We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too smelly”
Review of Sunflower Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunflower Hostel
Ranked #26 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I didn't enjoy my stay at all... cleanliness is something they do not know there, couldn't stand being in the bathroom. The rooms are big enough, the bar downstairs is very nice but you can't realy afford walking upstairs...too smelly there... The area also was not quite good, even though Berlin is a safe city.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Niki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 389 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hostel was pretty nice and cheap. The area of town it was in seemed a little more like an area for younger people interested in suburban clubbing. It is relatively close to the S-Bahn, so that was nice. Also the breakfast was amazing, despite that it will cost you 3 euros, but it is all you can eat. The rooms weren't bad, and the place itself was rather enjoyable. However the sheets did smell a bit like vinegar. Overall not a bad stay considering the cheaper price. Staff was nice and friendly and they had a room to lock your luggage in case you needed it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flounder08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Not only because of its good location (close to many attractions and the best clubs of Berlin) and the moderate prices, the Sunflower Hostel is worth a visit. Above all, the great staff and the individually designed rooms, make this hostel a bit special.
I had a great time and look forward next time to get back in there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco187323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I stayed at the Sunflower several times.
Always my 1st choice while I am in Berlin.
They have a 24/7 bar, free maps, breakfast till late and even the rooms are nice theme decorated.

There must be some great artist working in the hostel. I guess his name is Freddy. He signed all the room paintings.

The location is unbeatable in Friedrichshain district of Berlin. Many bars and clubs around. If you like watching freaks or disturbing locals on your boozes, you are at the right place.

Price for a bed? Not to mention, almost nothing.

I love the Sunflower!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConsulWeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

have stayed here before and last year was like returning to home from home, staff and fellow guests make one so welcome , is like a big family. enhancements to some of the rooms include outstanding original wall artwork. super clean as usual, still in heart of the vibrant end of east berlin, and now is a pickup point for the excellent Alternative Berlin tour (tips based), and one can gain FREE entry to many entertainments using the sunflower checkin card, posted on a blackboard in reception. reception/bar still open all day and night.. there are still only 24hrs in the day , nothings perfect :)

Room Tip: stay for six nights and you get one free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djcberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I visited sunflower during the winter with some friends. I'm from canada, and they where all from Germany, austria and denmark. It was a really nice experience, the people who work there are welcoming and just so much fun... I have this one thing that I really found fun..There's this one guy who sings while he cleans, I have no idea what his name is, but all I know is he's like a jukebox!! It's amazing, you wake up to him singing songs from like, Katy Perry to like, Led Zepplin! I remember taking a shower and singing along with him.. Really fun. :D
The hostel is close to a train station and theres lots of great little restaurants near by..
It's simple. One of the best hostels I've been to :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philou1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Our experience in Sunflower Hostel was simply amazing!! This hostel is incredibly cheap, and the staff is very helpful and serves excellent breakfasts (for only two or three euros!!).
When we first arrived we thought we would have problems to sleep, since the front desk is also a bar... But from the rooms, located at the other side of the door, no music is heard at all!! Besides, decoration is crazy: there are cows walking on the ceiling!!!!!
Josh!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshuaMcFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#14 of 358 in Berlin
734 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 358 in Berlin
937 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 358 in Berlin
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
Amstel House Hostel
Amstel House Hostel
#32 of 358 in Berlin
314 reviews
Mitte
baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel
Prenzlauer Berg
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hostel

Address: Helsingforser Str. 17, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $14 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sunflower Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2001 Sunflower Hostel Berlin opened its doors for guests from all over the world - an island of independent budget accommodation. Sunflower Hostel still embraces the idea of "Old School" attitude of offering a bed in a central location and a multicultural, creative and colourful environment, where communication, cultural exchange and meeting other travelling guests is more important than a television in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Sunflower Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing