We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet clean hotel in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Ranked #31 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level Contributor
207 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice quiet clean hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I paid £316 for 5 nights on a bed only rate via hotels.com. The hotel is in a good location, right opposite S-Bahn Anhalterhoff Bahnhof. From the airport buy an all day travel card if you intend making at least another journey before 3 am the following morning at a cost of €7.20, and if arriving at Schoenefeld airport, take the S45 to Sudukreuz then change to the S2/25. The journey from airport to hotel will take just under an hour.
I asked for a room at the front on the first floor as I had read that you could pick up the free wi-Fi which is chargeable in the bedrooms, but free in the lobby. As long as you connect in the lobby this worked a treat!
Rooms are small but very clean and modern. The bathroom is glass and some movement can be seen from the bedroom - not ideal but fine for us. Shampoo, conditioner, soap and body lotion provided.
Ask for tea/ coffee making facilities and they will be brought to the room, also pillows and robes if required. A little bar of chocolate left each day by the cleaner.
The restaurant was much too expensive for me, €22 per person, but they were plenty of cheaper places around and about. We certainly never paid more than €7 elsewhere. For the same reason we didn't eat in the dining room but it was busy most nights.
There are several restaurants within walking distance, but mostly we hopped on the M29 bus which ran every few minutes right past the hotel. This bus runs East to West and it was interesting travelling in both directions. When we saw a lively area we got off and found a bar and restaurant and then just hopped back on again later. The bus was definitely still running at 11pm but perhaps much later too.
The TV had only news channels in English.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed review.

We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

I will pass your comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    695
    111
    25
    8
See reviews for
262
836
105
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

A quirky comfortable hotel in an excellent location adjacent to Anhalter Bahn (S1,S2,S25) and a short walk to Potsdamer Platz (station access is actually on Streseman Strasse) and Mendelssohn- Bartholdy Park U Bahn stations.
The location together with unusual design features and the attentive, charming, professional staff made our three night stay most enjoyable
Our rooms were spotless, spacious and comfortable although stuffy at night due to a combination of unseasonably warm weather and an aircon/heating system that may have been set to winter mode.
Our rate included breakfast, a superb high quality and varied spread which delighted our teen sons and removed our parental obligation to provide them with lunch.
All in all a great experience, excellent value for money and one which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beech71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello from Berlin,

Thanks a lot for your positive review about your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to read that you were totally satisfied with all of our hotel facilities and with our personal service. Thank you as well for your compliment concerning our food and beverage offers.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here in late September whilst in Berlin for the Berlin marathon. It is within walking distance (maybe 2km) to Brandenburg Gate etc but there is an s-Bahn underground station across the road so it is accessible to anywhere really. Hotel rooms are comfortable but basic (you must request tea/coffee making facilities and iron/board). We were with our three daughters so had to get an additional bed for one of the rooms. It turned out to be a creaky wire based one which was so noisy she slept on a mattress on the floor. On a positive side the breakfasts are really good. Staff could possibly smile a little more? But it's a nice, reasonably priced place to base yourself somewhere accessible in Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comments as it is really important for us to get feedbacks from our guests such as yours. It helps us to identify our improvement potential and to take the corrective measures to assure our guests a comfortable and pleasant stay in our beautiful city.

We would like to apologize for your experienced inconvenience concerning the room equipment, especially the additional bed and the provided facilities. I already passed your comments to the relevant department to make sure that your point is heard and acted upon. Of course we checked our inventory again. Due to extensive refurbishments of the rooms during the next year we will think about another solution to create a comfortable night for more than two person in a room.
Furthermore we would like to thank you for your positive feedback concerning our rich breakfast buffet.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel.

Best regards,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Excellent 4 stars hotel in Berlin very centrally located (few blocks from lots of monuments) and very close to S-bahn station (just in the corner). Cool rooms (spacious and clean) and a kind service and staff. Really worth the money. Excellent breakfast and restaurant. I really recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We really appreciate your comments and will forward your review to our staff as well. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had constantly friendly staff and service.

We hope you had a pleasant trip back home and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards from Berlin,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed at the Moevenpick Berlin for two nights and was really impressed. I was given an "Atelier Room" which had a free-standing bathtub in the room, as well as a good shower and all other facilities you would wish for. Staff are friendly and helpful, and the breakfast (as noted elsewhere) is probably one of the best hotel breakfasts available.

The location is very good, being just minutes from Potsdamer Platz and other central Berlin attractions.

Excellent value for money, and more than you would expect for the money.

Stay there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We really appreciate your comments and will forward your review to our staff as well. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had constantly friendly staff and service.

We hope you had a pleasant trip back home and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards from Berlin,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location - close to the S. Anhalter Banhof (S-Bahn) or catch the M41 bus out the front of the Hauptbahnhof. You can walk to Potsdamer Platz / Sony Centre or catch the train if 800m is too far.
The fruhstuck buffet is really good - lots of healthy options. I used the gym a couple of times and although it's not big, it's not busy so no problems.
Berlin is a great city, and this hotel is a great place sleep and eat breakfast before you go out and enjoy it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello from Berlin,

Thanks a lot for your positive review about your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to read that you were totally satisfied with all of our hotel facilities and with our personal service. Thank you as well for your compliment concerning our breakfast buffet.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a very nice family lounge during the Berlin Marathon weekend. The room was very spacious and newly refurbished. Special feature is the bathroom which is only loosely separated from the main room. Staff was very friendly and the location is central with a couple of minutes only to walk to the Potsdamer Platz. The hotel actually is situated very closely to where the Berlin wall once ran.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank xandiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit at the Mövenpick Hotel Berlin. We highly appreciate that you took precious time to let us know that you were satisfied with our overall service performance. Your appreciation has been passed on to our employees and we can assure you that your comments will definitely be an inspiration to our team to continue their efforts.

Best regards from Berlin,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Berlin

Property: Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Address: Schoeneberger Strasse 3 | beim Potsdamer Platz, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#33 Business Hotel in Berlin
#35 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The surprisingly different Movenpick Hotel Berlin is as individualand as multi-facetted as the city of Berlin. Centrally but peacefullylocated at Potsdamer Platz, the 4 Star Superior hotel combines innovative interior architecture with modern furnishings. The exceptional design of the former Siemenshofe lends a special charm tothe location's atmosphere. The majority of the 243 guest rooms andthe 12 event rooms face towards the quiet courtyards. The ambienceof the restaurant Hof zwei and the adjacent Lobby Bar has been carefully created as has choice of foods and beverages. Attentive, personal service and authentic friendliness comprise perfect hospitality in historic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing