We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Ranked #35 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 31, 2013

A quirky comfortable hotel in an excellent location adjacent to Anhalter Bahn (S1,S2,S25) and a short walk to Potsdamer Platz (station access is actually on Streseman Strasse) and Mendelssohn- Bartholdy Park U Bahn stations.
The location together with unusual design features and the attentive, charming, professional staff made our three night stay most enjoyable
Our rooms were spotless, spacious and comfortable although stuffy at night due to a combination of unseasonably warm weather and an aircon/heating system that may have been set to winter mode.
Our rate included breakfast, a superb high quality and varied spread which delighted our teen sons and removed our parental obligation to provide them with lunch.
All in all a great experience, excellent value for money and one which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beech71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hello from Berlin,

Thanks a lot for your positive review about your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to read that you were totally satisfied with all of our hotel facilities and with our personal service. Thank you as well for your compliment concerning our food and beverage offers.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,265)
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Hotel Berlin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 2,266 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here in late September whilst in Berlin for the Berlin marathon. It is within walking distance (maybe 2km) to Brandenburg Gate etc but there is an s-Bahn underground station across the road so it is accessible to anywhere really. Hotel rooms are comfortable but basic (you must request tea/coffee making facilities and iron/board). We were with our three daughters so had to get an additional bed for one of the rooms. It turned out to be a creaky wire based one which was so noisy she slept on a mattress on the floor. On a positive side the breakfasts are really good. Staff could possibly smile a little more? But it's a nice, reasonably priced place to base yourself somewhere accessible in Berlin.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comments as it is really important for us to get feedbacks from our guests such as yours. It helps us to identify our improvement potential and to take the corrective measures to assure our guests a comfortable and pleasant stay in our beautiful city.

We would like to apologize for your experienced inconvenience concerning the room equipment, especially the additional bed and the provided facilities. I already passed your comments to the relevant department to make sure that your point is heard and acted upon. Of course we checked our inventory again. Due to extensive refurbishments of the rooms during the next year we will think about another solution to create a comfortable night for more than two person in a room.
Furthermore we would like to thank you for your positive feedback concerning our rich breakfast buffet.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel.

Best regards,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Excellent 4 stars hotel in Berlin very centrally located (few blocks from lots of monuments) and very close to S-bahn station (just in the corner). Cool rooms (spacious and clean) and a kind service and staff. Really worth the money. Excellent breakfast and restaurant. I really recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We really appreciate your comments and will forward your review to our staff as well. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had constantly friendly staff and service.

We hope you had a pleasant trip back home and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards from Berlin,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed at the Moevenpick Berlin for two nights and was really impressed. I was given an "Atelier Room" which had a free-standing bathtub in the room, as well as a good shower and all other facilities you would wish for. Staff are friendly and helpful, and the breakfast (as noted elsewhere) is probably one of the best hotel breakfasts available.

The location is very good, being just minutes from Potsdamer Platz and other central Berlin attractions.

Excellent value for money, and more than you would expect for the money.

Stay there!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We really appreciate your comments and will forward your review to our staff as well. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had constantly friendly staff and service.

We hope you had a pleasant trip back home and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards from Berlin,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location - close to the S. Anhalter Banhof (S-Bahn) or catch the M41 bus out the front of the Hauptbahnhof. You can walk to Potsdamer Platz / Sony Centre or catch the train if 800m is too far.
The fruhstuck buffet is really good - lots of healthy options. I used the gym a couple of times and although it's not big, it's not busy so no problems.
Berlin is a great city, and this hotel is a great place sleep and eat breakfast before you go out and enjoy it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hello from Berlin,

Thanks a lot for your positive review about your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to read that you were totally satisfied with all of our hotel facilities and with our personal service. Thank you as well for your compliment concerning our breakfast buffet.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a very nice family lounge during the Berlin Marathon weekend. The room was very spacious and newly refurbished. Special feature is the bathroom which is only loosely separated from the main room. Staff was very friendly and the location is central with a couple of minutes only to walk to the Potsdamer Platz. The hotel actually is situated very closely to where the Berlin wall once ran.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank xandiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit at the Mövenpick Hotel Berlin. We highly appreciate that you took precious time to let us know that you were satisfied with our overall service performance. Your appreciation has been passed on to our employees and we can assure you that your comments will definitely be an inspiration to our team to continue their efforts.

Best regards from Berlin,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a wonderful week-end in Berlin about a month ago - a group of 8 women on a "study trip" looking to apply their German for a couple of days.

The hotel booking was done through a Swiss agency (Hotelplan), and we were therefore not able to specify any requests nor have a say in the rooms. Our expectations weren't high, but we weren't planning on spending a lot of time at the hotel as we were in the city for sight-seeing and wandering around.

We had three twin rooms on one floor, and the fourth room many floors below. This wasn't really an issue but a bit odd that two people were in a completely different place in the hotel. (The hotel is HUGE, it's actually easy to get lost inside it!).

The room was very spacious and clean. However, we only had a sliding door to the bathroom, and that door didn't actually close. Now, when you travel as a couple this is already a bit uncomfortable as there really isn't any privacy (with regard to sound!), but when you travel with a colleague / study companion, it really is beyond awkward!! Also, the wall to the bathroom is done with glass bricks, so there was quite the visual effect, too. Not cool!

On the Friday night, it took a very long time to get a drink at the bar, but the service was friendly when they finally showed up to take our orders.

Breakfast on Saturday was amazing - such a treat! We could have spent hours eating breakfast, there was so much to choose from and excellent quality, too!

Completely different story on Sunday.... apparently we hadn't "booked a table"??? So we ended up having to eat breakfasts between our laps and the tiny tables in the bar area, as there were eight of us. At no point were we told that we had to BOOK a table for breakfast, so this was really very annoying and not a very good start to the Sunday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kats H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your candid opinion which allows us to improve our standards according to our customer’s wishes and also to solve problems that might creep into the daily work routine.
We appreciate your comments, because honest criticism gives us the motivation to improve and maintain a high standard and great hospitality.

First of all we would like to apologize for your experienced inconveniences regarding the location of your rooms as well as your experiences during the breakfast on Sunday. Please be assured that this is not the standard of our hotel and that we will do everything to prevent something like this from happening again in the future. I already forwarded your comments to the relevant departments and I would like to assure you that we will try to identify possible causes and take the corrective measures immediately. It is our first priority that our guests feel comfortable and welcomed at our hotel and we train our staff members to see that they can make the biggest difference for you in that aspect.

Furthermore I would like to thank you very much again for your positive evaluation. It is great to see that you generally enjoyed your time with us and we are looking forward to welcome you soon again in our beautiful city. If in the meantime I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me anytime.

Kind regards from Berlin,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,274 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Berlin

Address: Schoeneberger Strasse 3 | beim Potsdamer Platz, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Berlin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#32 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#33 Business Hotel in Berlin
#35 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $104 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The surprisingly different Movenpick Hotel Berlin is as individualand as multi-facetted as the city of Berlin. Centrally but peacefullylocated at Potsdamer Platz, the 4 Star Superior hotel combines innovative interior architecture with modern furnishings. The exceptional design of the former Siemenshofe lends a special charm tothe location's atmosphere. The majority of the 243 guest rooms andthe 12 event rooms face towards the quiet courtyards. The ambienceof the restaurant Hof zwei and the adjacent Lobby Bar has been carefully created as has choice of foods and beverages. Attentive, personal service and authentic friendliness comprise perfect hospitality in historic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing