We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GOLD INN Angleterre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GOLD INN Angleterre
Ranked #137 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
North Yorks
Level Contributor
160 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights here as part of an easy jet package. The hotel is clean and very comfortable.we loved the free mini bar and breakfast was excellent. We travelled from Schonenfeld on the train to Friedrichstrasse station and then walked to the hotel as the underground is having major works -this took about 20 minutes. Going back the hotel arranged a taxi which cost about 30 euro and took only 25/30 minutes.
There don't seem to be many restaurants close to the hotel but the Gendarmenmark is close by with a good selection of restaurants and bars including Bavarian, Steak house and Italian. We passed a couple of Thai ans Sushi restaurants on the way there so lots of choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJHNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    589
    192
    40
    19
See reviews for
169
594
85
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 days as a base for sightseeing in Berlin and couldn't fault the place.

Rooms spacious and clean. Mini bar complimentary 1 x beer, orange and apple juice, coke and 2 x bottles of water. Re-stocked daily. Right near Checkpoint Charlie and underground.

Staff helpful and knowledgeable. Free wifi and very good breakfast.

Best hotel ever stayed in for a city break as have often found lethargic service/staff in others and breakfasts sometimes abysmal. 10/10 for this one all round.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Essex5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent 10 days at this lovely hotel. The staff was courteous and helpful with one guy needing English. But not to worry one of us spoke good German. Breakfast was plentiful buffet while room service was adequate. In general I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone touring in Berlin.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keegans_mom61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay. One of the best city break hotels I have experienced. The beds are so comfortable, and the rooms spotlessly clean. Bathroom was very modern, and the shower was perfect. We took full advantage of the free mini-bar which was restocked each day. Breakfast was delicious, with a wide range of cereal, fruit, pastry and traditional continental breakfast.

Couldn't have asked for a better location. Only a 2 minute walk from Checkpoint Charlie and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse which has some wonderful cafes and shops. The nearest U-Bahn Kochstraße is right outside the hotel on the U6 line. However Stadmitte station is about a 10minute walk away which has more lines running through it and get you to all the major tourist areas of the city.

All in all a wonderful stay at this hotel. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Berlin for a city break/holiday.

Room Tip: Top floor (Floor 8) was very quiet, hardly heard anyone or anything during our stay. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maddy1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Angleterre Hotel is within walking distance of "Checkpoint Charlie" and the local hop-on/hop-off service. The room has a mini-bar with sm selection (beer, water & juice) but even so it's free. The staff were all very helpful & friendly and very informative. Main complaint for me was the price of drink, as l only drink vodka & diet coke everywhere charged a small fortune for it. Not only the hotel, the bar was very small & cosy and we spent 5 days there (B & B) on a city break. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minx1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at this hotel. It has a great location...just steps from Checkpoint Charlie and a metro stop that can take you anywhere. Tours (popular "hop on/hop off") are also located at Checkpoint Charlie. Wihelmstrasse (the sight of another important event) is also just three blocks away.

The hotel's rooms are typically European but the beds are absolutely excellent and the rooms are clean and quiet. (Suggest a room at the back of the hotel). Did not eat here but there are limited type restaurants very close by i.e. coffee/pastry type as well as Italian and Mediterranean.

Heartily Recommend the Anggleterre

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piper181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed in Angleterre Hotel for one night on May 25th. Had a great time! This is a wonderful little hotel with very friendly and helpful service. Room was very comfortable (especially the bed.) Minibar beverages were complimentary. Location is great as it is one block from the Checkpoint Charlie Museum, a MUST stop for any history buffs. Being so close to the museum was great because we went late after all of the tourists had gone and we had the place practically to ourselves. No way during the day that is even remotely possible. U-Bahn station is also very close. Very easy to get to practically any part of the city.

And just when I thought the stay couldn't get any better, we had the breakfast! Wow! Full buffet with just about anything you can think of. Great coffee and more food than you can imagine. All included in our ridiculously low price for such quality. An absolute must stay and I'm looking forward to coming back as soon as possible!

2 small critiques: 1. The restaurant was listed as being open until 11PM (last order at 10), but we went down there a little before 10 on a Saturday and it was completely closed. However, since this day was in fact the day of the Champions League football final between Munich and Dortmond, I suspect that they were like many other German establishments that shuttered their doors early to watch the big match and 2. I don't know if it was because of the football match or whether this was a regular occurrence, but there was loud music coming from the ground floor most of the night. Perhaps it was a special occasion and we were so tired that it didn't matter, but be wary if this is in fact a regular occurrence on a Saturday night.

Other than that, a great stay all the way around.

Room Tip: Stick to the outer rooms on the higher floors as the interior rooms on the lower floors get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magmystour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
Relexa Hotel Stuttgarter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
#29 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,686 reviews
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GOLD INN Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GOLD INN Angleterre

Property: GOLD INN Angleterre
Address: Friedrichstr. 31, 10969 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Family Hotel in Berlin
#95 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#123 Business Hotel in Berlin
#123 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GOLD INN Angleterre 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your GOLD INN Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel Berlin
Hotel Angleterre Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing