We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel, but spoiled at the end by Suspicious charges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyperion Hotel Berlin
Ranked #135 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Rainford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great hotel, but spoiled at the end by Suspicious charges”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My girlfriend and daughter (from Hanover) and myself stayed at the Ramada Plaza city centre Thursday 18th July 2013 to 21st July 2013. We were due to stay in April but my daughter had a serious illness so we had to re-arrange.

We arrived by car and because it was after 7 we were able to park in the street right by the hotel till 9 the next morning.
Check in was really smooth and easy and the staff immediately were extremely polite. We were on the 5th floor but the lifts throughout the weekend were extremely quick and always available.
Entering the room my little daughter was so excited and we could not calm her down for at least 20 minutes, the room was so big with a really spacious bathroom and fantastic balcony.

This is the first hotel we have ever stayed in with our daughter and she was just so memorised.

During the weekend the staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful, Iron and Ironing board provided within 10 minutes, wireless internet key, provided free. Advice about the Gym and information about offers we may be able to receive.
Ice for our daughter provided, Razor and shaving cream given to us on request.

The breakfast was amazing and the choice was extremely wide ranging, the staff again were extremely helpful and always polite.
The hotel is situated 3 minutes walk from an underground station Güntzelstraße and if you walk about a mile up Bundesalle where the Badenshe crosses the road, you will find an Esso garage with lots of free parking in the middle of the road.

So a brilliant trip and a great hotel, but imagine my surprise when checking out that I was forced to pay 30 Euros for the change of date because of my daughters illness. When we made the changes we were not aware of this and when I questioned the hotel they said it was because the rooms would have been unavailable for someone else, but this is not true as when we arrived someone was making a cold call booking. I could not believe we have been charged this because our daughter became seriously ill, we gave the hotel plenty of notice and this charge is just wrong.
Plus we can not claim it back now on any insurance as it happened 4 months afterwards.
So what started as a wonderful stay in a fantastic hotel ended up, with me having a bad taste in my mouth.
Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphy_Spud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    232
    72
    16
    4
See reviews for
122
195
23
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Pros: Big and spacious rooms. Cleaned very nice. Good location in a nice and silent neighborhood with store and restaurants nearby.

Cons: No free WiFi in rooms, only in lobby and you will need a code which lasts for only 24 hrs. AC will not work if temperature is not over 20 degrees Celsius.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeroAnima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMADA-Berlin-Mitte, Online Reputation at Hyperion Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear NeroAnima,
Thank you for taking the time for your review and comments. Only this gives us the opportunity to improve our service.
Regarding the internet access we offer different rates which also include the free WIFI in the rooms. When making the next reservation we would be pleased to be of your assistance.
Your team of the RAMADA PLAZA Berlin // Jeannine Apel - Online Reputation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here for 2 nights in early July. The website boasts "kids stay free" so when we booked via hotels.com, we booked 2 adults as the hotels.com website was charging 35€ more per night for 2 adults, 1 kid. With the extra charge, it was almost as if kids didn't stay free. But alas, we booked 2 adults for $186 per night (yes USD!). Great rate, so we should've known something was wrong. We selected the room with the double bed plus a single. Perfect for our family of 3. When we arrived, check in was a breeze.

When we entered our room, we noticed it only had the double bed. When we rang the front desk to inquire about the room with the double and single, the man was very rude and said no such room exists and furthermore we never told them we had a kid staying with us. Ah ha. So kids are not indeed free. If so, they shouldn't care if we had a kid or not if we booked an adequate size room....which we did, but we did not get that room. I digress.

We sucked it up and pulled out the air mattress that we always carry in our car for instances like this. And we grabbed an extra sheet from the linen cart that was lingering in the hallway.

The hotel's location is great....near a ubahn....3-5 min walk. And do not waste money eating at the hotel. Overpriced! There are several markets attached to the hotel (Aldi and Edeka) which were great for fruits, water, milk, snack foods. There are at least 3 coffee shops within a 1 minute walk offering all types of breakfast. And a really nice Italian restaurant (the name escapes me) right near the entrance to the "mall".

Back to the hotel, the employees need a lesson on politeness. When our friends (who havent spent much time in germany) asked about getting to checkpoint Charlie, they were simply told "oh it's too far to walk and there is no bus". When we came down from the room to meet our friends and heard this, my husband told them that we were planning to take the subway. So why couldn't the hotel staff simply explain how to do this to our friends?

The rooms are very spacious however...larger than most for Europe. And they provide face cloths (aka wash cloths) which is nice if you are from America and used to these. The bathrooms were large with ample counter space and clean. Our room had a nice size balcony which was a nice touch.

The hotel does have AC BUT only when the outside temp is 22C (or so we were told). And this doesn't mean they turn the AC on for "the season" when the temp reaches above 22....this means that if at noon, the temp reaches 22, then the AC turns on. But if at 9PM, the temp drops 2 degrees, then the AC turns off. What a waste! Our room was stifling hot, especially after a shower. When I asked for a fan, the same rude guy told me none were available and to check back in a few hours. Um, ok...can you not make a note to deliver one to the room when another guest turns one in? Guess that's going above and beyond their rude service.

Speaking of the shower, they really need to work on their water temperature control. The temp jumps to scalding without even touching the knob. I had my shower set to a comfortable temp, grabbed my shampoo and then BAM, scalded with water on my back. This is very dangerous especially when trying to bathe small children.

All in all, we will not return simply bc we do not like being treated so poorly. The rate was good, room was good, but service was lacking big time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank EuropeanNomad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMADA-Berlin-Mitte, Online Reputation at Hyperion Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear EuropeanNomad,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.
As we do not have any details about your reservation we are not able to check if there went anything wrong with your booking.
We are surprised to hear that you experienced our staff to be impolite and rude. They are often said to be very friendly and helpful. So we would like to excuse for this occurrence. Please be assured that we will use your experiences to improve our service.
Thank you also for your hints regarding our air condition and the shower. We already checked the functions and everything is working properly. So we regret if you have had difficulties with it.
Nevertheless we hope that you could enjoy your stay in Berlin and that we may welcome you again to change your mind regarding our service.
Your team of the RAMADA PLAZA Berlin // Jeannine Apel - Online Reputation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We were taken by surprise when they said we are upgraded to suite at no extra cost. This is one off centre but yet very near to all the main hubs of the city. The staff is just too good n helpful. They have there own resturant., which is bit higher, there are nice resturants at stone throw outside the hotel at a comfortable price. Book in advance and u have the killer price, upgrades n amazing rooms with great balconies. Would highly recommend for family to go for the suites as it has kitchen too. What else to say .. It was just super stay..

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank najnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMADA-Berlin-Mitte, Online Reputation at Hyperion Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Nainar,
It is nice to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for taking the time for your review and sharing your experiences with us. We hope to welcome you again next time.
Your team of the RAMADA PLAZA Berlin // Jeannine Apel - Online Reputation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
197 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent cleanliness , big bathrooms, friendly personnell, established in a very quiet zone of this busy city. Concierge services are very weak, wireless wifi internet speed horribly slow, although wifi is free. Bar tenders are very friendly and food choices are good enough and well prepared.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utku67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I've traveled a lot so I wasn't expecting a lot from this less than 100 euro/night hotel. I stayed here 7 nights and I must say, I was very impressed.
For the price, this hotel was fabulous. Very simple straightforward rooms, but not tiny like so many European hotels. Very good and attentive service from the staff. They did whatever I asked of them and didn't screw anything up. Everything in the bathroom was in excellent shape and condition. The gym the hotel is attached to is a high-end private fitness center Berliners pay a lot of money to join, and hotel guests use it for free. Even the food at the hotel's restaurant was surprisingly good. Not a destination restaurant, but good enough to eat a few meals there when it was convenient. The location is right off a metro stop and within walking distance to the gay neighborhood in Schoneberg. At this price, I intend to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
#177 of 634 in Berlin
540 reviews
Mitte
H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
NH Berlin City West
#152 of 634 in Berlin
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SANA Berlin Hotel
#93 of 634 in Berlin
1,273 reviews
Schoneberg
Lindemann's
Lindemann's
#52 of 634 in Berlin
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyperion Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyperion Hotel Berlin

Property: Hyperion Hotel Berlin
Address: Prager Str. 12, 10779 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Ramada Plaza Berlin City Centre Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#59 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#84 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#86 Family Hotel in Berlin
#100 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#162 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyperion Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyperion Hotel Berlin offers you exclusive overnight accommodation in the heart of Berlin. Our rooms and suites are highly rated thanks to their elegant furnishings and enable you to relax after an event-packed day in the capital. Many of our rooms are equipped with their own balcony. \n\nYou can reach Tegel and Schönefeld airports by public transport or car within an hour. Our hotel is favoured by exhibition visitors because it is only a few kilometres from the Messe Berlin exhibition site. \n\nThis is easily accessible with its S-Bahn (city and suburban railway) connection to the Bahnhof Zoo railway station, which is located very close to our hotel. The hotel is an ideal base for exhibition visitors too - it is located just under 6 km from the Messe Berlin exhibition site. Use our hotel for your business or leisure trip and experience what is probably Europe’s most fascinating metropolis first-hand. Explore trendy districts like Berlin Mitte, Prenzlauer Berg or Kreuzberg. Discover art and culture at locations such as Museum Island, Checkpoint Charlie or Berlin Cathedral. \n\nRelax in our exclusively furnished rooms and suites with elegant, high-quality furniture, large, modern bathrooms and, in most cases, a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyperion Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Berlin City Centre Hotel Berlin
Ramada Plaza Berlin City Centre Hotel And Suites
Ramada Berlin
Berlin Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing