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
ibis budget Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angleterre

Address: Friedrichstr. 31, 10969 Berlin, Germany (Formerly GOLD INN Angleterre)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Family Hotel in Berlin
#112 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#122 Business Hotel in Berlin
#123 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $73 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Angleterre 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel Berlin
Hotel Angleterre Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing